Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Spaghetti Squash Caprese

image

Sure, you could make this with real spaghetti.  But when spaghetti squash is so delicious and low in calories, why would you?

I had a spaghetti squash that I bought almost a week ago, plus remaining ingredients from my paninis earlier in the week.

image

The squash cooks in the microwave for the same amount of time it takes to boil the noodles.  And there’s no pasta pot to clean!

image

I added sautéed spinach, chopped roma tomatoes, and pesto, then warmed it all together in a skillet (this is only half the squash).

image

If I still had ricotta I would have used that instead, but I substituted with cottage cheese – the protein and creaminess was perfect.

image

High quality parmesan balanced out the cream cheese.

image

The resulting mixture was placed back in the squash rind, topped with buffalo mozzarella (and a bit more pesto), then thrown into a hot oven for a few minutes.

image

Spaghetti Squash Caprese

  • 1 spaghetti squash, cored and roasted (or microwaved)
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp + 2 tsp pesto, divided
  • 2 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (or ricotta)
  • 2 oz buffalo mozzarella, thinly sliced
  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Shred squash, using a fork – save the rind.
  3. In a large skillet, lightly sauté spinach until wilted; stir in tomatoes.
  4. Add shredded squash & 2 Tbsp pesto to spinach mixture.  Toss to coat evenly.
  5. Remove from heat and stir in parmesan and basil.
  6. Carefully re-stuff the rinds with the squash mixture.
  7. Evenly distribue mozzarella slices on top of each half, then drizzle with remaining 2 tsp of pesto.
  8. Place directly on oven rack for 10-15 minutes, until cheese is melted.
Serves 4 (as a side).  Approximate nutrition (per serving): 160 calories, 12 grams carbs, 9 grams fat, 9 grams protein
I’m already looking forward to have leftovers for lunch today.

image

PS – Thank you so much for all of your opinions and advice on deciding whether or not to run the half marathon.  I’ll keep you posted. <3

What is your favorite way to eat spaghetti squash?  Feel free to link a recipe!

9 responses to “Spaghetti Squash Caprese

  1. Newly Wife Healthy Life February 3, 2012 at 8:24 am

    Yum! I love fresh mozzarella and basil! Love this combination!

  2. sprint2thetable February 3, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Cottage cheese is such a great idea! I’ll have to remember that – I rarely have ricotta on hand, but you can bet my fridge is stock is cottage cheese. You’ve tried it in oatmeal, right? That’s my go-to.

  3. Anna's Adventures in Health February 3, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Yum! This looks so good and a new twist for spaghetti squash…I will definitely be recreating!

  4. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries February 3, 2012 at 10:35 am

    great idea to use cottage cheese for some added protein with spaghetti squash… i have some leftover that i need to use up and couldn’t decide how i wanted to eat it, so this post was perfect for a new idea! i love spaghetti squash with some marinara sauce and turkey meatballs… simple yet delicious!

  5. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats February 3, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    That looks so delicious!!! I love using spaghetti squash as a pasta substitute!

  6. honeywhatscooking February 3, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Looks so good.. I never have tried Spaghetti Squash, will have to give it a try.

  7. fitpeanut February 4, 2012 at 5:06 am

    This recipe is a fantastic idea !! Once I’ll be in my new place, I’ll try this for sure !!

  8. Vanessa February 5, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    1st time reader and um hooked! I so want to make that. Can’t wait to look back and read all your old posts.:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

