Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

A Whipped Oat Revelation

So I’ve always loved oatmeal.  And I’ve been reading about the whipped-banana-oats blogging fad for a while now.

So why did it take me oh so long to try it out?!

I made my first batch Sunday morning and the fiance’ and I both loved it.  I made them again Monday, yesterday, and today.  Yesterday’s batch was the best by FAR.

image

In my recipe:

1/3 cup quick cooking oats (because I’m always running late)

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup milk (I like thinner oats)

– Once simmering on the stove, I added the following:

1/2 banana, sliced super-duper thin

1 Tbsp toasted slivered almonds (plus 3 slivers for garnish, untoasted… but the toasting really enhances the flavor)

1 Tbsp zante currants

– I removed them from the heat and stirred in:

1 scoop Designer Whey French Vanilla protein powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

Oh my, so delicious.  I think I should give credit for the original idea to Kath, but please correct me if I’m wrong!  And thank you all for the inspiration – whipped oats are a revelation!

Enjoyed alongside a homemade sugar free vanilla latte, which I made by microwaving my milk for 30 seconds, frothing it in the Magic Bullet, and mixing with some leftover really strong coffee.

A perfect start to my day.  Any other whipped oat fans out there?

5 responses to “A Whipped Oat Revelation

  1. Sara March 31, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    AHHH your first time trying banana whipped oats?! I’m SO glad you did – it’s like a breakfast revelation! I tried it a year ago and I’ve never looked back…oatmeal just isn’t the same any other way! Unless you’re adding to the banana oats, like pumpkin, nut butter, etc.

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 1, 2011 at 3:10 am

    LOVE whipped oats! The banana chunks are like little marshmallows…I give all the credit to Kath for sure…I always used to cut my bananas into my oatmeal after cooking…Never DURING. Love it!

  3. Rodzilla April 1, 2011 at 4:35 am

    These sound great, but I hate taking the time to do oats on the stove top. I’m usually an overnight or microwave type myself. I think I’ll see if I can hack it in the microwave first.

  4. Allison @ Running With Mascara April 1, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I love whipped oats, too! I’ve only had them once, but I think it’s been my favorite batch of oatmeal by far! There’s something magical about adding that banana while cooking!

Leave a Reply

