Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Power foods

After work yesterday I was greeted by a huge box from Vitacost.com, where I recently ordered some products that I don’t have access too in my usual grocery store.  Of course I also had to spend $50 to get a free tote bag!  Some were blog world inspired (chia seeds, which are popping up everywhere, and garbanzo bean flour, which I’m dying to try with this recipe), and some were basics – two hearty Bob’s Red Mill cereal mixes (I think 5 and 10 grain), vanilla protein powder (no added sugar of course), chocolate protein powder (gotta save it till after Lent) and nutritional yeast, which I’ve seen in a lot of recipes but never tried.  I don’t know why but I was expecting a small jar of nutritional yeast — and check out how huge it is!  Please share some recipes! =)

image

I subscribe to an e-mail blast called “SmartBrief for Nutritionists” on my work e-mail account; it keeps me up to date on any news in the nutrition world and links to a bunch of different stories.  Each day they feature a recipe and I came across this one, originally from SparkRecipes,  a few days ago. 

The reviews of the recipe were (mostly) all positive, and gave a lot of interesting suggestions to expand upon the basic idea.  By the time I was done reading the comments I had about 10 variations in my head that I wanted to try… but I ended up sticking with the basics.

In my mini-food processor (a prize from Dave & Busters, how sweet/nerdy is that?!):

1/2 cup almonds, rinsed

1/2 cup rasins

image

The recipe suggests adding cinnamon at this step too; I however took someone’s suggestion of rolling the resulting balls in oats to make the texture less sticky, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to my oats.

I snapped a picture before throwing them in the fridge & running to work (but of course munched one first).  My half recipe batch yielded 8 teaspoon sized balls.  image

After Lent I can’t wait to add some PB & chocolate chips to the mix!  Let me know of any awesome combinations that you come up with.

Happy Friday!

xox

C

6 responses to “Power foods

  1. Toni March 18, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Happy Friday!

    I just came across your blog and wanted to stop in to say hello! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 20, 2011 at 4:17 am

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog the other day 🙂

    That’s quite the loot you got!! I love nutritional yeast and will be posting some recipes shortly that incorporate it.

  3. Pingback: Weekend Eats « Live and Love to Eat

  4. Pingback: Roasted Eggplant Spread « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

