Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Fish Tacos

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again.

Jessica is a food genius.  And she’s from Pittsburgh too, so I like her even more. 

I took her oven fried fish sandwich and applied it to strips of tilapia to make fish tacos.

Caution: this dinner was incredibly delicious, but you’ll have to trust me.  The photos are terrible.

I don’t even like salt and vinegar chips, but the way they soften from the egg wash and then crisp up again during the baking process turns into some miraculously delicious breading that is still much healthier than deep fried fish.

image

Also made some homemade guacamole.  I can’t wait to go back to Giant Eagle and get my money back for this insanely over priced avocado.  $2.50 for small avocado loaded with brown spots?  Unacceptable.  I KNOW I should have gone to Aldi instead.

image

My take on a chipolte “mayo”: fat free greek yogurt, hot sauce, paprika, ground red pepper, garlic salt. 

image

Sautéed peppers and onions – not a typical fish taco topping but I love them with all mexican dishes.

image

Quick cabbage slaw with carrots, cider vinegar, salt, and pepper.

image

Topped with jarred pineapple salsa.

image

I ate half the guacamole, 3 tacos, and a lot of vegetarian refried beans.  I had a tummy ache all night and it was worth it!

image

Threw the remaining fish, veggies, and coleslaw on top of some leaf lettuce for lunch today.  Classy container, right?

image

The fiance’ and I had our last marriage class last night – we’re allowed to get married now (yay!).  Only 36 days away!  We spotted this on the way out of class:

image

The bat signal in downtown Pittsburgh!  Batman – The Dark Knight is filming in Pittsburgh starting this week – how cool is that?  Lots of movies have been shot here in the past few years: Adventureland, She’s Outta My League, Love & Other Drugs, The Next Three Days, and Unstoppable.

What movies have recently been filmed in your hometown?

My bridal shower and bachelorette party are both tomorrow!  I’m excited – 36 days until I’m a bride!

15 responses to “Fish Tacos

  1. allieksmith July 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Yay for Pittsburgh and bloggers and Batman being filmed here! Woot woot!

    Your fish tacos and homemade guac sound great!

  2. sprint2thetable July 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Love the chipolte ”mayo” idea! I’ll be using that one at lunch today. :)

  3. Katie July 29, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Hi love! so cool it is being filmed there!!! I miss home!

    I hope you have a fabulous weekend!!! xo

  4. Jenny July 29, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    I am loving that chipotle mayo!

  5. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers July 29, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Yay! Congrats on finishing up your classes. It’s getting close to the big day!

  6. Cait's Plate July 30, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Woohoo! Congrats on finishing up! Those tacos look amazing – I was really craving tacos tonight. I should’ve had them!

  7. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic July 30, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    I love fish tacos! And that chipotle “mayo” sounds delicious!

  8. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 30, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Ahh, I saw Batman signal earlier this week in a picture…pretty cool! We even had to avoid Oakland today because of filming. 36 days is SO soon! Enjoy your parties! :)

  9. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 1, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I hope you had a wonderful time at your bridal shower and bachelorette party! It’s all coming down to the wire now. So exciting!! :)

  10. Life After Swimming August 2, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I am from Pittsburgh, too! I loved seeing Adventureland being filmed at Kennywood…it was like I knew where everything was!

  11. Pingback: Random WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

