Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

WIAW – Snack Style

Party time!

Peas and Crayons

Thanks for all the feedback on yesterday’s pizza post. It was my highest traffic day since starting the blog! The post had very little text, so I guess I need to limit my rambling. I’ll try!

WIAW – random snacky edition. If SnackFace can pull it off, why can’t I? Maybe because her legs are a foot longer than mine. I digress.

Breakfast: Kashi Go Lean & yogurt. Did you all fall asleep yet? It gets more interesting, I promise.

image

Mid morning snack – one of the best plums I’ve had this season. Yum (but only about 5 bites of yum)!

image

Next snack: 1/2 gala apple & simply Jif. Definitely not my favorite, but I can leave it at work at not miss it at home.

image

Lunch: a reheated slice of this beauty.

image

Ran some errands in downtown Pittsburgh and came back with this: curried rice & lentil soup. I was cold in the office today, plus everyone is talking about how the weather’s starting to feel like fall already with the cool nights and early mornings. Delicious, low fat, and vegan (according to Au Bon Pain). They always have a great, varied selection of soup.

image

Drink with lunch: desk-made iced cranberry pomegranate tea. Brew for 5-10 minutes in super hot water than pour over a large glass of ice.

image

You can add more water but I don’t like to dilute it. Delish, but no Starbucks Passion tea.

image

End of work / pre-gym snack: I had to decide between the mini Luna and the new Snackwell’s bars. The mini Luna was 80 calories and the Snackwells 140, and I was pretty hungry, but the white chocolate macadamia won out.

image

After a decent spin class and more wedding errands (it never ends!), I was craving chocolate. No, the avocado photo isn’t a mistake. I wanted chocolate, so I grabbed an avocado.

image

And some of this too. Once you try the “Special Dark”, who can go back to unspecial not dark?

image

And a frozen banana and almond milk. And my magic bullet.

image

And these things too.

image

Not a smoothie, not “banana soft serve”. Definitely savory chocolate mousse. I made it once before, and continue to try to convince people to add avocado to smoothies and other cool treats. Borderline sinful in flavor, packed with protein and healthy fats.

image

image

Somehow this ended up in my hand.

image

And some ended up in the microwave.

image

And it made the Reese’s ice cream shell topping look like a silly joke. This combination was INCREDIBLE.

image

And then I wanted something salty (just as predicted in “The End of Overeating”). But this was not the end of my eating. Check out my super crinkled bag. It shows love, I swear.

image

Any food with a serving size of 2.5 cups is a winner with ME.

image

Other late evening nibbles? Leftover movie popcorn (thanks Dad). A piece of dark chocolate. A peanut butter cookie bite. Then I started making date syrup to make Chelsey’s latest granola recipe. But then I got sleepy, put it in the fridge, and called it a night.

My wedding dress will appreciate that. But I plan to make that granola soon!

Brutally honest posting happening here tonight, people. This post falling pre-WIAW made me aware that I need to improve my meal planning and think ahead to incorporate healthy meals. These are really the same reasons I try to convince my clients that tracking is key for weight management. Today, this didn’t put me over the edge since I didn’t have these snacks in ADDITION to regular meals, and I burned some calories during a workout. But this is definitely not a lifestyle I can follow and keep my weight where I want it to be.

Are you ever shocked when you look back on what you’ve eaten in a day?

19 responses to “WIAW – Snack Style

  1. LizAshlee August 17, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Yes! Absolutely! And it seems that there will be phases where I don’t crave as much food and other times when I crave a lot more and when I reflect, it’s like ‘oh my goodness…time to get back on track.’ I think it all evens out in the wash pretty much! My focus now is being more mindful when I am eating and why I am eating…especially to keep track of snacks at night…it is when I consume the most it seems!

  2. Errign August 17, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Sometimes I am, but I’m usually paying attention throughout the day and just don’t care. Your chocolate avocado pudding looks delicious!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Oo, I need to try White Choco Wonderful heated up and over that mousse! Yummm! :)

  4. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect August 17, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Your avocado “mousse” creation sounds (and looks) amazing!

    I’ve definitely had those days. Sometimes, even when I think that I’m making the better choice with the options at hand it turns out to not be as great as I thought. Most days I do plan though and I keep a bunch of options at work, just in case I need them.

  5. allieksmith August 17, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Cool snackage! I have never tried a whole snack day.. It looks interesting :)

  6. Jenny August 17, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I have never done a whole snack day, must be interesting though. I track my protein so it’s pretty impossible to do unless my snacks all had cottage cheese lol

  7. Alexa @ Simple Eats August 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    That happens to me a lot! I look at what I ate when I was ravenous and I was like, really? I didn’t need that bag o’ M n Ms! When that happens I just try to balance things out and eat more veggies the next day.

  8. Meredith @ food, shoes, and booze August 17, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog :) I’m often surprised when I look back on what I’ve eaten throughout the day. I have some super healthy days and some super-not-so-healthy days! can’t wait to read more!

  9. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life August 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Yes, usually daily!

    That is my all time fav. Lunabar, it reminds me of eating a big cookie and actually always cures my cravings! I’ve also heard that PB is amazing. One of my clients told me to buy it but I ended up buying and throwing away the dark chocolate PB by the same company. I must try the white chocolate!

  10. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 17, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Hi Claire,
    Thank you for being honest and posting and explaining your eats! It’s nice to see this sort of posts on blogs, a breath of fresh air if you will!
    I snack a whole lot too and want to work on planning out meals. I know it has to do with my fear of being hungry or not getting enough…and that is something I am definitely working on!
    I have tried every kind of PB Company nut butter flavor except White Chocolate! Clearly this needs to change :)

  11. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food August 17, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Claire, I so appreciate your honesty re snacking and feeling like it’s not the best combination of eats for you. It is amazing how they can add up. I used to be a total grazer/snacker but have moved toward bigger meals plus a couple snacks for that very reason and for achieving an more balanced diet overall.

    FYI I LOVE that softserve and toppping mmm mmm! :D

  12. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons August 17, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I have these snacky days too. sometimes they’re alone and sometimes they will even top regular meals… which is just a food fest honestly and thank goodness only happens when i’m getting sick and my body is yelling for nutrients! I’m glad WIAW is able to help you reflect to! its a lifesaver for me sometimes! =)

  13. Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice August 18, 2011 at 3:06 am

    I love WIAW! It’s the only day that I consciously take photos of all of my food!

    Your chocolate mouse looks delish!

  14. IHeartVegetables August 18, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Yummm 2.5 cup servings are the best ;) haha Your smoothie + pb looks AMAZING! Who needs reeses when you’ve got white chocolate wonderful?!

  15. Pingback: Leftovers Don’t Have to be Lame « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

