Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Kitchen Sink Veggie Burgers

Since I typically don’t post on the weekends but shared my favorite special occasion recipe, I didn’t want to overwhelm you by posting first this Monday morning. ;)

I hope you all had an excellent Mother’s Day, with your children and / or mother.  My mom and I enjoyed brunch with my grandmother and aunt, an excellent Pirate game in beautiful weather, and dinner with my Nana and extended family.

I was feeling less than inspired yesterday after work.  I managed to do a 30 day Shred workout (subbing boxing for all of the other cardio moves and squats for the lunges) but couldn’t think of anything I wanted for dinner.  I knew the fridge was full of random leftovers from last week’s meals, so I grabbed these three components and decided to mush them into burger patties.

image

I ended up finely chopping 3/4 cup of roasted veggies (sqush, potatoes, onions, and bell peppers) and adding them to 1/2 cup of quinoa and 1/2 cup of fat free refried beans.  The veggies had been cooked with an Asian marinade, so I didn’t add any other flavors.  1/4 cup of quick oats helped to absorb some of the moisture and give them more texture.

image

image

I browned them in a skillet over medium high heat for 4-5 minutes on each side, then put them in the toaster oven at 350° for 10 minutes to make sure they were cooked through.  I debated adding an egg to help hold them together but decided against it since they seemed so moist.  They ended up being a little too fragile after cooking, so I think I’d add an egg next time.

image

Topped with some Laughing Cow Light Swiss, this was a satisfying dinner.  I think they’ll be even better on a sandwich thin with some barbeque sauce.

image

Inspired by the protein muffin idea, I made my first attempt at this microwaved baked good for dessert.  I have an opened box of cake mix (since I made this for Mardi Gras), so I subbed it in for the flour that the recipe calls for.

image

I also added some left over Easter sprinkles for good measure.

image

This dessert got SO puffy while in the microwave, but deflated a good bit as I let it cool. 

image

Honestly, the texture was a bit too “eggy” for me.  Has anyone else made these at home?  It’s possible that the cake mix didn’t function as well as the flour in the normal recipe.

So I don’t usually post about wedding-related stuff, but I have a few things to rant about today.  I’d love your feedback!

1) Why in the world are cakes so expensive?  For 200 guests we’ve been quoted $855 and $700.  Should I keep looking for a better deal?

2) Getting married in the Catholic church (which we really want to do) involves jumping through SO many hoops.  I have to pay a ridiculous amount of money for the organist to NOT play, in order to have our own musicians there.  In addition, HE gets to “approve” the music selections and request documentation from the places they usually play to say that they’re “qualified” musicians.  The man needs to get a grip.  There’s a reason we’re paying him not to ruin our wedding ceremony play.

Happy Tuesday! 

C

15 responses to “Kitchen Sink Veggie Burgers

  1. hungryhealthyhappy May 10, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    OMG! That is so frustrating about the organist! I am Catholic, too, and have thought about how I will deal with that if/when I get married. Annoying!

    I wish I had advice for you about the eggy pancake–I hate when my baked goods turn out too eggy! Let us know if you figure out a better alternative!

  2. allieksmith May 10, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Woah! I was at the Pirates game on Sunday too! SO WEIRD!!! :)

    Glad you had a nice day!

  3. beyondbananas May 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Those burgers look great! I love veggie burgers.. homemade helps to ensure they’ve only got good stuff in them!

    Can’t be of help on the wedding stuff.. no experience there yet! But.. the whole paying the organist not to play.. is a little much!

  4. Shanna, like Banana May 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Actually that’s not bad for a cake at all..that’s about $4/slice. We went with a local baker and were able to score $2.75 / slice but that’s as low as I’ve ever encountered. Good luck!

  5. pawsitivelife May 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    I agree marriage in a catholic church has sooo many hoops, which is probably why I wont do it. At least I hope you get to have a dress you like, last summer my firend couldnt get married in a sleeveless gown and two weeks before teh wedding we were searching the earth for a nice cover up. Sounds like your planning is going great

  6. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 10, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I looooove kitchen sink recipes like this! even more perfect that its a yummy veggie burger! <3 looove it! =)

  7. Katie May 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Im sorry girl about the wedding hurdles, I know how that is! My fiance and I are catholic, but decided not to do a catholic ceremony, we are getting married at a historical chapel on campus where he went to law school instead, which is a pain too in a way, because you only have a certain time limit for ceremony, its like hustle and bustle but so worth it!

    The cake, yeah , they are expensive , we paid 800 for a cake for 150 peeps, but its worth it, so u are in right price range for sure with that

    And I do not think sara has it posted, but you could ask her for the recipe! Do u know her blog?!

    its http://froyofoodie.typepad.com/fro-yo-foodie/

  8. Amanda May 10, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    We are Catholic and decided against getting married in a church for some of those exact reasons. With all of the classes, and getting approval to play the music you want and have the reading you want was way too much for us. For a while I was thinking that I’d regret not having a church ceremony, but so far I’m really glad that we haven’t done that!

  9. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather May 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I love it when I randomly throw something together and it turns out tasty! Bummer about the eggy cake.

  10. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 10, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Wow, the wedding stuff sounds tough. :( Sorry you have to go through all of that! Those details can be so finicky and annoying.

    Cake-wise, I’m not sure.. depends where it’s from. :) Ours was super cheap, but we had a tiny one on display and sheet cakes in the back. No one knew the difference, lol.

  11. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I’m sorry to hear about the hoop jumping! We are catholic too and got married in the church last summer and I totally understand the hassle!

  12. Jamie @ Food in Real Life May 11, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Hey girl! I used to make protein cakes in the microwave all the time with eggs and protein powder..I tried it again the other day and couldn’t stand it. Too eggy. As far as wedding cakes, I wish I had advice! Ours was included in the catering price. That does sound pricy though! Weddings are soooo expensive.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

