Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Miscellaneous Monday

Friday Things

Anyone else crave soup when it gets cold?  I could eat soup for lunch every day in the fall and winter – but it has to be one with some kind of protein.  New favorite: Au Bon Pain’s Tuscan White Bean.  A medium has 180 calories, 4grams of fat, and 8 grams of protein.  It’s super creamy without any dairy at all.  I need to make finding a recipe for this soup my new mission in life, because $5 is a bit ridiculous.

I came home a did Jillian’s No More Trouble Zones workout and was sore until this morning!  I haven’t done it since before the wedding and my body knew it.

image

Saturday Scenes

Woke up late Saturday morning (my lovely husband thought I should get a chance to sleep in after working the 7-3:30 shift all week), so I didn’t make it to spin class.  Luckily it meant I got to spend the morning shopping with my Mumma, which was a blast –  we both got great deals (of course mine were a bit better).  I’d love to be a personal shopper.  I never pay full price for ANYTHING.

We stopped for lunch at a Chinese place and split pad thai and veggie sushi roll – shitakes, avocado, broccoli, and roasted red peppers – so delicious!

image

When I got home I found my free Sunwarrior sample in the mail.  I was excited to try it since so many people swear by it, but others seem to really dislike it.

image

I blended it in to a pumpkin pie smoothie (which probably masked the taste a little).

image

I agree with the latter group – although I love the ingredient list and benefits of a vegan protein, the texture was just a bit too funky for me – especially for how expensive it is.  I’ll stick with my whey. :)

Saturday evening, the hubby and I did more shopping… I didn’t buy these but thought the store should have just given them to me:

image

I had a hoped for a nice light grilled salmon or a big salad from one of the many restaurants in Robinson, but the wait was so long at most places that we ended up at one of our favorite Mexican joints, filling our bellies with chips, guacamole, and greasy fajita goodness.  Action shot of the hubby:

image

Anyone else get disappointed when the vegetarian fajitas only include peppers, onions, and tomato?  Boo.

image

Steelers Sunday Snacking

Missing spin class Saturday morning was a blessing in disguise because I went Sunday morning instead (typically a rest day) and had the best instructor.  You know, the kind who really pushes you and makes the class go by in what seems like 5 minutes?  She also had the theme song from Halloween and Thriller worked in to the playlist, which made it a blast.  My heart rate monitor said I burned 650 calories in that hour – totally justifying my typical game day overeating.

I sipped a caramel latte a la Mama Pea as I made breakfast.

image

As much as I love my oatmeal during the week, it’s great to take your time and make a nice breakfast on the weekend when you’re not rushing off to work.

image

I made a batch of my buttermilk waffles, using 1 Tbsp vinegar in a cup of almond milk since I didn’t have buttermilk in the fridge.  I resisted the urge to make them pumpkin waffles, and opted for an equally autumn-y apple cinnamon batch, with honeycrisp apples in the batter.

image

The recipe makes 4 waffles, so I’ll have 3 to re-heat later this week.  I ate my first half with cinnamon raisin peanut butter and pumpkin butter.

image

For the second half I warmed the remaining chopped apples in a bit of maple syrup and extra cinnamon.

image

The hubby and I ran some errands and picked up some non-RD friendly snacks for watching the football game (during which the Steelers pounded the Cardinals, or course) – pizza, the new white chocolate candy corn M&Ms, some caramel cashew popcorn, and cheese curls.   I balanced it out with Angela’s Baked Bean Cornbread Casserole.  I had to get pumpkin into my day somehow! ;)

image

I followed the baked bean recipe verbatim, but must admit I cheated and used a boxed mix for the topping.

image

I think I may have baked it too long because the flavor was delicious but it seemed to be dried out.  Definitely a great dish full of fall flavor.

image

Do you equate fall Sundays with football?  We definitely plan our Sunday meals for gametime!

Sunwarrior: love it or hate it?

Blog advice please: is it practical to buy my own domain before self hosting or should I do it all at the same time?

19 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday

  1. sprint2thetable October 24, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Vegetarian fajitas are so disappointing to me. There are so many cool ways you could make them but they just pile on onions and peppers. Sad.

    I didn’t like my Sun Warrior either. I bought a whole bag, which I refuse to waste… the only way I’ve found to tolerate it is with lots of banana and PB – it masks the texture better than any of the other combos I’ve tried.

  2. Katie October 24, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    I love my sunwarrior but its a different taste for sure!

    Oh I am loving the sushi roll! Did you go to bean curd?

    Loving all the pics of yummy stuff!

    Happy Monday love!

  3. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen October 24, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I’ve never tried Sunwarrior…or any other protein powder for that matter (unless you count PB2?)

    I, too, could eat soup every day! I just love love love it :)

  4. Shanna, like Banana October 24, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I haven’t tried sunwarrior. I typically just buy whatever sounds good at the time at TJ’s or Whole Foods…and then promptly forget to use it for several months ;)

    All your recent eats look so YUM!

  5. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats October 24, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Oh gosh, I hope I like sunwarrior! I had to throw out my whey protein because I found out I may be gluten and soy intolerant, and both of those are in it! So far sun warrior is the only one with neither that i’ve found!

  6. Nicole, RD October 24, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    What else usually comes in vegetarian fajitas? It sounds like I would be in the minority, but the peppers and onions are what I love most about fajitas…I should probably just order vegetarian ones if that’s what they include :)

    Re: your blog. I don’t think it matters if you go self-hosted or your own domain first. I did my own domain first and self-hosted about 10 months later. Good luck!

  7. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 24, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    I would buy your domain when you self host. Most hosts will give you a free domain for a year when you sign up. I actually help bloggers make the switch, so let me know if you have questions!

    • Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 25, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      I normally charge around $150 to design it since I would actually design in on Thesis. If you want to do Thesis yourself, I’ll transfer everything over to self hosting and set up your domain for $50 (you are required to pay for hosting though).

  8. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way October 25, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Sundays are football for us. Jeff watches football from 10 AM until 6 PM. I wouldn’t say our snacks revolve around it but Sundays do equal football if that makes any sense.

  9. Pingback: What I — Wednesday « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance October 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    It’s refreshing to hear someone that DOESN’T like Sunwarrior haha. Everyone goes nuts over the stuff! I haven’t tried it myself, but now I know that if I’m not crazy about it, it wont be too big of a deal :)

    As far as the hosting, I say do it both at once! I spent about 2 months total of website twerks because I did them separately, but its definitely something that you might want to consider knocking out at the same time.

  11. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

