Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate, Shopped, and Baked

Peas and Crayons

My favorite thing of the week – what I ate (Tuesday, but on) Wednesday!  Breakfast was the voluminous oat creation that I mentioned yesterday.  Don’t worry, they taste 103859543890 times better than they look.

image

Mid-morning snack was a banana with some almond butter.  No, I did not eat all of the almond butter.  Yes, it’s homemade.  Yes, I keep it in my desk drawer.  Yes, I’m an office lady.

image

Lunch (sorry for lack of a live photo):

I’ve never had a frozen Kashi entree let me down, and I snagged this one at Target last weekend for less than $3.  It’s been in the freezer at work for a day that I was unable to pack my lunch ahead of time (like today!).  Unfortunately it was 340 calories, which was a bit higher than I was hoping for.

2 oclock pick-me-up: Starbucks Iced Venti Passion Tea, no sugar, 2 Splenda.  My calorie free summer go-to.  I work about 20 yards from a Starbucks.  They sent me a gold card with my name on it.  I must go there quite often.

After work I de-booted and drove to gym (then re-booted) and spent 45 minutes with this baby.  My newest love/hate relationship.

I’m so tired of the looks I get from people all day long, and the question – “What did you do to your leg?”.  The “I broke my ankle” story is getting old, so I might switch to “shark attack” and wait for their reaction.  After my airdyne date I hit the Robinson Market District (another love/hate situation) and picked up all these goodies for under $30.  I’ve been couponing like mad and always wait to use them for products already on sale.  The only items I paid full price for were the tea and the life changing peanut butter. I snagged the Oikos and Erewhon cereal for free thanks to Elise’s giveaway.

image

Other bloggers have raved about Peanut Butter and Co but I hadn’t seen it in a local store until today.  No one said about the amazingly gritty cinnamon and sugary texture of the Cinnamon Raisin Bagel flavor.  I was going to buy a couple varieties, but this one was on sale.  And I wanted to try Sunflower butter, but went with the tub of fresh ground almond butter instead.  I figured 5 jars of nut butter at home was enough (for now).  I also grabbed some sushi for dinner (over priced, but delicious) and steamed some frozen edamame.  I mixed my wasabi with my soy sauce to dip the Cali roll and mixed OJ, teriyaki, and hot seasame oil to dip my edamame pods.

image

And if that wasn’t enough, I had to try this recipe that I saw on Mary’s blog (her pretty layout always makes me crave cupcakes).  I write down SO many recipes with hopes to try them myself, but this is one that I actually tried the same day.  I’m a blogger with no life, it’s true.  I cut the recipe in half, added some cocoa powder (1 tsp), subbed Kashi for the bran flakes and doubled the walnuts.  Deeeeelish.

image

Cocoa Chunky Monkey Cookies

Ingredients:

1 small banana, mashed (about 1/3 cup)

1 Tbsp creamy peanut butter

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup oats

1/4 cup Kashi GoLean

pinch salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 Tbsp chocolate chips

1 tsp cocoa powder

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Combine all ingredients.

3) Form into teaspoon sized balls on a greased baking tray.

4) Bake 8-10 minutes.

image

image

Thank Mary for the simple recipe!  My version made 12 small cookies.

Approximate nutrition (per cookie): 60 calories, 3 g fat, 7g carbs, 2 g protein

How ’bout my boy Hines Ward?  We didn’t have any doubt, not for a second.  Another reason to be a proud Pittsburgh chick!

Did you watch the DWTS finale?  What’s your go-to summer Starbucks beverage?

27 responses to “What I Ate, Shopped, and Baked

  1. Daniella @ Runner at Heart May 25, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    I am with you about the love/hate relationship with the bike. I hate doing it but feel so good about myself once I am done.

  2. pawsitivelife May 25, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Those cookies look so good and healthy! I try to stay away from starbucks but lately I have been loving some iced regular coffee. Im a late bloomer!

  3. Mary @ Bites and Bliss May 25, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Glad you tried them! The cocoa version sounds delicious!

  4. Christine (Merf) May 25, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I love my PB&Co!!! I need to try the cinnamon raisin kind.

  5. kristina@beancakes May 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    oh man, those cookies look so good! my fave starbucks drink is probably just a simple old iced coffee. so refreshing!

  6. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 25, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Just FYI: I totally WOULD have eaten all of that almond butter. [And there ain't no shame in keeping your desk stocked with goodies...you'd faint if you saw the snack drawer in my office.]

  7. Emily May 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Agreed on love/hate with Market District! I just picked up the same tortillas (high fiber).. all the other ones had a disappointing ingredient list with hydrogenated oils :( Oh, Giant Eagle..

  8. Shanna, like Banana May 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Love Kashi frozen meals.

    The PBCo cinn raisin is to die for.

    Fave summer drink: Venti non-fat iced latte with 4 pumps vanilla ;)

  9. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    The cookies look delish. I love anything from Kashi – especially the frozen meals!

    I didn’t watch DWTS (I know, I’m a bad Pittsburgher). My fave Sbux drink is the same as yours with Stevia. :)

  10. beyondbananas May 25, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Oats ALWAYS taste SOO much better then they look I don’t know how some bloggers get them to taste SO good.

  11. LizAshlee May 25, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Either an iced passion tea or an iced soy latte with stevia depending on how much coffee I have consumed that day!

    Cookies look super tasty and healthy…I like!

    Have a fabulous day!!!

  12. Tiff May 25, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Those cookies look great. By the way, let us know if you ever do decide to say “shark attack.”

  13. Kelly May 25, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    You’ve gotta try the sunflower seed butter the next go round! I recently purchased my first jar and all I can say is YUUUUUM.

  14. char May 25, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I keep eyeing sunflower butter too, but haven’t bought it yet…just like you, waiting for the sales. And I totally use the coupons when items are on sale…like my razor yesterday, was on sale, PLUS I had a coupon for another $3 off…love those deals!!!

  15. Jenny (Fit Girl Foodie) May 25, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    You didn’t like the cinnamon raisin pb?!! It’s my favorite!!! :( Love all the goodies you picked up and those oats for breakfast look super yummy. Those monkey cookies look fantastic!! :D

  16. Amanda May 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I could get lost in the Robinson Market District! I don’t shop there as much because it’s sooooo expensive (I’m not a great couponer – I lack the patience), but I still love it. And their gelato – SO yum!

    I have a part time job at Starbucks and my current obsession is the Iced Skinny Caramel Macchiato with an extra shot of espresso. I try to only order it on the days that I work (’cause it’s free ;-) ), that way I limit my calories.

  17. Peggy May 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Looks like a day of delicious eats!

  18. IHeartVegetables May 25, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I love passion tea from Starbucks!! So refreshing and delicious :)

    Those cookies look awesome!

  19. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife May 25, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    great idea for the cookies, thanks! :)

  20. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 25, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I always kept nut butter under my desk and emergency meals in the freezer at work too! It saved my life a few times =) and i’ll totally back up your shark attack story! MWAH!

    Happy WIAW!

  21. rebecca May 26, 2011 at 1:06 am

    lovely and healthy eats thanks for stopping by my blog

  22. McKayla @ Green Groats May 26, 2011 at 2:01 am

    Yum to the cookies. They sounds AMAZING :)

  23. allieksmith May 26, 2011 at 2:28 am

    Isn’t Market District like the most amazing place ever?! I went there TWICE this past weekend. Bye bye paycheck hahaha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

