Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Twist on Tuna Salad

On my mission to stay added-sugar-free during the 40 days and 40 nights of Lent, I even had to amend my go-to tuna salad recipe.  Instead of sweet relish and fat free Miracle Whip to add tanginess, I had to make some substitutions.

Being a fish-eating vegetarian (pescetarian?), tuna is a great protein source that’s easy to take on the go.  I started with two drained cans of chunk light tuna from Aldi.  I added 1/4 cup chopped celery, 1/4 cup chopped roasted red pepper, 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 cup shredded low fat cheddar, and 2 Tbsp Fit & Active reduced fat mayo.  The mayo has no sugar but fat free MW does – go figure!  It turned out surprisingly tasty and has been my lunch two days in a row at work.

I ate it along with Aldi Fit & Active Thin Wheat Crackers.  I am a big fan of the store’s prices and their Fit & Active line!  You get 16 stamp-sized crackers for 130 calories.  image

How do you make your tuna salad?

Happy Wednesday!

C

Leave a Reply

