Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Carrot Cake “Cookie”

Carrot cake has been one of my favorite desserts since I was a kid. Maybe because it involved vegetables and I knew that I’d end up being a dietitian. Unfortunately, it was probably more related to the cream cheese icing and sugary carrot shaped fondant decorations.

Katie had an excellent post yesterday on a carrot cake inspired breakfast, and I was so happy with the result of my breakfast cookie experience that I figured I’d experiment a little.

So at 11:30 last night, a star was born… and then placed in the fridge overnight.

image

In the bowl:
1/3 cup quick oats

1 Tbsp steel cut oats

1/2 scoop french vanilla Designer Whey

1.5 tsp almond butter

1 prune, chopped

1 small carrot, shredded (about 1/3 cup)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

3 Tbsp milk

I know there are a lot of ingredients listed above, but I was really trying to capture the flavor of carrot cake.  The addition of the finely shredded carrots really added to the moisture during the mushing stage, and the texture this morning was perfect with the limited amount of milk that I added.

I popped the cookie out of the bowl, into the microwave for 30 seconds, and topped it with some Fage 0% and a sprinkle of cinnamon (I can never have too much).  Carrot cake cookie heaven.

image

image

image

Approximate nutrition: 305 calories, 8g fat, 38 g carbohydrate, 22 g protein

The only change I’ll make next time?  Definitely some cream cheese in the topping.

Need breakfast cookie 101?  Check out Fitnessista.

Happy Thursday!

xo

C

11 responses to “Carrot Cake “Cookie”

  1. allieksmith April 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Yuuum, I have been hearing about some breakfast cookies in the blog world lately! Carrot cake has always been my favorite as well!!! 🙂

  2. Jenny April 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Breakfast cookies are amazing. Love the carrot infusion you added. I have mine in the fridge waiting! 😀 can’t wait

  3. Katie April 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    I am loving the carrot cake yum!! Breakfast cookies are the best!

    Have a great day!!

  4. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I’m a sucker for anything and EVERYYYYYTHING carrot cake! =) this looks awesome!

  5. megpinkgiggles April 14, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I really need to jump on the breakfast cookie bandwagon! this looks amazing

  6. beyondbananas April 14, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Yum! Yes, there are a lot of ingredients, but most of them are kitchen staples… so it is not like you have to do much more than open up your pantry/fridge door!

    I will certainly be trying this one soon!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Love breakfast cookies, and carrot cake! I need to try this one. Your plates are beautiful! 🙂

  8. chocolate katie April 30, 2011 at 12:33 am

    aww thanks for the shout out :). carrot cake forever!! and i still need to try breakfast cookies!
    mucho love to you!

  9. Pingback: Hot Yoga at Home and WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

