Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

[Healthy] Sweet Potato Pancakes

A few weekends ago, I had my first sweet potato pancake.  Not a deep fried, shredded potato-type pancake, but a sweet, cakey, breakfast type pancake.  It was at the Freeport restaurant in Erie, a place my family used to frequent on our trips north.  I ordered an egg white omelet but once I saw that they could be ordered a la carte, I got a pancake too.  It was about the size of a serving platter and served with grainy cinnamon and sugar butter.

Since then I’ve wanted to try to recreate that pancake – a healthier version, of course.  I definitely succeeded in the nutrition department, but the taste was just not the same as the super sweet, buttery version from the restaurant.  My attempt got pretty close, but I didn’t make the cinnamon/sugar butter – which was probably why I liked them so much in the first place.

Sweet Potato Garbanzo Bean Pancakes

Dry ingredients:

2/3 cup garbanzo bean flour

1 Tbsp ground flax seed

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch salt

1 Tbsp brown sugar Splenda blend

Wet ingredients:

1/3 cup cooked and mashed sweet potato (about 1/2 a potato)

1 egg white

2/3  cup soymilk (or maybe a little more or less, just to get the batter to the right consistency)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1) Combine wet, add to dry.

2) Pour by 1/4 cup fulls into a heated and sprayed skillet.

3) Cook 2-3 minutes until bubbles appear in the batter, then flip and cook 1-2 more minutes.

Makes 6-7 pancakes.

image

image

image

image

image

Approximate nutrition (per pancake): 90 calories, 2 g fat, 15 g carbs, 4 g protein

Topped with sugar free syrup.  They were *close*, but I think I’d add even MORE sweet potato next time.

Are these really a unique item or am I just sheltered? ;)  Do you have a sweet potato pancake recipe to share? 

I am a complete slacker and didn’t get to make an item for Cait’s bake sale, but be sure to visit her page and bid on some goodies!

Happy Monday!

xox

C

 

18 responses to “[Healthy] Sweet Potato Pancakes

  1. Beyond Bananas June 6, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Those look delicious, Claire. I love sweet potatoes, so i am sure I would love these!

  2. allieksmith June 6, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I love when I go out and the butter is sugary and grainy with cinnamon. YUM.

    Sweet potatoes are one of my fav. foods and i’ve never had them in pancake form! Way to re-create :)

  3. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table June 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Yum! I love sweet potato pancakes. There’s a breakfast place in Atlanta that serves them, but I’ve never attempts my own. Will try this out! I did make sweet potato falafel and that was delish. Sweet potato hash browns arenon my list to make too.

  4. Katie June 6, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Yummy! Loving these!!!!

    Hope your monday is off to a beautiful start!! xoxo

  5. Shanna, like Banana June 6, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    WHAT? only 90 cals per pancake? I must make these…yummmmmm

  6. Scarlett June 6, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    being a huge fan of anything involving sweet potatoes, and any form of pancake, this recipe makes me want to hit the kitchen immediately!

  7. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen June 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Yum! Yet another reason to finally break open the package of garbanzo bean flour I’ve been hoarding (for no apparent reason). I have a recipe for Sweet Potato Pecan Pancakes that use cottage cheese for a little protein punch. I got the idea after having some ricotta pancakes that were to-do-for. [Since I made the cakes originally, though, I've discovered that lower sodium, low fat ricotta might actually be healthier in the long run.] You’ve inspired me to perhaps play around with my recipe again!

    If you want to see mine: http://www.thesmartkitchenblog.com/2010/03/one-potato-two-potato-sweet-potato-four_18.html

  8. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 6, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Those look too good! I’ve never heard of them either, but I’m also from Pittsburgh, so who knows, haha.

    I really need to get on the garbanzo bean flour bandwagon!

  9. char on a mission June 6, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Now these are something I would love to try. I really love anything sweet potato…perhaps why I picked up a quinoa salad from Whole Foods with it in it today!

  10. theflourishingfoodie June 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I just bought garbanzo beans flour so I totally want to make these!

  11. Simply Life June 6, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    what a great idea for sweet potatoes!

  12. pawsitivelife June 7, 2011 at 1:38 am

    My family used to make regular potato pancakes, but fired them in an inch of oil. and eating it with sour cream and sugar. Crazy polish cooking…bleh. Yours looks like such a better alternative

  13. tickledtofu June 7, 2011 at 3:45 am

    I love adding sweet potato to breakfasty foods like pancakes! Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

