Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Enchiladas Verdes

Okay.  So I’m not a great chef.  I have more disappointments in the kitchen (like the cauliflower pizza crust) than successes.

But today, I’m going to brag.  I made some enchiladas verdes that not only met my expectations but really really surprised me — they were excellent, and healthy!  I’ve seen these on menus in Mexican restaurants and never had the guts to try the green sauce before.  But when I came across a recipe in a Weight Watchers magazine in a “cheese lovers” section (and I’m a Mexican lover too), I had to try it.   I added in mushrooms, cottage cheese, and used fresh spinach instead of frozen.  Here’s the original recipe, and here is my adapted version.

Ingredients:

16 corn tortillas (6 inch)

1 red onion

1/2 Tbsp garlic powder

5 cups fresh spinach

1 lb mushrooms

1/4 lb tofu (soft if possible)

1/4 c low fat sour cream

1/4 c 1% cottage cheese

1 1/4 c reduced fat cheddar (I used Cabot 50% white cheddar)

1 c salsa verde

1)   Preheat oven to 375.  Chop the red onions and mushrooms.  Sautee’ with garlic powder until softened, about 7-9 minutes.  Remove from heat.

2) Add in spinach, a handful at a time, and stir until wilted.  The heat from the onion and mushroom mixture will be enough to wilt the spinach.

image

image

3) Combine tofu, cottage cheese, and sour cream in a blender or food processor.  I used my Magic Bullet (super easy clean-up).

image

4) After spinach has wilted, add in pureed tofu mixture and stir to combine.  Add in 3/4 cup grated cheese.

image

5) Assembly: quickly warm each tortilla in a hot skillet to make them more pliable.  Add 1/4 cup filling and roll tightly.  Place in baking dish seam-side down.  I had to use a second because I only got 10 in my first casserole dish.

image

6) Drizzle with 1/2 cup enchilada sauce and top with remaining cheese.  Cover with foil and bake 20-25 minutes.

image

I chose to bake 20 minutes, then uncovered and changed the oven to broil to get the cheese to begin to brown.

7) Top with remaining enchilada sauce and enjoy!

image

Serving size = 2 enchiladas. 

Approximate nutrition: 210 calories, 5 g fat, 28g carbs, 12g protein (also 40% DV for Vitamin A and 11% DV Iron)

image

image

Here is the jarred salsa I used.  The originial recipe (linked above) includes ingredients to make the sauce homemade.

image

I am in love with this recipe.  I might add some jalapenos or hot sauce to the mix next time to up the spice, but its still delicious as prepared. 

If you ever try any recipe from my blog, make it this one!  Have an excellent Tuesday!

11 responses to “Enchiladas Verdes

  1. Shanna, like Banana March 29, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Yummmm…Mexi food is my absolute fave. I made some pumpkin enchiladas that rocked my world!

  2. Megan Evans March 29, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I have been craving Mexican food! What a great way to top your delicious meal. Thanks for using our cheddar!

    -Megan

  3. Jenny March 29, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Yumm!! These look delicious!! I can’t wait to try them!

  4. Merut March 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I love salsa verde! Probably better than normal salsa. These enchiladas look so good, and I’m glad you were successful.

  5. Alyssa March 29, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    GOSH, those look good!!

    and man, I have yet to try a spin class. I’m switching gyms, though, and may try a 5:30 a.m. one! eeeek!

    • clairetherd March 30, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      I debated about trying spin for weeks, but once I finally did I just LOVED it. I felt like I was going to die the first few classes, but every instructor is different and you have the ability to make any of the drills easier or harder. With the fun music and class atmosphere the time goes by so quickly, and I burn an average of 450 calories a class! Let me know how it goes. =)

  6. Sara March 29, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Hey! I’m glad that you liked my post, and thanks for the insight about the RD internship – I’m really excited about it 😀 Also, those enchiladas look SO good – I ALWAYS crave Mexican. And pizza. On that note, you should totally make an enchilada pizza 😉

  7. Pingback: Low Cal Vegan Queso « Live and Love to Eat

  8. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

  9. Pingback: Enchilada Style Stuffed Peppers « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

