Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend Eats

Happy Monday everyone!  Hope you had a nice relaxing weekend.  Mine involved working my second job, a few (disappointing) spin classes, and lots of eating!

I met up with a friend from highschool a new local vegan restaurant called “Loving Hut“.  It is all Asian-inspired vegan cuising with more fake meats than I’ve ever tried before.   We ordered a summer roll appetizer that included “vegan ham”, which I barely tasted.  They were packed with veggies and super fresh.

image

For my entree’ I ordered the Deluxe Vegetables and brown rice.  From the picture they looked like they were covered in sauce but I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of sauce.  They were a bit oily (obviously stirfriend), but still delicious.  It contained both seitan and tofu along with a bunch of different veggies.

image

It was a great volumetric meal and I felt like I was entitled to eat a lot since the portion was huge.  I brought home about 1/3 of it and it will be my lunch today.  I can’t wait to go back and try some of the other menu items. 

Ever since I saw the recipe for a cauliflower- based pizza crust on Biochemista (originally inspired by Julie) I’ve been excited to try it.  I originally planned to follow the recipe exactly, but I ended up using whole wheat flour isntead of my recently purchased garbanzo bean flour (I’m being stingy with it).  That might have been a mistake because the crust just didn’t crisp up as much as I’d hoped.  I’m worried the cauliflower may have been to wet or there was not enough flour… definitely going to experienment with that one again.

Here’s the crust after the baking step (pre-broiling).  It did smell and taste delicious!

image

My assembled pizza, with sauce, cheese, sauteed onions, mushrooms, and spinach:

image

The flavors were great but the crust just didn’t hold up… I might go sauce-less next time to decrease the moisture.  It ended up being more of a polenta-type texture than a crust, but still yummy.  Has anyone else tried this type of recipe?

Have a great week!

xox

C

One response to “Weekend Eats

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 22, 2011 at 2:32 am

    Wow your eats look awesome! I haven’t attempted a crust like that before so I look forward to seeing your next attempt!!!

Leave a Reply

