Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

WIA[recently]W

I apologize for not blogging (or reading many blogs) recently.  My brain is filled to capacity with wedding-related thoughts – tasks, questions, worries.  I feel like I’m on overload, to the point where I don’t even want to talk about it any more.  I can barely make any trivial little decisions because we’re already made so many big ones.  I feel like it’s the Friday of finals week in Grad school and all of my exams are going to be one after the other.  It’s funny how the atmosphere of a college town changes during finals – no one washes their hair, everyone mopes around in flip flops and sweats and has a glazed over look on their faces.

I used to LOVE talking about the wedding.  Now I have to not burst into tears or scream whenever someone asks me about it.  I can’t wait to marry my fiance’, I just want these 10 days to go faster and have the day HERE already.

Can any brides relate? Any college students?

Anyway… it’s WIAW!  And of course my wedding heavy brain didn’t remember to photograph everything, but some main meals are here.

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast:  new favorite green smoothie.  Mango, protein powder (super sweet 100-calorie Jillian Michaels brand that I bought because it was cheaper than Designer Whey), oats, chia seeds, almond milk.   And coffee.  Also had a mini peanut butter cookie Lara Bar.

image

Lunch: Barbecue quinoa with a crumbled black bean veggie patty.  So good, and filling!

image

Work snackage: TBHITWW & bell peppers

image

Pre-spin class snack: handful of cashews, small banana, piece of dark chocolate (craving it all day long)

Post-spin/Pre-dinner cocktail: cabernet (wedding planning is stressful, don’t judge!).  Usually a good workout helps reduce my stress but last night I needed a little extra help.

image

Delicious take out salad: salmon, alfalfa sprouts, avocado, roasted red peppers, cucumbers, and cheese courtesy of The Hop House.  So good.

image

Other things that are new (to me) this week:

Blueberry bagel thins (where have these been all my life?!) with reduced fat gouda and egg whites.

image

Best lunch of the week: original tart frozen yogurt with blueberries and walnuts.  Seriously, for lunch.

image

I’ve also been eating my weight in this since I ordered it from Open Sky:

It was a tough choice between that and Kath‘s Cville Crunch, but I love supporting Susan’s cause.  It’s the most cinnamon-y, perfectly sweet and flavorful granola I’ve ever purchased… and it’s still available on Open SkyGo buy some!

What do you do when going to the gym isn’t enough to help you de-stress?

33 responses to “WIA[recently]W

  1. Amanda August 24, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I had that happen to me in July. I suddenly felt SO incredibly overwhelmed that if someone mentioned the wedding that I would feel sick to my stomach and lost my appetite for days. Those quickly went away, and so far *knock on wood* haven’t returned. I’m only a week or two behind you though so I can’t promise what I’ll be like in two-ish weeks.

    Holy crap. I just realized what I typed. Two-ish weeks. :-o

    Don’t worry – everything will work out perfectly and you will have the best day of your life!!

  2. sprint2thetable August 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Did you make a smoothie in a Vitamix and then put it in a Magic Bullet glass??? Love. It.

  3. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen August 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    YES! Frozen yogurt for lunch is NEVER a bad idea. :)

    [Well, OK, we probably shouldn't do that every day or anything...but once in a while? Amazing.]

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) August 24, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    I can SO relate to that. I felt like that actually at the beginning, then once we cut our guest list down, it helped. But when the wedding got really close again, I just wanted it to BE HERE ALREADY. So yeah, I definitely feel ya. Keep your eye on the prize! :)

  5. Katie @ Nutrition in a peanut shell August 24, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Ahhh! I NEED FROZEN YOGURT IN MY LIFE! Yours looks super delicious

  6. Meredith @ food, shoes, and booze August 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    cabernet is the best kind of wine.. no judging here :) I hope it helped to relieve a little stress…. good luck this next week! I’m sure the wedding will be worth all the stress :)

  7. Shanna, like Banana August 24, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I picked up the Warrior Granola at HLS and go the PB. I’m stoked to eat it!

  8. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    It sounds like you need to just stop and breath for a second! Your wedding and the time before it should be enjoyed, not compared to finals! Don’t sweat the small stuff, just stop and appreciate all your blessings and take in everything that’s good. And blueberry bagel thins?!? Haha that’s a blessing.

  9. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters August 24, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    You deserve that wine! Take each day moment by moment and *hopefully* the 10 days will zoom by! I’m totally intrigued by BBQ quinoa! I’ll have to try adding BBQ flavors to my next batch! Also, that salad sounds so good! Annnnd you’re lucky to have blueberry bagel thins! Our grocery stores don’t stock them yet!

  10. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food August 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I’m so sorry that the wedding planning is getting so stressful. I’m sure that so many past brides to be can relate. I was very fortunate to be able to keep the planning itself relatively stress free but that’s bec my hubs took on a lot of the decision making and my mom was fine with whatever we wanted to do. I think that’s a rare scenario!

    I am loving the froyo for lunch! :)

  11. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife August 24, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Yay, wedding is coming up!!! You might have done a post on it already, but what food will you serve? Something scrumptious I’m sure :-)

  12. kate @ pomelo sunshine August 24, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    I’m going to have to check my store for Blueberry Bagel Thins, I’ve never seen them before, yum!

    I felt very distracted before my wedding. Just totally consumed by it. It’s all worth it though, you’ll have an amazing wedding day. There’s nothing like it. Enjoy these last few pre-wedding days!

  13. Jenny August 24, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Loving the fro-yo! And I just like watching tv or browsing online to take the edge off :D

  14. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 24, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Although I can’t relate to the wedding stress, I can about school! Take a break if you need to, getting stressed is never fun :(

  15. Presley August 24, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I know the feeling! Leading up to the wedding I was the most carefree, relaxed bride-to-be. Then it hits you like a ton of bricks. All the “what ifs” and “pick these” and “which ones” really start to drive you crazy. If I had to plan out one more second of our reception for the DJ to make his music list I was going to go batsh*t crazy!

    Luckily, it all works out perfectly in the end. And even if things don’t go as planned, you won’t care because you’ll be having too much fun :)

  16. kristina@beancakes ❤ August 25, 2011 at 12:51 am

    claire ~ can’t wait for the big day for you already!! just breathe and carry on right? i just had me some plain tart original fro-yo the other day ~ it’s my fave!!!
    xx ~ ks

  17. LizAshlee August 25, 2011 at 1:10 am

    Barbecue quinoa sounds SO delicious! What a great idea! Mango green monster sounds right up my alley too! :)

  18. tea-bag August 25, 2011 at 1:38 am

    i totally relate to the mood change when finals are near – it’s like everyone’s energy level drops 100%! i can’t even imagine what it must be like when you have a wedding to plan, too!
    when workouts don’t … work the tension out … i’m all about losing myself in a good book or a long walk. turn the music/podcasts on and just zone out. hopefully you’ll have time to relax, soon!

  19. Little Miss Fitness August 25, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Hang in there, Claire! You’ll be a Mrs. soon!!! :)

    If exercise isn’t enough to de-stress, I get in comfy clothes and hunker down! Sometimes I just need a night of nothing. :)

  20. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 25, 2011 at 2:40 am

    Oh no I am so sorry things are getting so stressful! When I am stressed I usually step away from something for a couple hours or so. When I come back I am usually better able to hand it!

  21. char on a mission August 25, 2011 at 3:21 am

    Just try to remember that in 10 days all these worries won’t matter! And really…they won’t. The stupid stuff I worried about before my wedding (besides writing my speech…that was kinda, sorta important haha) happened the way it was suppose to. Delegate…seriously. I didn’t do enough of this, but people are there waiting to help. Use them!!! I can’t wait til your perfect day arrives for you!

  22. Kris | iheartwellness.com August 25, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Your eats are DA BOMB!!! Hello red…where have you been for the last week of my life?! I miss me a nice glass of wine!!

    I always will jump into a quick meditation or visualization sesh if Im really stressed :)

    xxoo

  23. Pingback: Protein Packed Peach Baked Oats « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

