Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Guacamole Is a Terrible Thing to Waste

Anyone remember the anti-drug commercials that used the line “A mind is a terrible thing to waste?”.  Or maybe it was a commercial for staying in school.  Or a motivational quote by Einstein.

Whatever it was, that’s the way I feel about guacamole. 

To prevent my package of guacamole from going to waste, I had to find a use for it other than tortilla chips.  Enter my favorite veggie burger – black bean burgers.

My magic bullet has been getting quite a workout lately!  I threw a rinsed can of black beans and a few jalapeno slices into the cup.  This took a lot of blending and scraping since there was minimal moisture involved.

image

Then I sauteed some veggies that I had on hand:

1/4 cup chopped red pepper

4 green onions, white and green parts, chopped

2 cloves of garlic

1 cup spinach

image

I let these cool and combined them with the beans, 1 egg white, and 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour (to hold everything together).  For seasoning I added a bit of Worcestershire, soy sauce, chili powder, onion powder, and cumin.   Then I heated 1 Tbsp olive oil in a large skillet and shaped the mixture into 4 patties.

image

I cooked the patties for 7-8 minutes per side, covered, to make sure they got heated all the way through.  These could also be baked.

image

One of these burgers on a corn tortilla, with shredded Mexican blend cheese and of course my beloved guac made a fantastic weeknight dinner.

image

image

And they made an appearance at lunch the next day as well (see the guac starting to get old and dark… so sad!). 

image

These were made with no measuring because I was starving and just threw them together, so no nutrition facts this time.  I think they illustrate the versatility of beans and a quick fix meal just from what’s hiding in the ‘fridge and pantry.

Have a great night!

xox

C

3 responses to “Guacamole Is a Terrible Thing to Waste

  1. Katie~ Run for the Bikini! April 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Your food always looks amazing 🙂 And I didn’t realized black bean burgers were so easy to make, I definitely have to try this!

  2. nevernotdreaming April 7, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I love avocado…I can eat a whole one every day 🙂

  3. Alexis @ There She Goes April 7, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    what a good idea to use up leftover guac! too bad i never have any leftover guac 🙂

Leave a Reply

