Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Breakfasts with Staying Power

On Wednesdays I start work at noon, giving me more time to have a leisurely breakfast in the morning.  This week, I made a healthy breakfast burrito.  I based the idea on an item my dad serves at his diners – scrambled eggs with bacon, ham, sausage, green peppers, onions and cheese, wrapped in a tortilla and microwaved with salsa and more cheese on top. 

My burrito included a La Tortilla Factory shell, egg whites, and leftover veggies from fajitas I had made earlier in the week.  With only 2 Tbsp of reduced fat Mexican cheese, I missed out on extra calories but not flavor by adding a mango salsa on top.  The combination of protein from the eggs and fiber from all the vegetables kept me full for more than 4 hours.

 

image

Approximate nutrition: 300 calories, 7g fat, 20g carbs, 14g protein

Even if you’re following a reduced calorie diet of 1200 calories, don’t be scared to have 250-300 calories for breakfast.  We all know that “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”, but even I went through a phase where I tried to survive on a 100 calories of Special K.  It kept me satisfied for maybe… 45 minutes? 

Incorporating all 3 macronutrients (protein, carbs, and fat) into a meal or snack not only keeps them nutritionally balanced but also helps to keep you full.

Another excellent example?  Carrot cake breakfast cookie.  Yep, it’s making an appearance for the second day in a row.  This one included 1/2 cup of carrots and 2 plums (everything else was the same as yesterday).  I ate it without the yogurt and still found it incredibly satisfying.

image

image

Good to the last bite!

On another note, my ankle is STILL not recovered.  Instead of waitressing at my dad’s diner this weekend (which I usually do), I called off to give my ankle more rest.  The ~1 mile walk from the bus stop to my office still causes pain, so I figured 8 hours on my feet wouldn’t be a good idea.

For the past year or so I was doing cardio workouts 5-6 times per week, and now I’ve done nothing since last Saturday.  Part of me feels so lost and frustrated and LAZY, but all of a sudden I have an extra 2 hours or so in the evening that I’m not used to having.  My workouts are typically an hour and the gym is about a 20 minute drive, so it takes up more time than I ever realized.  I’m still not walking 100% normally and the pain is still there, so I know I can’t handle spinning or even the elliptical yet. 

As of last weekend, I had lost about 5 pounds thanks to swearing off added sugar for Lent.  It’s all back this week.  I know that it can’t be all do to my lack of activity (I haven’t been eating over my calorie budget too often), but I am still incredibly frustrated.  I know that I can easily take the weight off, but with the wedding less than 5 months away, I’m constantly thinking about trying to look my best.

I was thinking of trying a pilates or yoga video for some activity tonight (if my ankle cooperates).  Does anyone have a suggestion for a site with free videos?

Thanks, and happy Friday all!

6 responses to “Breakfasts with Staying Power

  1. Heather April 15, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I have to try that. I love carrot cake so having it for breakfast would be amazing!

  2. beyondbananas April 15, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Ahh – I wish I had extra time in the morning..there are so many (time consuming) things I would make for breakfast that just are not possible with my schedule!

  3. Claire April 16, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Mmmmm carrot cake breakfast looks fab!!

  4. Laz April 19, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I’m a nutritionist in Canada and have worked with a lot of women that restrict their intake to the point of jeopardizing health. Even if that level doesn’t always classify as an ‘eating disorder’, 1200 calories is way too low for an active woman! It is not enough to get all of the fundamental nutrients needed for basic functioning, nor is it enough to satisfy energy demands and optimum performance.

  5. Pingback: WIAW – Cold Foods Edition « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

