Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Miscellaneous Monday

I am sick.

Allergy attack + sinus infection + common cold sick.

So here are some happy things and a weekend recap.

If you sign up for Au Bon Pain’s eclub, you get a free travel mug.

image

Also got it filled with coffee for free, which I wasn’t expecting!  Not pumpkin spice, but a blend of vanilla and hazelnut.

I haven’t properly said THANK YOU for the box of LOVE from Laura at Love Grown Foods that she sent before my wedding. Unless you live under a rock, I’m sure you’ve either tried or read about this granola – and it is even more delicious than everyone says.  I spread the love by sharing it with family members and the hubby as thank you gifts for helping with wedding tasks.  I am going to start requesting that they sell it at my local stores!  I love the simple ingredient lists, big clusters, and delicious flavor combos.  Thank you again!  Find some love at a store near you.

image

Made white chocolate “Monster Munch” to take to a jewelry party (and subsequently eat the leftovers).  One of the most addictive, sickenly sweet (but perfect) treats I’ve made in a long time.  I originally saw it on Kristin’s blog and knew I’d love it – but didn’t think I’d eat so much of it!

image

Still better than the 300+ calorie white chocolate mochas I used to start my days with in college, right? :)

image

Sunday’s breakfast was a big batch of blueberry pancakes.  The hubby and I killed this platter by ourselves – they’re mini sized, I swear!

image

Living in Pittsburgh means I bleed black and gold, and Steeler games call for munchies!  Along with the remaining Monster Munch, I made a batch of my brother and husband’s favorite game watching food – buffalo chicken dip.  See the mini souffle dish?  Buffalo chick-pea dip for me!

image

The Steelers performed MUCH better this week than they did week 1 (trying to block that out of my mind, thank you very much Holly), and after the game we went to Kennywood

Pittsburgh schools each have their own “Kennywood Day” during the late spring, when the whole district goes on the same day.  Since I started working full-time (and during grad school), I’ve been missing out on these Kennywood picnic days with my family, so I was really excited to get a couple free tickets yesterday.  Amusement parks never get old, even one that I’ve gone to every year since I was a toddler!

[photo credit]

We rode our favorite roller coasters and snacked on some theme park food – the husband even chose a veggie burger so I could have a few bites!

PS – have you all heard about the birth control recall?  Be safe and make sure your brand isn’t on the list!

What random, fun thing did you do this weekend?

16 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday

  1. Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life September 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I honestly can’t think of a random and fun thing I did this weekend. It was a pretty typical weekend of cleaning and errands and then football on Sunday. Glad your Steelers looked better this week, that is more than I can say about my Vikings!

  2. Shanna, like Banana September 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    Aww feel better — it’s no fun to be sick!

    But you did have some good eats over the weekend at least.

  3. sprint2thetable September 19, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Hope you feel better soon! Buffalo chickpea dip sound wonderful!

  4. Melissa September 19, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Yep, need that buffalo chick pea dip recipe!

    I make a white chocolate mix around Christmastime that is 100% addicting, so I can definitely see crushing a batch of that stuff!

    Hope you’re feeling better soon! If it’s crappy and rainy there like it is here, I’m sure that’s not helping!

  5. Amy September 19, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Our Steelers won yippee!!! I so miss Kennywood and those school outings to Kennywood.

  6. Alexa @ Simple Eats September 19, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I need to STILL try Love Grown! I saw Contagion this weekend, it was awesome!

  7. Cait @ Cait hates Cake September 19, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Ugh, I feel your pain – I’m sick too! One fun thing I did this weekend was singing karaoke at a dive bar, lol.

  8. Vegetarian in the City September 19, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    mmm pancakes!

    hope you had a great weekend!

  9. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way September 20, 2011 at 1:01 am

    I am MADLY in love with pancakes…My hubby and I devour a batch of 16-20 small ones almost every week ;)

    Random weekend thing? We started our Christmas village figurine collection…Teehee!

  10. Life After Swimming September 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I used to go to Kennywood like 3 times a summer, but I haven’t gone in two years! It is so depressing…I feel like I am growing up now :(

  11. Pingback: 90 Calorie Pumpkin Muffins « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Pingback: Mourning Monday Morning « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: Big Lots and Big Wins « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Pingback: Lightened Up – Buffalo {Chicken} Chickpea Dip « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

