Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend Recap

I tend to take it easy on the weekends, eating wise.  I don’t really track calories and allow myself to have dessert without thinking twice.  I majorly over ate at dinner last night (a Father’s Day feast), probably thanks to two glasses of wine.  Eating to the point of discomfort is something I used to do a lot more often, but I still was mad at myself for getting to that point last night.

So I’m going to focus on the fruits and veggies I had this weekend.

I started Saturday morning with a hot yoga class, fueled by a piece of toast with almond butter, banana, and cinnamon and a glass of iced coffee. 

image

It was only my second experience with a hot yoga class and I had a different instructor from last time.  She was more chatty, left the bright lights on, and liked to be hands-on, correcting our postures.  I told her I was getting over a broken ankle but she still pulled on my foot in warrior 2 to straighten it out – OUCH.  I think I’ll stick with the other instructor’s classes in the future – but it was nice to get a good sweat session first thing in the morning.

Saturday night I tried to recreate a pasta dish that my fiance’ had at a restaurant and raved about – chipotle chicken pasta.  I found a recipe for the sauce, but couldn’t find dried chipotles at TJ’s, so I settled for one of their bottled sauces that sounded similar.  The result was an Asian-flavored dish, and “not quite” what the fiance’ was hoping for.  I did incorporate red peppers, asparagus, and onions with the sugar-laden sauce.

image

After church and brunch (read: blueberry french toast casserole) with my family I hit the stationary bike for an hour, knowing that we’d have a big Father’s Day dinner as well.  After the gym I was craving something cool, so I whipped a few frozen banana and strawberry chunks with some milk and greek yogurt for homemade frozen yogurt.

image

Since yesterday was all about Dad, he chose the dinner menu – steak, double stuffed (butter and cheese filled) potatoes, and corn.  Not quite my ideal dinner.  Instead I had a leftover salmon, a roasted sweet potato, and a caprese salad.  I picked up some mozzarella and tomatoes at TJ’s and made this salad several times this weekend.

image

Topped with sweet and tangy balsamic glaze and fresh basil from the garden.  Definitely one of my summer staples. 

What fruits and veggies did you enjoy this weekend?

15 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. Christine (Merf) June 20, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I have balsamic glaze, and I have basil in my garden. I’m definitely making caprese salad this week!

  2. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 20, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Had a veggie burger with tomatoes yesterday! Love tomatoes + mozzarella cheese!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    It all looks deilcious! Hmmm.. some veggie highlights include Kenyan food, fruit salad, and lots of veggies in my pasta on Friday!

    Blueberry french toast casserole sounds like it’s to die for. :)

  4. kristina June 20, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    not nearly enough as i should’ve! i’m with you on the over-eating this past week-end! i need to get back on track asap!!
    happy monday claire!
    xx ~ kristina

  5. Emilie June 20, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I love anything right from the garden! My goal this weekend is go go strawberry picking.

    All the berries where on sale at my local grocer so I loaded up on those! I also had my favourite morning boost of a fruit smoothie.

    I seemed to have a lot of carrots and spinach this weekend. I loved the carrots with a fab spicy hummus.

  6. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen June 20, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I had a bevy of beautiful melons this weekend: cantaloupe, honeydew, and watermelon. I also lucked out with a delicious pineapple and papaya.

    I was having a tropical vacation in my kitchen apparently. :)

  7. char on a mission June 20, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve been enjoying avocados and lots of berries now that they’re all going on sale!!! And a lot of bananas with PB…it’s a strange addiction I can’t get enough of!

  8. sprint2thetable June 20, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Love that you did your own thing for dinner! My sisters and I are notorious for that at family dinners.

    Right now I can’t get enough cherries!

  9. Emily June 21, 2011 at 1:45 am

    there’s really no better salad than caprese, looks delish! :) i have seen huge bags of dried chipotle peppers at giant eagle for less than 5$. i’ve always wanted to buy them and make something with it, so if you find them, post a recipe :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

