Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

The Best Thing I Ever Ate (recently)

Have you seen “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” on Food Network?  Definitely one of my favorite shows.  I think it’s interesting to hear famous chefs and foodies discuss their favorite meals.  Each episode focuses on one type or category of food, like comfort food or chocolate.

This edition is “The Best Thing I Ever Ate – Fish Dish” edition on Live & Love To Eat.  Simply because I am obsessed with food and couldn’t possibly compare my favorite Mexican meal to the best cake I’ve ever tasted. 

As I mentioned last week, we celebrated my parents’ 32 year anniversary (and I baked those chocolate meringue cookies).  Their favorite local restaurant is Bistro19, an incredible spot that uses local ingredients and changes their menu seasonally.  The manager, B, makes you feel incredibly welcome as soon as you walk in the door, and even remembers us by name.  With my father owning restaurants I can really appreciate the warm and friendly atmosphere that she brings to the restaurant.  The service is nearly impeccable, attentive but not overbearing.  It’s one of my family’s first choices for when we’re celebrating something – we went there both when I finished my Masters program and when I passed the RD exam last summer.

One of the items that never leaves the menu is their signature Chilean Sea Bass.  Now I know that it’s not the most eco-friendly choice, but with eggs and dairy being my primary protein sources, I enjoy a good piece of fish once in a while.  I’ve never had sea bass anywhere else, and after having it here I don’t think I would want to – it just couldn’t get any more perfect than this dish.  On the menu its description includes “horseradish crust, rice wine marinade, oriental vinegrette, macadamia basmati, napa slaw”.  Each component comes together magnificently… the texture of the fish is like nothing I’ve had before.  It is almost egg-like, smooth and flakey at the same time.  Really, I can’t say enough about the savory flavor and complimentary rice & slaw.  It’s just the best entree’ I’ve ever had.

image

Some of my other favorites from Bistro19 include their hummus sampler, crab grilled cheese, grilled vegetable stack, and pear & roasted beet salad.  They also feature different soups, which I tried last week – described as a roasted zucchini and eggplant soup, with a tomato broth base.  It was incredibly flavorful, with the perfect balance of spice and fresh vegetable flavor.  I’m usually not impressed with broth based soups, but this was delicious.

image

In the fall they featured a black and white bean soup, which they served side by side in the same dish – the best soup I’ve ever had.  I hope they bring that back again in the fall!

 On to more recent eats – I’ve mastered Katie’s genius voluminous oat technique.  Since I make overnight oats anyway, I decided to try her precooking method.  Check out the amount of oats I get out of just 1/3 cup dry quick oats:

image

Recently I’ve been sticking with a cinnamon bun flavored oatmeal – with sugar free maple syrup, raisins, cinnamon, a pinch of nutritional yeast, and 1/2 tsp of chia seeds.  I cook the oats with water but add 1/4 cup soymilk to make them extra creamy over night.

image

I wake up around 5:45 and leave for work about 7:15, and used to eat breakfast at 6:45 – which made me hungry for a snack by 10 AM.  Recently I’ve been packing my oats and waiting to eat them at work, which keeps me more full before lunch time.  Sorry for the miserable lighting, that’s the office for ya!

image

I get to enjoy a much larger portion than I simply soaked them overnight.  And I’m all about getting to eat more for fewer calories!

Thank you for the sweet comments on the photo yesterday.  Here’s another one that I love (showin’ the bling):

 
 
I’m so so so glad we picked this photographer – he’s incredibly talented, reasonably priced, and fun to work with.

What’s the best thing YOU’VE eaten recently?  Do you have a favorite local restaurant?

22 responses to “The Best Thing I Ever Ate (recently)

  1. chocolate katie May 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    aww you are so sweet! I love that last photo! :)

  2. Christine (Merf) May 24, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Chilean sea bass is ridiculously delicious. I haven’t eaten it since finding out it was an “avoid” fish. I think it’s been about six years, and I still get heart flutters when I see it on a menu, I want it so bad!!!

  3. hungryhealthyhappy May 24, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Wow, that sea bass sounds incredible! I am a HUGE fan of sea bass, so I go ahead and have it when I see it on a menu. I love the sound of that soup, too! I’ll have to look into making up some oats that way–I’m all about the volume, too! :)

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 24, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I’ve never heard of Bistro 19 – we’ll have to check it out sometime! The food looks delicious.

    And once again, your pictures are beautiful!!! Your ring is stunning. :)

  5. jenna May 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    wow the sea bass looks amazing!!! some things are worth splurging on!

  6. allieksmith May 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    I like that engagement photo too!

    I will need to go to Bistro 19 now that you have some rave reviews!

  7. kristina@beancakes May 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    LOVE the last photo! the best thing i ever ate recently was a mocha chocolate cake, it was decadent!

  8. Alyssa May 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I definitely went italiano-crazy in my pre-race post yesterday… that is by FAR some of the best food I’ve eaten in a long time!

    and hooraaay for sugar free maple syrup in oats. love love love.

  9. Shanna, like Banana May 24, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    I tried to see your pics but my work blocks the webpage..boo! I want to see them!

    Oh and maple syrup in oats is soooo good

  10. Heather May 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I had a really great fish dish this weekend and I think I’m in love. I love the food network and the cooking channel. I always get so hungry after every show.

  11. Alexa @ Simple Eats May 24, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Best thing I’ve eaten recently was super hot chicken wings, ah I love them!

  12. Jenny May 24, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I love watching “Best Thing I Ever Ate”, so fun to see what other chefs enjoy eating and their local restaurants. Your oats look super yummy. Best thing I ate recently were burgers, fries, and an oreo shake lol (It was a cheat ;))

  13. Katie May 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Mike and I love that show! We always say one day we want to go to every place they mention on there that looks amazing! Ha!

    LOVE the pic and love the bling! Beautiful! U have to show that off girl!!!

    Sea bass is amazing, PF changs actually has an amazing seabass, it melts in your mouth! U know where else, have you ever been to Monterey Bay in Mount Washington? Such a great place, amazing fish!!!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat May 25, 2011 at 3:39 am

      Obsessed with Monteray Bay – the secret is to sit downstairs in the bar and not wait for a table – but still get to order off the full menu! We are food soulmates, you and I. And thanks for the comments on the ring, looks pretty similar to another one I’ve seen ;)

  14. Natalie June 2, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Hi! I just discovered your blog and I am a fellow Pittsburgher. I LOVE bistro 19!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

