Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Summertime Snacks

With the temperature in Pittsburgh around 90 degrees and the humidity at 110%, my appetite usually decreases in the summer months.  I still wake up craving a decent breakfast but like to eat smaller meals for lunch and dinner, with snacks to fill in the gaps. 

Who else spent their Saturday morning squeezing chickpeas?  No one?

image

Saturday was my mother’s birthday, and we celebrated with a cookout.  I made a batch of blondies that was a hybrid of Katie and Holly’s recent recipes.  Mine included white chocolate chips, walnuts, and I used cake flour and a real egg instead of flax. 

image

They came out a bit dry (I may have over baked them), so I whipped up a quick icing.  “Healthy” went right out the window! ;)

image

With two cookouts this weekend, I tried to eat healthy during other meals.  My friend who hosted a party on Sunday were kind enough to have a veggie burger to throw on the grill for me! 

I’ve posted before about how much I love this pecan raisin bread from our local Mediterra Bakery.  With a short and natural ingredient list (unbromated unbleached wheat flour, water, flame raisins, toasted pecans, organic whole wheat flour, water sea salt, organic cornmeal), it’s bread I can feel good about eating. 

I’ve enjoyed it before as french toast or just toasted and topped with peanut butter, but now that I have that amazing PB & Co, I figured I’d do both.

image

image

Plus a little caramelized brown sugar (for good measure).

image

image

image

I got some good feedback on the watermelon smoothie yesterday, so I tried a cantaloupe/strawberry concoction.  Since the fruit wasn’t frozen to begin with, the xanthan gum really comes in handy to thicken the smoothie.

In the cup:

1 cup very ripe cantaloupe

1 cup spinach

5 strawberries (frozen would be better)

sweetener (I used Splenda)

handful of icecubes

1/2 scoop protein powder

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

3 Tbsp ice cold water (just to get things blended)

image

image

Smoothies are an easy way to get in some nutrition even when you’re not too hungry.  I think the melon varieties will help to prevent smoothie burnout! ;)

Any good food finds at your parties this past weekend?

36 responses to “Summertime Snacks

  1. Laura @ S2theT May 31, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    I want to try those blondies really badly. I love my black bean brownies… I imagine its the same sort of thing as far as not being able to taste the beans? Rockstar move adding the icing and serving them with a bowl of M&Ms. :)

  2. Shanna, like Banana May 31, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I think I need to get on the chickpea blondie bandwagon..nom.

    My healthy eating has been out the window since Friday. Oye.

  3. chocolate katie May 31, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Aww you’re such a sweetheart!

    And pecan-raisin bread sounds really good!

  4. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 31, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    I was VERY pleasantly surprised to find a delicious soy-and-ginger marinated chicken coming off the grill (along with some grilled pineapple and roasted corn) at the cookout I went to yesterday. It DEFINITELY elevated from standard “burger and hot dog” fare. Along with the veggies and dip I brought, and fresh fruit everywhere…I was able to have a very healthy holiday. :)

  5. kristina@beancakes May 31, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    glad you had fun over the memorial day week-end! i noticed that you say “cookout,” i’m originally from D.C., and i noticed that east-coasters say “cookout,” west coasters say “bbq,” and mid-westerners say “grill out.” i’ve lived in all of these regions, it’s interesting! ;)

  6. Beyond Bananas May 31, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    Ahhhhh! I so menat to pick up some extra chick pease this weekend at the store to make those blondies.. but totally forgot. I usually try to avoid mid-week shopping trips, but I MAY have to make an exception!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 31, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I love the presentation of the blondies with the M&Ms; it looks so good.

    No parties for us this weekend, but still lots of good food – probably the vegan cookie cake from Whole Foods is the winner though. :)

  8. char May 31, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Chickpeas in blondies…what an amazing idea! This is why I love healthy food blogging!! You get such amazing ideas from other people! I love smoothies in summer…I could actually go for one right now (yay, for hot weather), but my mother, sister and I are going out for lunch…must save appetite!

  9. Tiff May 31, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    That bread looks increadible. I want that… NOW! :) The best food I enjoyed this weekend was porbably the pizza I devoured Sunday evening. I wanted to grill out, but when the buddies said pizza, I couldn’t turn it down!

  10. chrysta May 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Looks super delish! Im in a smoothie mood lately. Its all I want to eat. We actually jsut hit the beach this weekend so we didnt have a picnic or anything. So no interesting eats but it was fun though! Hope you had a fabulous weekend!

  11. thehealthyapron May 31, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I didn’t go to any parties this weekend :( I wish I had!!

  12. IHeartVegetables May 31, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I ate waaay too much this weekend! But lots of good food :) No veggie burgers though, I just made myself salads with hummus while everyone else had burgers :) Works for me!

    I use xanthan gum in my smoothies too!

  13. Katie May 31, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    I love chickpeas! I eat those things right out of the can, haha! So good!

    GO PITT! Love the glass!! The smoothies sounds good too!

    Hope your day was great!!

  14. Holly May 31, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    I so want a blondie with frosting and M&Ms (or whatever is in that bowl)!!!

  15. Alexa @ Simple Eats May 31, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    I had the most amazing grilled corn this weekend! That pecan raisin bread sounds awesome!

  16. allieksmith May 31, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Hail Pitt! LOL. The smoothie cup :)

    I agree, my appetite decreases in the heat.. except for my appetite for watermelon :D

    Icing on brownies is such a good idea!

  17. Jenny June 1, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Those blondies look scrumptious, I love the icing idea. Such a cute presentation with the candy in the middle :) I had way too much food this weekend. Time to up the veggies ;)

  18. pawsitivelife June 1, 2011 at 1:10 am

    Thats bread looks amazing! All this party talk makes me wish we had memorial day in canada

  19. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy June 1, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Alright, I think the chickpea gods are telling me something, and that something: I need to make these blondies ASAP. I did the black bean brownies and loved them so these can only be equally, if not more, scrumptious.

  20. hungryhealthyhappy June 2, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I made the chickpea blondies, too, and mine were super gooey! I used agave instead of the brown sugar, so maybe that helps them be more gooey??

  21. Pingback: Causes And Protein Cookie Dough Bites « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

  23. Pingback: What I Ate (and What Santa Brought) Wednesday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

