Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up: Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt

Like I mentioned before, I’m kind of obsessed with pumpkin.  If you’re not, you might want to not read my blog again until January or so, because I have lots of big plans.  Like granola, muffins, cookies, quick breads…

But after trying pumpkin ice cream with my husband, my new mission was lower calorie pumpkin frozen yogurt.

Especially because my husband didn’t want to share his ice cream.  Fine, don’t share your extra calories either.

image

Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt

1 quart low-fat vanilla yogurt (see substitutions below) (32 oz)

1/4 cup sugar-free maple syrup (could use less)

1/4 cup brown sugar (could use less)

1 cup canned pumpkin

1.5 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

(you could also use a combination pumpkin pie spice)

Mix well & freeze according to your ice cream maker’s directions. 

Mine is a cheap-o version that you have to place in the freezer for 8 hours beforehand, so I ended up having to freeze the entire mixture in the freezer, which yields a too-solid icy product. 

For best results, consume straight from ice cream maker, or stir every half hour for three hours until partially frozen and perfect fro-yo consistency. :)

When I ran the nutrition for the specific products I used, I was really surprised by the comparison!

  • At first I was regretting using the low-fat sweetened yogurt (lots of extra sugar calories), but when I replaced that with greek yogurt in the calculation they yielded very similar caloric products – but the protein was much higher in the greek yogurt version. 
  • If using plain yogurt, you might need to add more sweetener and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. 
  • I thought using a vanilla flavored greek yogurt (fat-free) would be even higher in calories than the low-fat, non-greek version – but Vanilla Oikos Greek (0%) seems to be the lowest cal option.

Another surprise – the frozen yogurt product was only 40 calories less than the brand of ice cream that we got at the fair (per half cup serving).  Had I known it then, I would have given in and not made my husband share with me!  Other companies’ ice creams might have very different nutritional profiles.

Approximate nutrition comparison:

I’ll definitely be making the greek vanilla version next time! :)

Happy Thursday all – remember to be thankful today.  I’m thankful for my husband, and the fact that the wedding is behind us and we can look forward to the honeymoon!

7 responses to “Lightened Up: Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt

  1. Shanna, like Banana September 15, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Yummmm….I just tried vanilla Chobani with 2 tbsp pumpkin butter and nilla wafers the other day and it was delicious — it ended up being a really nice size portion for about 200 cals!

  2. Katie September 15, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Yummy! I think you need to make me some of this AND we can top it with lovegrown granola! Ha! <3

  3. sprint2thetable September 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    That sounds fabulous! I’m wayyyy too excited for the return of pumpkin. I’ll have to try that out with greek yogurt after the sweet potato yogurt success. What I realllly want is a GOOD ice cream maker.

  4. The Elegant Eggplant September 15, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    SO excited for tons of pumpkin recipes this fall!!!

  5. Alexa @ Simple Eats September 15, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Yum Yum YUM! I love anything pumpkin, and this yogurt looks delicious!

  6. Shannon September 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Yummy! Loving all the pumpkin recipes all over blogworld! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

