Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Second Round WIAW

As I put together my weekly “day of eats” post, I realized almost everything was already mentioned on the blog – these foods were so delicious I just had to have them twice. ;)

Breakfast - 8 am, at work: Laura’s zucchini bread oats (I added too much liquid!)

image

Ugly but delicious and healthy!

Lunch - 12 pm, at work (recycled photos): Broccoli and cauliflower soup [original recipe here], and 2 crustless quiche cups (the second batch), and a banana with peanut butter

image

PM snack – blueberries, greek yogurt, and almond meal (new favorite thanks to Aubrey)

image

Workout – 4.6 mile run with no ankle pain!  I had to get out and enjoy the crazy 58 degree weather we had yesterday.

Dinner – 7:30 pm, at home: I was seriously craving a caprese panini but didn’t feel like going to Panera.  My husband and I went to the grocery store and bought the necessary items to make them at home instead.

We also had my favorite roasted red pepper/tomato soup on the side (the cheap Aldi version).

image

Dessert - More than one of these cookies [Gina's recipe here], and some of Mama Pea’s chocolate chips cookies (de-veganized) for my husband (I made them for him Monday night after he had a rough day).

image

image

I was in a hurry while baking the cookies and melted the margarine in the microwave (I know, I know…) which in turn melted the mini chocolate chips once I stirred them in.  They ended up with a pretty swirled design, but less concentrated chocolate flavor.

Do you like leftovers or prefer to eat things only once? I’m frugal (read: cheap) and don’t like to waste food (especially delicious food), so I’m fine to eat the same thing a few days in a row!

17 responses to “Second Round WIAW

  1. Newly Wife Healthy Life February 1, 2012 at 9:17 am

    I am like you! I could seriously make two meals a week and eat the leftovers until they’re gone. I too can’t stand wasting food, something I definitely learned while growing up. When I am not able to eat it all the meal it is put in the freezer for a quick meal for another time!
    Your sandwich looks delicious! I love melted mozzarella and fresh tomato! Yum!

  2. Melissa February 1, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I always try to make just enough for one meal because I get bored with leftovers. :) Love the looks of your panini!

    And YAY for the run with no pain! So happy for you!!!

  3. simplynutritiouskate February 1, 2012 at 9:55 am

    YUM tomato soup is one of my FAVORITE things, I havent made it in sooo long, & I think I need to get back on the WIAW bandwagon I miss it :)

  4. Chelcie's Food Files February 1, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I love leftovers! Because I hate wasting food!

  5. sprint2thetable February 1, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Sorry your oats were too runny! Hope they were still tasty. :)

    Love the idea of a homemade caprese pannini! I may have to do that tonight.

  6. peaceloveandoats February 1, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    I’m not a fan of leftovers… I really have to force myself to eat them. I prefer making things fresh!

  7. Britne @ Shabbott's Habits February 1, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    I loooooove leftovers, especially on salad. I love to take leftover protein or veggies from dinner and throw it on some green for lunch the next day. It mixes up the mundane salad and uses up all of that extra food too!

  8. caloricandcrazy February 1, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    that homemade panini looks better than a restaurant panini. prob. tastes better too!
    and those zucchini bread oats sound delish! I must try! :)

  9. totesmyoats February 2, 2012 at 12:54 am

    Left overs are the only way I can cook at college! I would be wasting food by making something new every single night!

  10. Pingback: Thinking About It Thursday « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash Caprese « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

