Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Garbanzo Bean Flour… Test Number One!

So I have to give Lauren @ Bichemista a lot of credit… the first time I stumbled upon her blog I wrote down at least 4 garbanzo bean flour recipes and ordered a bag from Vitacost.com.  I really love her blog (especially the name… I studied Biochem as an undergrad in college) and was excited to try this pancake recipe that she said yielded the perfect pancake consistency.

Slightly adapted recipe (I didn’t have blueberries or stevia or bananas!):

1/2 cup GB flour

2 egg whites

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 packet Splenda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

handful (~1/2 cup) frozen mixed berries

I was so hungry and excited to make these guys after my early morning spin class that I didn’t snap any preparation pictures.  The batter was a perfect-pancake consistency, but using the mixed berries made the pancakes odd shapes – the frozen blackberries in my particular bag were HUGE and just didn’t lay flat on the griddle.  I’m okay with food not being gorgeous as long as it tastes good.  The recipe gave me 5 babysized cakes:

image

Sticking with my Lenten sacrifice of avoiding added sugar (my lite pancake syrup is full of HFCS), I added some cinnamon to 0% Fage to dip my pancakes in.

 image

As promised, the texture was very close to a buttermilk-style pancake.  The flavor was a bit off… I might use less applesauce and add some yogurt or  milk next time, and definitely a touch more sweetener.  I may also try a pinch of baking powder to make them a bit more fluffy… but that’s just personal preference.

image

Overall I’m happy with the way they turned out and can’t wait to try these a second time.  Definitely a great protein-packed recipe!

Approximate nutrition (with 1/3 cup yogurt dip): 340 calories, 4 g fat, 52 g carbs, 25 g protein

My kitchen has been smelling like a funeral home recently due to this BEAUTIFUL bouquet from my fiance’.  The flowers have all opened and may be reaching their peak so I had to share a quick photo.  =)  Love this man!

image

In reading over this post I noticed that all of my pictures are saturated with tones of pink.  Sorry to anyone who hates that color, my post is almost obnoxiously pink today!

Does anyone else have any GB flour recipes I can play with? =)

Off to update my About Me page… I have to find some decent photos to include.  Have a great Wednesday.

xox

C

6 responses to “Garbanzo Bean Flour… Test Number One!

  1. The Teenage Taste March 23, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Those pancakes look wonderful! I have yet to hop onto the garbanzo bean flour bandwagon, but I probably will soon. You should try making socca (flatbread made with garbanzo bean flour). CleanTeenKelsey has a good recipe: http://cleanteenkelsey.com/2011/03/10/socca-monster/

    Have a great day! 🙂

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 25, 2011 at 6:03 am

    Those looks so good! I think I am going to have to try this out on one of our Pancake saturdays!

    Do you ever make your own gb flour?

  3. lizeckel March 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    omg lady! i just posted a recipe for garbanzo flour battered cauliflower this morning! garbanzo flour must be hot this season!

    http://eatthecookie.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/garbanzo-breaded-cauliflower-with-romesco/

    your pancakes look great!

  4. Katerina March 28, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Those pancakes would be excellent for a good strong breakfast! Beautiful blog!

  5. mitzi song March 29, 2011 at 7:34 am

    wow garbanzo bean flour – never had it before! at least that i know of =)
    the pancakes look super fluffy though!

Leave a Reply

