Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Veggies All Day Long

I love Jenn’s idea of focusing on veggies this month – and I absolutely did yesterday! Peas and CrayonsBreakfast #1: Lightened Up Shamrock ShakeVeggie count: 1 (spinach)

image

Breakfast #2: A packet of Better Oats “Raw” (my favorite of all oatmeals), an organic pear, and coffee.

image

Lunch: 1/2 package of Trader Joe’s brown rice California Roll. 

Veggie count: 2! (carrot/cucumber)

image

Anyone else obsessive over the perfect balance of ginger and wasabi on each piece of sushi?

image

Lunch, part 2: Plain Chobani yogurt & frozen berries (unfrozen after being the fridge all day)

image

Midafternoon Snack: Baby carrots and hummus

Veggie count: 3 or 4 – if you count the beans in the hummus! ;)

image

Dinner, out: Grilled portabella salad

Veggie count: 5-10!  Portabella, cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, onions, mixed greens

Dessert, at home: Microwave pumpkin cake + green grapes

Veggie count: 10/11 (since it’s technically a fruit ;))!

image

What was your veggie count yesterday? 

I’ll admit my veggie intake was unusually high!  I had about 4 servings of fruit, too.  How’d I do, Jenn?!

17 responses to “Veggies All Day Long

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance February 8, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Dang girl! Look at all those veggies loaded into that dinner ;)

    I think my veg. count was probably around 5-6 servings. For some reason it was a cereal kind of day haha

  2. Newly Wife Healthy Life February 8, 2012 at 9:07 am

    That’s a very veggie day! :-) Yesterday I had spinach in my morning smoothie, roasted broccoli, cauliflower and potatoes in my lunch, and Brussels sprouts at dinner! Spinach already today in another green smoothie!

  3. Melissa February 8, 2012 at 9:20 am

    So fun! Nice work! I have been lacking in the veggie department lately! I need to remedy that ASAP! Cauliflower crust pizza with mushrooms and spinach tonight, I think! Should do the trick! :)

  4. sprint2thetable February 8, 2012 at 9:20 am

    That’s a killer veggie day! I was eating all fruits and veggies anyway for my cleanse, so this was the perfect WIAW for me. But really, I eat a TON of veggies anyway. YUM!

  5. KatsHealthCorner February 8, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Wow, what a beautiful day’s eats — you did such a beautiful job with all of your vegetables! :)

  6. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries February 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

    strong work on your veggies! ;) and how did you make your microwave pumpkin cake? sounds yummy!

  7. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats February 8, 2012 at 10:38 am

    I keep meaning to try that brown rice sushi! It looks so delicious!

  8. Michelle February 8, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Wow, what an amazing veggie count! I try my best to “sneak in” veggies in my meals, especially since I’m the main cook in the house and my husband isn’t the biggest veggie fan. This morning I managed to get some spinach in my smoothie so hopefully the trend will continue on throughout the day!

  9. honeywhatscooking February 8, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    My veggie count was a salad from a Mediterranean place… so it had cucumber, red pepper, green pepper, mint, parsley (do those count)?
    I also had cauliflower and potatoes at night.
    i need to eat more veggies.
    i love hummus!

  10. Stephanie February 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I got in 6 servings yesterday! I am working on adding more today. I do love veggies, but I rather have a bowl of cereal for a snack than carrots and hummus. Maybe my taste buds will change. :)

  11. Becca @ Blueberry Smiles February 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Trader’s has great sushi. I only had 4 servings of veggies- def not enough.

  12. Bailee Morris February 8, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    I definitely obsess over the sushi condiments.

  13. Chelcie's Food Files February 8, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    I have never tried veggie sushi from trader joes but it sounds delicious! sounds like you had quite the veggie filled day!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate February 8, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    I have no idea what my veggie count was but I think it was low. LOL.

  15. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 9, 2012 at 7:16 am

    My veggie count was actually really low compared to normal so you did the best for both of us. :) It all looks so good to me though! :)

  16. teabagginit February 13, 2012 at 12:10 am

    i think you should count the garlic in that hummus, too! :) that shamrock shake looks great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

