Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Mile High Meals

Good morning!

I have so many food related things to share with you from my honeymoon, but I’m going to try to space them out with some more recent recipes and “regular” blog content as well.

We booked our flights back in May and spent way more than I had planned, even with two connections (Pittsburgh -> Charlotte -> Munich -> Poznan).  I wasn’t looking forward to the 8+ hour flight over the ocean, but seeing this immediately brightened my mood:

I like to think of myself as quite the frozen yogurt connessour, but I’ve never had the original Pinkberry!  We sampled the peanut butter (AMAZING), but I settled on original with the dark chocolate crispies.  Adam chose watermelon (with watermelon – creative, right?).

Overpriced (like everything else in the airport), but so amazing!  Wish we had one closer to home, but I’m still thrilled with our local Razzy Fresh and Simply Yogurt.

We flew Lufthansa from Charlotte to Munich on our way to Poznan, Poland.  I heard so many good things about this airline and their customer service, but it was impossible to figure out how to request a vegetarian meal online.  With trying to get so many things done before we left, I never took the time to call and figured I’d be stuck with a rubbery chicken breast for our intercontinental dinner.  Luckily, we could choose from chicken or a vegetable pasta.

The tiramisu was the best part of the meal.

Plus all the wine I could drink (or put in my fancy cup holder).

I had never been “of age” on an overseas flight before and was surprised by the unlimited alcohol offerings – definitely had a glass or two to help me catch some sleep! ;)

In the “morning” they served us another light snack:

I munched on the cheese and fruit and kept the granola bar for later.  Overall, Lufthansa’s food and service lived up to our high expectations.

We flew back on Air Canada (Rome -> Munich -> Toronto -> Pittsburgh), which wasn’t quite as nice.  They did have vegetarian options available, unfortunately pasta for a second time (and on the way home I was growing tired of pasta after having it at least once a day in Italy).

Carbs carbs and more carbs… pasta with a roll and potatoes.  Seriously?

The best part of this meal was definitely the cookie – currant, dark chocolate, and oats – and less than 200 calories for a cookie the size of my hand. I only snapped a photo of the wrapper because I wanted to see if I could buy them anywhere state side (or recreate the recipe).

The vegetarian snack near the end of the flight was better than the pasta:  a hot mushroom stroganoff wrap. 

Do you remember the days when you got real food even on short flights?  I remember flying to Charlotte as a child to visit my grandparents, and we’d get a meal even on that 1.5 hour flight.

15 responses to “Mile High Meals

  1. Katie October 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    The mile high meals look amazing! All the wine you can drink, sign me up!

    The tiramisu looks amazing!

    We had a long flight to Hawaii, it was a pain but worth it when we got there!

    Have a great day love!

  2. sprint2thetable October 13, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I wish I’d been on Lufthansa! Air France/Delta food was nearly inedible. Thank god we got the free wine (though it was a let down after Italy!). Welcome home! Can’t wait to hear more!

  3. peaceloveandoats October 13, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I remember thinking it was so weird when they stopped serving food! I was like, mom, where’s my sandwich! Oh how times change…

  4. Lindsey October 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I know! I’m such a nerd–I actually miss airplane food. I like how it was served in those tiny cafeteria-like portions. Now you have to fly across the country (or the world) to get a meal!

  5. Shanna, like Banana October 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Love first class treatment!

    Isn’t that PB Pinkberry so so so good. It’s the best PB fro-yo I’ve ever had. Delish!

  6. loftyappetite October 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    Did you fly the Polish Airline Lot? We had a 45 minute flight and we had a full meal + dessert!! It was the perfect welcome to Poland and their awesome hospitality :)

  7. char on a mission October 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    And the meals actually used to be decent on flights. I remember when I was younger having this chicken caesar salad that was pretty darn good for being inflight. You totally should have stayed in Toronto and we coulda hung out lol.

  8. allieksmith October 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Aww looks like some interesting food! I miss getting pretzels and peanuts!

  9. Pingback: Eating Our Way Through: Poland « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: WIAW – Five Star Italian Breakfast « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: WIAW – Florence (Day One) « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Pingback: What I Ate in Florence (day 2) « Live and Love to Eat

  13. Pingback: Rome, Part 1 « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

