Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Long Weekend Recap

Hi friends!  Hope you all had a fantastic long holiday weekend.

Saturday morning before hot yoga I had a modified breakfast cookie.  I used premade granola instead of oats and mixins, and I hadn’t thought to make it the night before.  I mashed half a banana with protein powder then stirred in the granola.  It didn’t need anything else added!

image

Definitely more moist than a typical “cookie”, but sweet and delicious!  After yoga I was headed for some outlet shopping (and damage was dont but the deals were INSANE), and I stopped at Einstein’s Bagels to grab a quick snack – I’m always STARVING after hot yoga.

image

More red white and blue eats – a yogurt parfait.  I usually buy fat free unsweetened yogurt, so the vanilla yogurt used in this tasted like a real treat.

Saturday night my dad was making lasagna and I had some leftover lentils from my sloppy joes, so I made a baked lentil casserole with some of his sauce, ricotta, and some parmesan on top.

image

Remember how this happened on Friday?  It inspired a major shoe reorganization.  I threw out 2 pairs, decided to donate 4 pairs, and will try to sell 3 pairs to Plato’s Closet.  I think I might also return 2 of the 4 I bought on Friday since they’re PRETTY similar to some I already have.

image

Sunday’s breakfast was blueberry GB flour pancakes with strawberry syrup.  Sweet and filling!

image

image

Yesterday afternoon we enjoyed time with my family and our neighbors at a small cookout gathering.  I brought a dessert inspired by this masterpiece.  Stay tuned for that post!

Pittsburghers are notorious for loving fireworks, and my dad is no different.  We watched downtown’s big show, then our local community’s fireworks, and then more of the NYC fireworks on TV when we got home! 

Instead of taking pictures yesterday (which I had hoped to), I just enjoyed each moment.  It was nice for a change!

What was the best part of your holiday weekend?

11 responses to “Long Weekend Recap

  1. In Sweetness and In Health July 5, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Your weekend sounds fun! I got to see a bunch of family which was awesome :)

  2. kristina@beancakes ❤ July 5, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    it’s nice to not take photos sometimes, i know! so glad that you had a nice 4th! here in madison, wi ~ fireworks are taken seriously as well! i visited with family and ate a lot of great food ~ so needless to say, it’s back on the health wagon!!
    xx ~ kristina

  3. allieksmith July 5, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    It IS totally nice to enjoy the moment rather than take a million pictures, I totally agree! I loved the Burgh’s fireworks as well :D

  4. Shanna, like Banana July 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I need to do a shoe dump too — I wonder if there is a Plato’s closet around me? Hmmmm….

  5. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table July 5, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I did the same with pics. We had on helluva spread Sunday at my mom’s but I didn’t take single pic. Sometimes you just need to relax on a holiday. :)

    Those pancake look so good! I don’t know I never make pancakes… must remedy!

  6. Katie July 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Enjoy the moment, so great! glad you did girl!

    Your pancakes turned out better than mine! Look good! U need to teach me your pancake skills!

    Glad you had a good holiday!!

    I have SO many shoes and clothes I need to go through too : p I do donate most of them when I go through them, and some I give to a friend!

  7. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife July 6, 2011 at 1:39 am

    It feels good to dump shoes and clothes that are ‘old’. I love not having to ‘take pics all the time’ too ;) Your eats look great and yummy!

  8. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 6, 2011 at 2:28 am

    Sounds like a fun weekend! Love your shoe collection. :) I love cleaning out shoes/clothes often; I’m weird! ha.

    Best part of my weekend was seeing some family and getting back into the swing of things at home!

  9. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun July 6, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    I love how everyone’s weekends revolved around family, friends, and chilling.

    That parfait looks especially tasty. And isn’t outlet shopping so dangerous!

  10. Nicole July 7, 2011 at 10:44 am

    The best part of my holiday weekend was definitely catching up with family!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

