Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Starting Off Healthy

If you’ve read my blog at all over the past 40 days, you probably noticed that I gave up added sugars for Lent… and whined about it a LOT.

It was really difficult to resist temptations at first, but got suprisingly easy by the end of the second week or so.  They say it takes 60 days to make a new habit, right?  So I missed it by 20.

Let me say yes, I’m a dietitian, and yes, I agree with (most of) the article that’s floating around about sugar being toxic.  I know all about practicing moderation.  I know all the different strategies to limit unhealthy foods and enjoy so many natural foods that are the best kind of fuel for your body.  Like Amazing Grass’s products, which I so kindly was sent some samples of (thanks Teri Jo!).  Reviews will come as I try them.

image

But anyway, I knew I’d be gorging myself on Sunday.  Eating sweets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Stuffing my face with cupcakes, cookies, cake, candy, and chocolate until my belly hurt.  And then I’d eat more.  So I started the weekend off with a healthy dinner.

image
Quinoa caprese – with stewed tomatoes, fresh basil, and goat cheese

My poor fiance’ thought we would snuggle on the couch Saturday night, but I had baking to do!  Carrot cake cupcakes, courtesy of the recipe makeover in last month’s Cooking Light.

image

image
Topped with to-die-for cream cheese frosting

Funfetti mini cupcakes, courtesy of Aldi’s boxed mix! =)

image

I would like to meet the person who had the genius idea to top cakes with more butter and sugar. 

image

Also the Einstein who thought that icing was not enough – we needed to add more (colorful and crunchy) sugar!

image

Yes, they did taste as good as they looked.  And no, I didn’t even LOOK at the nutrition facts.

image

And Jessica’s No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies.

image

With her magical addition of chocolate.

image

Since the fiance’ gave up sugar with me (mostly), we played Easter bunny and exchanged baskets.  Never to be outdone, he gave me two huge baskets, filled with the treats below plus about 30 plastic eggs filled with Ferrero Rocher and other mini treats.

image

He said, “When I saw the running bunny I just knew he was perfect for you!”

image

Too bad my ankle is still too messed up to run.  But I was able to walk (in bangin’ heels) most of the weekend.

image

So this morning I woke up with a sugar hangover, but still started the day with two malted milk ball eggs, bites of leftover coconut lemon cake and a cookie (or two).  But I was also really craving some fiber and protein in the form of whipped banana oats.  I had to use a piece of frozen banana since we didn’t have any fresh, but it gave the oats an even creamier texture once it dissolved.  As I was topping them with a bit of maple syrup, I promised myself I would not try on my wedding dress today.

Happy Monday, all!  Anyone else have a food hangover today?

xox

C

23 responses to “Starting Off Healthy

  1. The Teenage Taste April 25, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    I was surprised at myself for not overindulging at Easter dinner. I loved all the food, yet I managed to keep my portion control in check. Yay me! Now I’m baking a suger-laden Nutella Banana Bread. Mmmmmm…

  2. kristina@beancakes April 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    oh yes, major foodie hangover ;) will have to get back on track today! those cupcakes look to die for!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 25, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    “As I was topping them with a bit of maple syrup, I promised myself I would not try on my wedding dress today.” Hahaha, you crack me up! I don’t have a food hangover too badly, but that’s probably because I’ve been eating too many sweets all the time lately. :)

  4. IHeartVegetables April 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Oh my gosh! so many delicious foods!!! I love funfetti cupcakes ;)

  5. Shanna, like Banana April 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Man, I really wish my hubby and I exchanged baskets. The most we did was make dinner and eat a Reeses PB egg!

  6. ihearteggs April 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Seriously loved all your treat talk… I think I will choose to live vicariously through you! YUM YUM!

    No food hangover for me… bit of a carb blah hangover from my high day, but oh well, I got CARBS lol

  7. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices April 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Mmmm everything looks so good! I just went to the link for the Carrot cake cupcakes & they sound REALLY good! I love carrot cake & a ‘healthier’ make over recipe sounds perfect :) Thanks for sharing!

  8. Jenny April 25, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    The only thing I had was a cadbury egg, that’s about it lol I love how you got your bake on, you made so many delicious cupcakes and cookies! Yummm :D

  9. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife April 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Oh my gosh, look at all that food! I absolutely love cupcakes more than anything in the world!! And I’m with ya on the food hangover…

  10. allieksmith April 25, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    So sorry about the food hangover, but you earned it, right?!?!
    Also, I have a question.. do you think I could shoot you an email about some RD questions? Thanks!

  11. beyondbananas April 25, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Food hangovers are good for the body every once in a while.. arent they? If you have any extras.. send em my way! ;)

  12. theflourishingfoodie April 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I gave up added sugars for Easter too! Although honestly, I don’t think it got easier. Of course, that might have been because I “cheated” on a couple Sundays :) All your baked goods look awesome!

  13. Presley April 26, 2011 at 1:47 am

    “As I was topping them with a bit of maple syrup, I promised myself I would not try on my wedding dress today.”

    I make this promise a lot. haha!

  14. mindrunningwild April 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    beautiful oats. I don’t know how but you made them look so velvety!! I love that running bunny, I’ve never seen one like that before. Not too much for me on easter, but my brother could down his chocolate like nobodies business!!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat April 26, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      When I add the banana and protein powder and whisk them in (near the end of cooking), I always add more liquid too – ending up with almost twice the normal amount of liquid. For example, the original 1/3 cup of oats absorbed almost a cup of milk/water mixture.

  15. lizeckel April 27, 2011 at 2:27 am

    you poor ding-dong. i did the same thing, and my home is littered with reese’s egg wrappers. why do we do this to ourselves? it needs to stop. i’m pretty sure my food hangover will be about a week long, since i still have junk food to eat up.. i can’t bring myself to throw it away! uuggggghhhhhhhhh

  16. Jennifer (The Gourmetour) May 2, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I love amazing grass products!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

