Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Socca Success

 I’ve seen socca around on a few blogs and recipe websites and have been planning to try out another application for my garbanzo bean flour.  Even though so many of the recipes looked awesome, I glanced at a few and tried to find the simplest one.  I ended up combining (for one flatbread):

1/3 cup GB flour

1/3 cup water

1 tsp EVOO

pinch of dried rosemary, basil, and oregano

pinch sea salt

image

Several recipes used cast iron skillets, so I heated up one of my fajita pans (the only cast iron I have), figuring it is also oven-safe.

image

Although it’s recommended to let the batter rest for at least half an hour, I was starving after a long run at the gym and poured it on to the skillet after letting it preheat for about 5 minutes.

image

It began to cook pretty quickly.  I let it cook on the stovetop for about 3 minutes before throwing it under the broiler (on high) for about 5 more minutes (until it got dark brown around the edges).

image

While the broiler was cooking the top, I sauteed some spinach and garlic powder, turned off the heat and added three chopped Campari tomatoes (they were INCREDIBLY delicious even on their own) for my take on a caprese flatbread (nevermind the fact that I was not in a sauce-making mood).

image

Two chopped low fat mozzerella string cheeses were my other quick idea (wasn’t in the mood for shredding).

image

After pulling the crispy brown socca from the oven, I flipped it over (to help melt the cheese), and topped it with my warmed tomato, spinach, and chopped cheese.

image

image

I was really impressed with the sturdy texture that held up to the weight of my habitual over-topping:

image

After the first delicious bite I remembered to add the balsamic:

image

It was so delicious and satisfying and only took about 20 minutes to prepare (and even a shorter amount of time to eat!). 

Approximate nutrition: 350 calories, 14 g fat, 32 g carbohydrate, 23 g protein

Craving sweets (and having given up sugar for lent) – I borrowed Julie’s idea and threw a few frozen banana pieces, sugar free vanilla syrup, Designer Whey protein powder, 1/2 teaspoon of melted butter (actually Land o Lakes light butter) and a tiny bit of milk into my small magic bullet cup.

image

I think the minimal amount of milk was really key to getting the right texture:

image

It yeilded an almost perfect soft serve ice cream consistency with strong vanilla (limited banana) flavor.  Made my taste buds very happy!

image

Mmm, perfectly frozen and melted at the same time….

image

Approximate nutrition: 170 calories, 2 g fat, 28g carbs, 13 g protein

Know what else is hard to beat?  The feeling of fresh, clean, warm sheets on your bed when you’re exhausted.  Unfortunately, Bella feels the same way.  She always beats me to the punch right after I change my sheets!

image

Happy Tuesday everyone!  Hoping that you’ll share some more advanced socca recipes now that I have my first attempt under my belt.

xox

C

11 responses to “Socca Success

  1. peasandcrayons April 5, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    I’ve seen a ton of bloggers use the C.I. skillet for their socca too — I keep forgetting that I want to buy one when i’m at the store! eep!

    good to know it’s still delish without resting first! I have been dying to make this! =)

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  2. Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing April 5, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Yum yum! Looks delicious with those gorgeous tomatoes! 🙂 Thanks for the shout out. Keep a lookout on my blog for more socca ideas… I just ate one of them for lunch, hehe…!

  3. loftyappetite April 5, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    You mention in your other post about learning about new foods from bloggers and wanting to try them. Green monster is one of my favorites that I am now addicted to, but socca has gotta be the next thing on my “to try” list! Never heard of it til now (you are the second blog I’ve seen it on and now I am officially inspired to try it. It sounds delicious!

  4. Shanna, like Banana April 5, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Ooo impressive! And yum!

    I need to make both very very soon I think 😉

  5. Jenny April 6, 2011 at 1:43 am

    Clean sheets on the bed are the best!!!!

  6. emily (a nutritionist eats) April 6, 2011 at 1:50 am

    LOVE clean sheets!
    I still haven’t made socca! Need to get on that asap!

  7. Presley April 6, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I love anything with tomatoes and spinach! Those look incredible!

  8. cbrady3 April 6, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Awesome socca making tutorial. I’m dying to try it!

  9. Pingback: Pizza Party « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: Pesto and Shrimp Socca Pizza « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

