Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Pumpkin Ricotta Pancakes (Low Fat)

I’m sorry it took so long to share these with you.  I’ve really been holding out.

Packed with whole grains, fiber, and protein (17 grams), these are an amazing weekend breakfast – and very rewarding after a tough morning workout.

I had leftover ricotta from making this creamy roasted red pepper pasta and these lemon ricotta muffins – but these are good enough to keep ricotta cheese on hand all the time.  I bet thinned out or whipped cream cheese would work here, too.

image

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oat flour (or other flour)
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • pinch allspice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • stevia, to taste (I used 5 drops vanilla)
  • almond milk (as needed)
  • 2 Tbsp lite ricotta cheese (I used Micelli)
  1. Whisk together dry ingredients, and separately combine egg whites and pumpkin until well mixed.
  2. Add egg white and pumpkin mixture to dry ingredients, stirring just until combined – add almond milk (or other milk) as needed to thin batter to desired consistency.
  3. Scoop batter onto greased, heated griddle (I made 4 small pancakes).
  4. Immediately drop ricotta by 1/2 teaspoons on to top side of the cakes.  Cover with extra pancake batter (if desired).  Do not flip until you see bubbles forming – and only flip once for best results!

image

image

 Approximate nutrition facts (entire recipe, no toppings): 300 calories, 4 grams of fat, 48 grams carbs, 17 grams protein(!)

Perfectly light and fluffy – the melted ricotta makes these a great balance of sweet and savory! 

image

Pancakes are pretty much my definition of a weekend breakfast. 

By the way – Aldi still has pumpkin for 99 cents a can!  I think I need to buy another case to make sure I make it to November!

11 responses to “Pumpkin Ricotta Pancakes (Low Fat)

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance January 31, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Can I just say that I LOVE that you’re still using pumpkin? It truly never goes out of season :D

  2. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 31, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Those sound amazing! Some of the best pancakes I have ever had were from a small, restaurant in Columbus, OH called Northstar Cafe. The pancakes were made with ricotta too and they were absolutely moist, fluffy and light. Yours look just as great, and now I have a recipe! :-)

  3. sprint2thetable January 31, 2012 at 9:43 am

    I love how fluffy ricotta pancakes are. And you know I’m love anything pumpkin! I made some lemon ricotta ones on Christmas morning and topped them with a blueberry compote. They pair well with mimosas, FYI. ;)

  4. peaceloveandoats January 31, 2012 at 10:21 am

    those look so fluffy and delicious!!! Again, I need to try this whole ricotta in baked goods thing.

  5. honeywhatscooking January 31, 2012 at 11:48 am

    yum, these look so healthy and delicious. I recently made lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry topping, and that was light and delish. pumpkin sounds fantastic.. definitely has enough fiber and antioxidants. :-) nice job!

  6. Julia January 31, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Wow. These look amazing. My mouth is watering.

  7. totesmyoats January 31, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    I love pumpkin pancakes! Through ricotta into the mix and oh my gosh!

  8. claire @ the realistic nutritionist January 31, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    I’ve honestly never thought to use ricotta in a pancake, what a great idea!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 31, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    Yes please! I have a soft spot for ricotta cheese ;)

  10. Gina @ Running to the Kitchen January 31, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    I don’t think there could BE a better combination than this in pancakes! Pumpkin knows no season in my house and ricotta is always delicious :) Love how they’re so packed with protein too.

  11. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish February 1, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Mmm, these look delicious! I love adding pumpkin and cottage cheese, which is very similar to ricotta, to pancakes! It makes them so moist, you don’t need any butter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

