Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Day Of Extremes

As I blogged yesterday, I was off to meet my Dad for a pre-opening day lunch.  I had to run from one end of the city to the other, and he had this waiting for me:

image

Captain & diet at 12 noon on a Thursday?  Hey, it was Daddy’s idea!  I had of course scoped out the SixPenn menu before heading to lunch, so I knew I wanted to try their veggie burger.  I really had to twist my Dad’s arm to split their homemade onion rings with me as an appetizer.

image

Don’t let the photo deceive you – that’s at least a 10inch mountain of delicious deep-fried goodness right there.  With homemade BBQ.  Mmm-hmm.  The veggie burger wasn’t as good as I was hoping for from the description: “Ultimate Veggie Burger, Red Pepper Hummus, Feta, Mediterranean Compote”

image

The delicious grilled wheat bread and hummus on the bottom slice kind of stole the show from the dried out patty, which seemed to be composed mostly of quinoa and white beans.  I’m still not a real big fan of olives, but they at least lended some moisture to the overall experience.  Good, but not drool-worthy overall.  SixPenn is still one of my favorite spots on that end of the ‘burg.

After some nice conversation and a stroll across the Roberto Clemente Bridge, Dad and I enjoyed a (mediocre) baseball game in amazing weather for the first time this season.

image

If you’re not from Pittsburgh you might not understand how amazing 65 degrees and partly cloudy can feel.  Earlier this week we were in the thirties and it’s dark and rainy today, so the Pirates got really lucky to have their home opener yesterday.

image

My tummy is not used to such high-fat meals or to drinking at 12pm, so I wasn’t feeling so hot after that lunch.  Somehow I pushed myself to get to spin class last night (I really wasn’t feeling it) and ended up getting a fantastic workout from my favorite instructor who is only there once a week.  After leaving the gym I stopped for some grab & go Sushi.

My beloved (read: bane of my existence) Giant Eagle Market District has upped the portions of their sushi (and therefore the price as well).  Who can (read: should) eat a 16 piece roll?

image

I portioned out 7 pieces of the sushi, steamed some edamame, and whipped up a few sauces.  The first was just a wasabi soy sauce mix for dipping the sushi, and the other was an OJ/soy sauce/chili oil mixture suggested on the bag of the edamame package.   The fresh, simple food hit the spot after my greasy lunch!

image

I also did a quick arm workout with free weights once I got home, and felt like I needed a bit more protein than just the edamame, so I whipped up a little green monster.  In the cup: 1 cup spinach, 1/4 cup Fage’, 1/4 cup skim, 1/2 scoop designer whey vanilla, 1/2 frozen banana.

image

With no chocolate Superfood powder or berries, I ended up with a BRIGHT green monster that was on the thin side, but still satisfying.

image

It almost looks like a shamrock shake!

I probably won’t be blogging again until Monday, so have a fantastic weekend everyone!

xox

C

7 responses to “Day Of Extremes

  1. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 8, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Have a great weekend doll! the veggie burger is making me jealous =)

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 8, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Haha oh Pittsburgh…65 is really nice! The burger looks great… sorry it didn’t make you feel too great. Hope the game was fun! Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  3. Sara April 9, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Sounds like a fun day 🙂 And I love baseball games on a nice day, especially with those yummy frozen lemonade cups…if only they weren’t five dollars a pop!

  4. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 9, 2011 at 5:39 am

    It’s amazing how our bodies react to high fat foods when we don’t usually eat them…Congrats on pushing yourself to the gym…That’s more than I would do in that situation!

  5. allieksmith April 9, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Ahh Market District. Love. Love. Love it. Their sushi is so spot on!!!
    Glad you at least enjoyed the awesome weather even if we did lose! LOL 🙂

  6. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking April 10, 2011 at 1:45 am

    Those onion rings look awesome! Sounds like you had a Wonderfully Blessed day!

  7. Presley April 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Nothing wrong with drinkin’ with the pops… at any time of day! Looks like you had an awesome day 🙂

Leave a Reply

