Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Trying New Things

I started off my April by trying two new food ideas that I got from the healthy blog world last week: chia seed “pudding” & green monster smoothies.  Chia seeds were a recent purchase that I hadn’t even opened yet and I’ve always been a fruit & yogurt only kinda girl when it came to smoothies.

Friday night my fiance’ and I had a fabulous date night complete with sushi (we shared 4 different rolls: a Fuji roll, sweet potato roll, Mexican roll, and spicy California roll from Saga in Robinson), drinks, and “Limitless”.  Unfortunately we shopped around before heading into the movie and had to sit in the very front row!  I was excited to see that Johnny Whitworth from “Empire Records” in the film — it was one of my favorites back in highschool.

After date night, I threw together my over-night Chia mixture and stuck it in the fridge.  I used half a container of Yoplait greek yogurt with some water  instead of milk (hoping it would make it more creamy); maybe that was my big mistake?  I started with 3 Tbsp seeds, the yogurt, water, 1 Tbsp Hershey’s Dark cocoa powder, 1 Splenda, 2 Tbsp of PB2 (instead of peanut flour) and 1/2 a banana, very thinly chopped. 

image

I’ve enjoyed so many other blog-inspired recipes that I was looking forward to digging in before work on Saturday morning.  After completing level 3 on the 30 Day Shred DVD, I was ready for some grub.

image

Unfortunately the texture just was NOT for me.  Maybe I varied too much from the other recipes that I’ve spotted.  Any suggestions, Chia lovers?

Approximate nutrition: 350 calories, 13 grams fat (the healthy kind!), 30g carbs, 16g protein

After working at my dad’s restaurant on Saturday, I was pretty hungry and craving some nutrition – the bites of food that I sneak here and there at the diner (read: potato chips and 1/2 an extra pancake) were not typical for me.  I had some spinach threatening to go bad in my hydrator, so it was good timing for my first green monster smoothie.

In my Magic Bullet cup: 1/2 frozen banana, 5 frozen strawberries, 1 cup spinach leaves (not even baby spinach), 1 scoop Designer Whey, 1 scoop chocolate Green Superfood.  I added enough milk just to cover the fruit (probably about 6 ounces).

image

It yielded a surprisingly delicious UGLY green smoothie:

image

I made another identical smoothie yesterday.  Great to satisfy a sweet treat craving and sneak in some extra nutrients!

Approximate nutrition: 230 calories, 1 g fat, 31 g carbohydrate, 26 g protein

Sorry about the poor picture quality – I am in the market for a new camera!  What other new things should I try this month?

4 responses to “Trying New Things

  1. Shanna, like Banana April 4, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    There are so many good things that come out of the blog-o-sphere! Have you done overnight oats yet? I actally prefer my oats hot so I’m not a huge fan, but still good.

  2. S☀S April 4, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I’ve never seen a beautiful green monster, but all is forgiven as soon as you give them a taste – they’re always so yummy!
    Kath’s egg white and oatmeal pancakes were the first blogosphere recipe I ever tried and they’re still a favorite today.

  3. Pingback: Random WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

