Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Don’t Fear the Lima Bean!

Lima beans can be delicious!  Even as a dietitian I still have some food phobias, and lima beans were right up there with brussels sprouts.  But I’ve discovered that once you learn to prepare them well, they can be delicious!  However, others aren’t so easily swayed.  My father saw that I purchased frozen lima beans he exclaimed, “What is WRONG with you?”

I recently saw a recipe for Brown Rice & Mushroom Pilaf on Wayfaring Chocolate.  It called for broad beans, which I couldn’t find, and dried porcini mushrooms, which I was too cheap to purchase at the overpriced Market District store near the gym.  I also added some ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon stick.  The original recipe is available here.  My version:

Brown Rice, Mushroom, and Lima Bean Pilaf

1 package dried soup blend mushrooms

1 quart vegetable stock, heated

1.5 cups cooked lima beans (I used frozen, cooked in microwave)

3 Tbsp margarine

1/2 large onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 pint baby bella mushrooms, chopped

1 1/2 cups Minute Brown Rice (really reduced cooking time)

2 bay leaves

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese

1. Place the diredmushrooms in a small bowl and add 1/4 cup of the hot stock. Soak for ten minutes, then roughly chop the porcini, reserving the soaking liquid.  Cook the lima beans, and remove skins if desired. Set aside.

2. Heat the margarine in a large saucepan over medium heat, then add the onion and garlic and cook for five minutes until onion is soft. Add the baby bella mushrooms and cook, stirring, for another five minutes until the mushroom have softened.

3. Stir in the rice, bay leaves, and cinnamon. Add the soup mushrooms with the reserved soaking liquid and the rest of the stock. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 10 mins or until the stock is almost completely absorbed.

4. Remove the bay leaves and cinnamon, turn off the heat and stir in the lima beans and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes to warm through.  Add parmesan cheese and serve.

image

The parmesan cheese was my own addition and really added another layer of flavor.  The recipe was surprisingly simple to make and will probably yield about 4-5 servings.  I had this for lunch yesterday and it was incredibly satisfying and kept me full all afternoon (but I ate about 1.5 cups).  I was a little surprised by the high calorie content, but the fact that it is about 3 servings of whole grains made it okay in my mind.

Approximate nutrition (per 1 cup serving): 380 calories, 10g fat, 58g carbs, 13 g protein

One response to “Don’t Fear the Lima Bean!

  1. Hannah March 10, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Claire, I’m so delighted that you tried and enjoyed this recipe! I love your addition of parmesan, so I’ll definitely have to try that next time. I don’t think I’ve ever seen lima beans (except for canned) here in Australia, though. Sad-face!

    (P.S. In regards to the expensiveness of the dried porcini… I totally stole a bag of them from my parents’ pantry instead of buying them myself 😉 )

Leave a Reply

