Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

(The best of) What I Ate (up until) Wednesday

Peas and Crayons

New breakfast obsession!  Voluminous oats were good, but I didn’t feel full for more than an hour or two after eating them, no matter how much protein and fiber I packed into them.  I had a bag of Bob’s Red Mill 10 Grain Hot Cereal in the cupboard, and used Katie’s voluminous trick to make a batch with 1/4 cup 10 grain cereal and 1/4 cup plain old oats.  It absorbed up to 1.5 cups of water!  I added some chia seeds, stevia, and more water; let them sit overnight, then stirred in some cottage cheese, fresh strawberries, and a teaspoon of sunflower butter.

image

TA-DA!  Almost 2 cups of overnight oat mix!  Can’t wait to make this one into a carrot cake version.  I’ve been adding in so many extra things to my plain oats to try to keep me satisfied that this bowl actually ended up being fewer calories, but I felt like I got to eat so much more.  And I’m all about voluminous eating.  Like the following lunch bowl:

image

I pressed and baked a whole block of tofu with some barbeque sauce last weekend, and needed to use up the leftovers.  I also had some black beans in the fridge, but needed a base.  Since I’m trying to control my calorie intake due to my inability to do serious cardio, I used a bag of mixed frozen veggies instead of rice or another grain.  I had enough leftovers to make this for lunch at work both Monday and Tuesday, and it was a little bland the first time around, so I added some of the best hummus in the whole wide world for some flavor.  This meal clocked in under 200 calories, leaving me room for a vanilla greek yogurt and orange on the side (not pictured).

I had another one of my favorite TJ’s items, pizza dough, at home in the fridge.  After struggling through a few ExerciseTV workouts with my boot on, I decided to make a pizza with the whole wheat dough and some left over eggplant from my ravioli meal.  I wasn’t in the mood for a red sauce, so I whipped up some pesto based on Katie’s fabulous recipe.  I cut it down to about 1/4 of everything she calls for (but tried to keep the proportions the same) and added some parsley since I was low on basil.

 image

image

image

image

image

I only used half the dough and got enough for 4 servings (and ate two!).  Enjoyed with some vitamin A on the side, with some more of the TJ’s hummus.

image

I added one more level of flavor with balsamic glaze.  Yum (added sugars, but worth it)!

I was craving a light dessert, so I made a double chocolate banana softserve with frozen banana, skim milk, dark chocolate cocoa powder and 1 piece of solid dark chocolate.  Into the bullet for about 20 seconds!

image

image

Xanthan gum would have helped to keep it thicker, but I ate it so quickly that there wasn’t too much time for melting! ;)

I’ve been cooking a lot recently but feel like most of my items are semi-homemade.  What’s your favorite throw-together-at-the-last-minute meal?

29 responses to “(The best of) What I Ate (up until) Wednesday

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie June 8, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Mmm carrot cake oatmeal sounds so good right about now!

  2. kristina@beancakes June 8, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    that soft serve looks scrumptious, mmm, now i’m hungry! i have a lot of “throw together” meals, one of them being my tea rice soup recipe which involves just rice, miso and a few other pantry staples that i most always have on hand.
    xo~ kristina

    http://beancakes.wordpress.com/

  3. char on a mission June 8, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Wow I never thought of making banana soft-serve in the bullet…I actually didn’t know if it would work as well….you might have started something over here!! Looks like you had some good eats…can I come over? haha

    My fave thrown together meal is probably a stiry-fry with all the veggies that are hiding in my fridge, or pretty much anything dessert!

  4. Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing June 8, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    That pizza looks delicious! Love all the combinations to get your nutrients in :)

  5. Tiff June 8, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    That pizza looks great. I must admit, I’m impressed at your willpower; leftover pizza never happens at my house!

    My fav last-minute meal is a peeb&nanna sandwich, scrambled egg wrap, or bowl of my chinese take-in.

  6. hungryhealthyhappy June 8, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    That pizza looks fantastic! Honestly, most of my meals lately are “throw together whatever I have” but I love making them into paninis! I have a bunch of veggies dying in my fridge right now, so maybe a pizza is in order! :D

  7. Shanna, like Banana June 8, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Veggie stirfry’s are my fave. I use a slaw base (instead of rice) and throw in all the veggies I have in the house. So good!

  8. Laura @ S2theT June 8, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I love foods that look huge. Voluminous oats, gigantic salads… you have a perfect food day for me. :)

    The bullet hasn’t worked for me making banana soft-serve, but I’ll try it again with some milk to aid the blending. Thanks for the tip!

  9. allieksmith June 8, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Mmm yummy eats! I like eating in volume too :)
    My fav. throw together meal is sweet potato fries, salmon, and any veggie

  10. Tori (Fresh Fruition) June 8, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    My favorite throw together meal is always either oats or a sammie. You can get anything and everything you need in a sammie! And oatmeal is always a winner in my book.

  11. Cait's Plate June 8, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Oooh I have an eggplant sitting in my fridge right now and I think I know EXACTLY what I’m going to be doing with it now!! :) That looks so delish.

  12. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Great idea for the oat mix + chia seeds. Looks yummy and filling!

  13. Alexa @ Simple Eats June 8, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I love making homemade pasta sauce and throwing frozen veggies in to amp up the veggie factor. Your pizza looks great!

  14. Jenny June 8, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Yum everything looks delish! I tried the banana soft serve with my bullet and I definitely need some liquid to get it going lol

  15. mindrunningwild June 9, 2011 at 1:36 am

    ooh yum!! I’m def a volume eater too so I love my veggies!!
    last minute I usually do huge salads with everything on top or a giant smoothie. huge? giant? haha see, volume!
    oats are so good!! I love cracked wheat overnight in my slow cooker with chia seeds. Very voluminous!

  16. jenn @ peas and crayons June 9, 2011 at 1:49 am

    I’m so behind on the voluminous oats trend! I like that you mix it up and add so many different things to yours all the time! <3 and i've totally been using frozen veg as a base — I did tonight and it was goooood!

  17. LizAshlee June 9, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Tasty eats! Salads are always quick & tasty! I love having veggie burgers made up because they are great alone or with a salad.

    Don’t you love making delicious ice cream with bananas!!! You need to add some cookie dough chunks next time! :) Do you find that xanthum gum alters the flavor of smoothies?

    Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

