Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Planned To Eat But Was Stolen

Go visit Jenn, our hostess at Peas & Crayons for the “What I Ate Wednesday” link party!

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast (at work):

Ugly (but delicious) overnight oats – made from organic Better Oats single serve package.  My favorite is the “Bare” variety, which is described as:

Bare

  • USDA Organic
  • 41 grams of whole grains per serving
  • 200 mg of ALA Omega-3 per serving
  • Organic whole grains: Oats, Barley, Quinoa, Rye, Wheat
  • Organic whole flaxseeds
  • Good source of Fiber

[source]

 image

I pre-cooked them Monday night with cinnamon and protein powder, then stirred in some almond milk and cinnamon raisin PB before reheating.  I love the chewy texture and flavor of these oats.  Has anyone else tried their products?

One of my coworkers brought in a huge bag of her kids’ Halloween candy.  I grabbed a bag of mini pretzels to much with peanut butter as a midmorning snack.

image

I had to help her out by grabbing an Almond Joy, too! ;)

image

Lunch:

Leftover pizza that I made during the football game Sunday.  I also brought in some Kiwi Berries that I mentioned last week.

image

image

When I went to grab them out of the communal fridge in the lunch room, they were gone!  I’ve had someone steal my baby carrots from the work fridge before (I figured that was an easy mistake because so many people bring them in), but I was really mad about the berries!  They were the last of my stash, expensive, and whoever took them took my Tupperware container too!

Pre-workout Snack:

Leftover “fries” from the Iowa Girl Eats recipe. 

image

I also had half a banana and a handful of cashews.  I went to a 6:45 spin class that really challenged me – I love when the really tough instructors show up!

Dinner:

The hubby and I shared a late, light dinner of some brown rice sushi. 

image

I thought there would be leftovers for my lunch today, but no such luck! 

Dessert:

One of the older ladies in my parents’ neighborhood makes homemade candy apples and chocolates every year for Halloween.  She told us once that she starts making them in August (and freezes them)!  Growing up, it was always the house you had to visit first – the line was long and you had to make sure you got your candy apple before she ran out!

This year, she saved a few for my family, even though my brother and I are too old to trick-or-treat.  I enjoyed a slice after our sushi.

image

Have you ever had someone steal your food?  Any fun Halloween traditions in your family?

21 responses to “What I Planned To Eat But Was Stolen

  1. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table November 2, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    People are shameless with the office fridge! I got really mad when someone took my Amy’s lasagna – those are expensive!

    That’s so sweet that she saved you a candied apple. Love those old neighbors and childhood traditions.

  2. foodsweatandbeers November 2, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Once upon a time (a time called college) I had someone in my (co-ed) fraternity house steal an entire container, unopened, of deli turkey. The rage in the house was palpable. The culprit was never found.

  3. ThE DiVa DiSh November 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Oh no! Only lame people steal lunches! :( everything else you ate tho looked delicious!

  4. char on a mission November 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I would be SO mad if someone stole from me too – especially food (and tupperware because let’s be honest, tupperware is awesome). I would have been on the prowl looking for your berries! Is your office big?!? I don’t get where people get their manners from!

  5. allieksmith November 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    YES! My dad stelas my food constantly haha! I have to label things in the kitchen… and he still doesn’t listen most of the time!

  6. emily (a nutritionist eats) November 2, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Oh no!!! Aren’t people afraid they will get caught? It isn’t like everyone has kiwi berries…Never even heard of them, did you get to try them?

  7. Melissa November 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    That is SO rude! I hate office stealers! My old boss used to steal our food out of the fridge. I think he thought everything in the fridge was his or something.

    So sweet about your neighbor with the candy apples. I love people like that. :)

  8. peaceloveandoats November 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    I cannot believe someone stole your food! Especially in your own tupperware and such a random food, there’s no way they didn’t know! I had a roommate once who took one of my Kashi meals (aka not cheap), I approached her about it and she said she thought it was hers… she’d never even tried them before. She said she’d buy me a new one and came back with a lean cuisine… Never got over that.

  9. Tessa @ Amazing Asset November 2, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Not going to lie, I would be sooo irate if someone took my food… especially expensive stuff like that! On that note, kiwi berries are rather amazing :)

  10. Alexa @ Simple Eats November 2, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Ah I can’t believe someone stole your food! I’ve been lucky enough to never have anyone do that, but I would be so upset if someone did!

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 2, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    Where did you buy the Better Oats? I need to check these out!

  12. teabagginit November 3, 2011 at 4:14 am

    i put my name on everything now! i hate it when people steal food – it’s so rude because you’re at work and it’s not like you can just run out to get more!
    buuuut, i hate it even more when people leave their food to rot in the fridge at work! that is disgusting!

  13. Liz @ Southern Charm November 3, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    YES! I hate when people steal my food. I mean sometimes it’s toast or some fruit, but I bring my lunch everyday and it happens all the time. Lame.

    My office manager and I now hide our food. Gotta do, what you gotta do :)

  14. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) November 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I’m not a fan of people stealing my food..
    YUM! Pretyles and PB make an awesome snack! :D

  15. Pingback: Veggies All Day Long « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

