Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate – Wedding Food

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast at work: Kashi, vanilla protein powder, almond milk, peaches.

image

Lunch at work: Leftover sloppy joes (open face on a sandwich thin) and sweet potato fries.

image

Pre-physical therapy snack: Chocolate Avocado Softserve

image

1/2 very ripe avocado, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 Tbsp cocoa powder, 4 drops stevia, 2 Tbsp almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana

image

I may or may not have licked the Magic Bullet blade clean.  It was the creamiest, most decadent treat I’ve made in a long time – definitely keeping avocados on hand from now on!

Approximate nutrition: 215 calories, 7g fat, 30g carbs, 15 g protein

image

After physical therapy I picked up the fiance’ and we headed to the country club to taste some of the potential menu choices for the wedding.  First up was wedding soup, which we gave a thumbs down.  We’ll serve salad instead since it will still be hot in September.  I only tasted a piece of the spinach.

image

Mixed greens salad – thumbs up.  Once I saw my favorite vegetable sitting on top of the salad, I was sold!  I think people prefer to dress their own salads and this option allows us to have two dressing choices.

image

Caesar salad – definite thumbs up, but we think the majority of the guests would prefer the mixed greens salad.

image

Beef entree #1: Fiance’s preference – tenderloin with a mushroom sauce, green beans almondine, and duchess potato.  He said this steak was really tender, and I like the presentation with the tomato/spinach garnish.

image

Chicken entree #1: Thumbs down!  From the menu description it sounded decadent (“stuffed with boursin cheese and herbs”), but it looked too much like KFC to serve at my wedding.  When we cut into it, we didn’t see any cheese anyhow!

image

Chicken entree #2: Chicken picatta.  I tasted the mushrooms/sauce and it was light but very flavorful.  This was served with the twice baked potato.  I think this will be our chicken selection.

image

Beef entree #2: London broil with bernaise, zucchini, and twice baked.  The fiance’ said this meat was tough.  I prefer zucchini to green beans but he loved their almondine, so we’ll probably pick green beans.  The potatoes were really similar, so we’ll go with the twice baked just because it’s larger.

image

I came home and de-stressed with a nice glass of vino.

image

And since I didn’t get a WHOLE lot to eat, I made a quick batch of a recipe that I saw yesterday and was curious about: Chocolate Covered Katie’s PB Chocolate Fudge.  Another delicious recipe!

image

I let it chill for about an hour and was really proud of myself for eating only this much last night:

image

How much does wedding food really matter (as a guest or to you at your wedding)?  I figure the guests will be more focused on the drinks, cookies, appetizers, and cake than the dinner itself.

Happy WIAW all!

29 responses to “What I Ate – Wedding Food

  1. chocolate katie June 29, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Ohmigosh, I’m so excited you already made it!!! You are a superstar :).

    As a guest at a wedding, I usually remember more about the entertainment than the food. Music is key :)

  2. sprint2thetable June 29, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    I got to go to the food and wine tasting for my best friend’s wedding. SO much fun! You are right though… people are more focused on socializing, the open bar, and – of course – YOU.

  3. Jenny June 29, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Wow that avocado soft serve looks delicious! I think I’m more focused on the open bar then the food lol ;)

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 29, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I think it matters that the evening flows, and that it seems meaningful. The food, music, entertainment and stuff is nice, but I think I like weddings most when I feel like it reflected the couple and was considerate of the guests.

    I need to try a smoothie with avocado.. it looks so creamy!

  5. Shanna, like Banana June 29, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    You want the food to be good, but it doesn’t need to be mind blowing…

    But yes mixed greens will be best for majority people and don’t forget to offer a veggie option!

  6. allieksmith June 29, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Avocado chocolate ice cream is something I NEED to try!! Ahh!

  7. Errign June 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I really like food, so I would be picky, but I think most guests are usually super psyched about appetizers, drinks and cake! :)

  8. Ashley O. @ The Vegetable Life June 29, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Wedding food is important I believe. I got married 8 weeks ago and people are still raving about our food! Food is a solid representation of you and your wedding day! We put a lot of time and effort into our dishes and our guests absolutley loved it. People were practically licking their plate clean! If you food is bad, people too will talk a lot about it so you would prefer positive comments over negative! Food brings people together and thats what weddings are about: love and bringing family an friends together!

  9. kristina@beancakes June 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    hmmm, well to be honest, the food is always important to me!! ;) from the main course to the dessert! haha, not to add any extra stress on you or anything ;)
    xoxo ~ kristina

  10. Lisa @ Healthful Sense June 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Love avocados in almost everything, even oatmeal. Sounds weird but so good. I love the chocolate softserve avocado idea. Sounds delicious. I love going to weddings!! For me I care more about drinks and dancing and that there is a vegetarian option available.

  11. peasandcrayons June 29, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    awww yay choosing wedding food is so much fun! I was most excited about the salad and our dreamy garlic smashed potatoes since i’m a veg girl and my husband was stoked over the chicken and shrimp we chose. lol – reading this sounded so similar to our thoughts over the food ;)

    Happy WIAW!!!! <3

  12. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food June 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    yey for picking out your wedding dishes! :) Sorry that some were a little disappointing! We cared quite a bit about the food and drink more so than a lot of other wedding items like flowers and decor. We chose to have our reception at Maggiano’s and couldn’t have been happier with the event :)

    I LOVE the look of your softserve! mm mmm! :)

  13. In Sweetness and In Health June 29, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    As a guest, I like the food, but I definitely think the drinks and cake are more important.

  14. Diana Sternberg June 29, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Good food is obviously a plus, but I think that ambiance is most important – good music, good people, details that make the event relevant to who you are as a couple – that’s what people will remember for years to come!

  15. char on a mission June 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I think as long as the dinner is decent, because yeah, it pretty much IS about the dessert. The last wedding I went to had amaaaazing wedding cake and honestly, I forget the dinner. I think it was good, but the cake was the remembering point lol. That’s awesome you got to taste-test…I honestly don’t think we did with our wedding. Luckily the place as all around good food…but, it could have been bad if not planned right. Eek!

  16. Green Groats June 30, 2011 at 2:37 am

    What an AWESOME smoothie! So flavorful! I really want to try one like that.

  17. bakebooks June 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Congrats on your upcoming wedding!

    I LOVE the thickness of that smoothie! I can’t “catch” on to them because I hate thin drinks and would still eat food then (not satisfying). I’ve tried making a few but end up using a lot of xantham gum, chia seeds, etc. to hold it together. Plus – usually recipes call for 1/2 cup of milk! But this looks great and simple!

  18. loftyappetite July 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    ooh your take on the avocado smoothie is different than my first one was. Chocolate + that creamy texture has got to be good! I’m gonna make it tonight!

    • loftyappetite July 3, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      oh and also, about the wedding food. i was at a wedding recently where the food wasn’t extraordinary, it was just a pasta/chicken/salad buffet, and it made me realize that no one really cares what they eat as long as they eat something! It was a fancy wedding ambiance but behind the bar all they had was a keg! Having a high quality photographer and DJ for a good time are all that people really care about and are worth investing in. This wedding did, and it was an awesome tme!

  19. Girl In The Pink July 7, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I’ve never thought to put avocado in banana soft serve. I might have to try it!!

  20. Pingback: WIAW – Snack Style « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

