Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Cinco de Socca

I took four years of Spanish, which is enough to know that the title of this blog post doesn’t make sense.  The recipe doesn’t even serve five, but four.

But thats okay with me if it’s okay with you.

On to my version of Mexican Pizza, inspired by the awful yet satisfying Catholic school lunch I had many years ago.  It’s only coincidental that it’s Mexico’s independence day – I could live on Mexican food and make it at least once a week.

image

Garbanzo bean flour tortilla batter:

2/3 cup flour

1.5 Tbsp ground flax

1 tsp cilantro (I had to use dried)

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg white

~1 cup water (you want it just thinner than pancake batter)

I grilled mine on a hot fajita pan and got 4 “tortillas” from the batter.  Spread the batter evenly with a spatula immediately after pouring in to the pan.  Let them cook until completely solid on the first side (and lightly browned on the bottom) before flipping.

Pick you favorite veggies (I chose red, yellow, and green pepper and red onions).

image

I grilled the veggies in the same fajita pan since it was already nice and hot.

image

Assemble “pizzas” – top each tortilla with refried beans (fat free and vegetarian), veggies, and cheese, and put in a 400 degree oven for 7-9 minutes, until cheese is melted.  I placed them directly on the oven rack (they should be sturdy enough).

image

Remove from oven and try not to burn your mouth.  Or try not to forget to take a picture after adding awesome homemade guacamole and salsa.

Maybe I did that in my rush to enjoy one of these guys.  Hopefully you’ll get the privilege of checking out a lunch time reappearance of this meal, guacamole and all.

If I can remember to take a half decent photo.

image

Approximate nutrition: 275 calories, 9 grams of fat, 25 grams carbs, 15 g protein

I had one sweet potato that I turned into “nachos” (topped only with some goat cheese) on the side.  Fantastically satisfying meal.  Terrible lack of decent photos.

I still think I should go out for Mexican this weekend just to make sure I celebrate enough.  And eat some Mexican food that’s authentic enough to be mentioned without quotations.

Did you make Mexican food, go to a Mexican restaurant, or at least have  a margarita?

18 responses to “Cinco de Socca

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 6, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I’ve never made my own tortillas – this is kind of inspiring me to make the effort and try. They look so good! I had Mexican food and a few sips of a margarita. :)

  2. loftyappetite May 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Socca is one of those things I have never heard of until I started blogging (like green monsters and overnight oats). It is definitely on my to do list of items I must try. Looks delish!!
    P.S. in a totally unrelated topic, are you going to blog about any of your wedding prep? i am very curious, especially since you are marrying into a Polish family. will it have any special Polish flare?

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat May 6, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      I try to keep my blog food/nutrition/exercise focused. I also haven’t told any one in my “real” life about the blog, so I don’t feel comfortable posting pictures of us or anything. I might add in more details as we get closer. His parents haven’t told me any Polish wedding traditions – do you have any suggestions?

      I know his mother will be making some desserts for the reception’s “cookie table” – that’s a combo Pittsburgh/Polish item!

      • loftyappetite May 6, 2011 at 2:48 pm

        oh yeah i understand. that’s how i started, but my bf has told everyone and now i think his entire extended family reads mine. which i’m not sure how i feel about that, but then it’s not like i write anything scandalous either! i’ve figured its a way for them to keep in touch and know whats going on in our lives. tho lately it’s been more what blogs i’m obsessed with cuz my real life is so boring.

        Yes the dessert table is a big one! Also a big tradition is when you enter the reception both sets of parents greet you with a loaf of bread, salt, and a shot of vodka (or wine). The bread represents the hope that the bride and groom will never go hungry. The salt is a reminder that life may be difficult at times, but that they will learn to cope. The wine symbolizes the desire that the couple will never go thirsty and live a life full of health and happiness. There’s also a money dance, which is kinda odd, but it’s basically men line up to dance with the bride and each one has to pay a dollar. The idea is to make money for the honeymoon. They kinda fight over who dances with her and whoever has more $ bills dances more with her. It kinda sounds wrong, and really oldschool (as all polish traditions) but is super entertaining to watch!

      • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat May 6, 2011 at 4:01 pm

        Oh my gosh that’s all so interesting! Thank you so much for sharing. I’ll have to talk to my future in-laws this weekend about all of those things – I think they’d appreciate some of their traditions being included, then I wouldn’t feel so bad about the Cha Cha Slide and all of their guests not knowing what’s happening!

  3. char May 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I love spicy food, so I do love Mexican. I’d rather make it at home so you can reduce sodium and all that jazz! I’m not really good with tequila lol, but I go enjoy a good mojito!

  4. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic May 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    I love that you make your own tortilla! I had Mexican food for lunch yesterday but continuing the celebration tonight with a party and more margaritas!

  5. beyondbananas May 6, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Wow – that looks delicious! Thank you for sharing the yumminess!

  6. Jamie @ Food in Real Life May 6, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    This looks awesome, my husband would love this!

  7. Daniella @ Runner at Heart May 6, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I like to make Mexican food at home but I love going out to get burritos, I haven’t quite mastered making those yet! My favorite Mexican meal to make is fish tacos.

  8. Shanna, like Banana May 6, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Totally made some mexi food…I use any excuse to do so! Quesadillas were the way we went and I’m having leftovers today!

  9. Pingback: Low Cal Vegan Queso « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: Pesto and Shrimp Socca Pizza « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

