Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Easy Enchiladas

This weekend I made several meals, but the best was by far these enchiladas.  When I first became a vegetarian I grew to appreciate ethnic foods a lot more because they typically have more veggie friendly options. 

These are great because I can make two seperate dishes for myself and the meat-eaters in my life.  Even my veggie-phobic father enjoys these!  The recipe isn’t too exact because I never measure anything – it’s hard to mess these up.  The most time consuming step is chopping the vegetables.

Ingredients:

2-3 bell peppers (different colors), chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 can enchilada sauce (I think Old El Paso mild is best)

protein of your choice (ground beef/chicken/tofu/beans, etc)

2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese

6 tortilla shells

1) Preheat oven to 350.  Sautee’ chopped veggies in a large saucepan until softened.

image

2) Add enchilada sauce and simmer ~ 15 minutes to blend flavors.  This would be the time to add more heat if you want spicier enchiladas.

3) While sauce & veggies are cooking, prepare protein filling.  I usually season my meat/chicken/tofu with fajita or taco seasoning.

image

4) Assembly: divide protein among tortillas; using a slotted spoon (to minimize sauce), add pepper/onion mixture and top with cheese.

image

5) Roll tightly and place seam-side down in oven-safe dish.  Top with remaining vegetables and sauce, then with more cheese.

image

6) Bake covered for about 25 minutes, then remove cover for additional 5-10 minutes to melt cheese.

image

Paired with fat free refried beans, rice, and homemade guacamole & tortilla chips, this dinner is an easy, crowd pleasing dish. 

image

image

What is your number one go-to meal?

18 responses to “Easy Enchiladas

  1. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries May 2, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    I think I just found tonight’s dinner! Thanks, girl! :)

  2. hungryhealthyhappy May 2, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Love doing enchiladas! I never measure, either. :) It’s so fun because you can basically put anything you happen to have into an enchilada and it will taste great!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 2, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I love enchiladas, and those look amazing! I need to make these soon. My go-to meal is probably black bean burgers…easy and delicious. :)

  4. Jenny May 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    For some reason I’ve never made enchiladas before but I think it’s because I’ve never bought the enchilada sauce! They look so yummy :D

  5. ihearteggs May 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Oh those look delish!!!

    My number one go to meal is probbaly eggs and oats… or crock pot anything lol

  6. Shanna, like Banana May 2, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Oh how I loooove enchiladas. So good. And suprisingly easy. Trader Joe’s makes a good enchilada sauce as well — it has a nice kick ;)

  7. (what runs) Lori May 2, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Wow, those enchiladas look wonderful! Plus a large scoop of guac- YUM!

  8. Natalia - a side of simple May 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I’ve actually never made enchiladas with enchilada sauce. I guess then I’ve never made them period, since that sounds like a pretty key ingredient! I’ll have to try it out soon because yours have me craving some right now :)

  9. beyondbananas May 2, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    These look great.. and simple! The bf loves enchiladas.. but some of them take so much prep. Not these tho! Bookmarked!

  10. pawsitivelife May 3, 2011 at 12:02 am

    I totally agree with ethnic foods having a ton more veggie options…I have never tried enchiladas before I usually go the Indian route…but maybe a mexican adventure is on its way?

  11. Peaches and Peanuts May 3, 2011 at 2:09 am

    Those look so good and easy to make! My go to dinner is definitely oatmeal with different add-ins! basically anything I can find to put in it

  12. Pingback: Low Cal Vegan Queso « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: Lightened Up – Mexican Feast « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Pingback: Enchilada Style Stuffed Peppers « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

