Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

A Taste of Tuesday

My day in eats:

Breakfast: sammich – whole grain sandwich thin, two egg whites, Munster cheese, and spinach

image

Lunch: one of the few frozen meals that tastes great and keeps me full – the only nutritional concern I have with it is the sodium… but once in a while doesn’t hurt!

image

And it actually looks like the box!

image

Dinner: I was inspired by Heather’s genius recipe (from a few weeks ago) for sweet potato “nachos” with black beans and goat cheese.  When it came time to make dinner I didn’t have the recipe in front of me, so I just winged it! 

I sliced the sweet potato as thin as possible and tossed it in 1.5 Tbsp olive oil, cayenne, chili powder, cinnamon & salt.

image

Spread in a thin layer, they went into the oven at 400 degrees (convection) for about 25 minutes.  While I ran upstairs to do a strength training workout on exercisetv.tv.

image

25 minutes was a little bit too long because some of my “chips” got a little too crispy.  About 90% of them were edible though!

image

I had high hopes of whipping up some good carmelized onions and homemade black bean dip for my chips, but instead ended up taking the easy way out; I microwaved a black bean Boca burger and added some goat cheese…. the combination turned out to be phenomenal!  Thanks for the idea, Heather!

image

I usually jump on the bandwagon with blogging food trends, but I have yet to be impressed with the chia pudding concept.  I wanted a light dessert so I thought I’d give it one more try last night. 

I combined 4 teaspoons chia seeds, 1 tsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, 1 tsp french vanilla sugar free syrup & 5 oz coconut milk and stuck it in the fridge for 2 hours.  Before chillin’:

image

All chilled out – still not my thing.  I ate about half of it then left the rest to add to my oats for this morning!

image

With just 1/4 cup of quick oats and half of my remaining “pudding”, I made the base for this morning’s breakfast.  It had the consistency of the breakfast cookie.

image

It ended up forming the perfect crust for my leftover apple strawberry crisp.  This breakfast was full of nutrients and the different flavors actually meshed very well.

image

Approximate nutrition (1 bowl): 315 calories, 7g fat, 40 g carbs, 12g protein

I think it will be my submission for Lauren’s Show Me Your Bowl Contest.

FYI – this is by no means everything I ate yesterday.  I had at least a serving of Trader Joe’s white cheddar corn puffs, a banana, apple, and orange (throughout the day), and carrots and hummus while I was making my dinner.  These were just my main courses!

What did you eat yesterday?  Join the party!

Peas and Crayons

Happy hump day!

xo

C

15 responses to “A Taste of Tuesday

  1. beyondbananas April 20, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Love sweet potatoes! Mine always end up a little to crisp though!

    I want to jump on the chia seed bandwagon with the pudding as well! Just need to get me some chia seeds!

    Have a great day!

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 20, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    I’ve actually never had chia seeds, but the pudding kind of freaks me out. I have texture issues, lol. Are they good in oatmeal though? I think that might be okay because there are other textures going on as well!

  3. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 20, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    sooo hungry…. must… have… egg… sandwich! bahh I have zero eggies in my house! So jealous! Your eats look fantastic! Esp those sweet potato slices! ❤

    Happy WIAW Claire!

  4. Angie @ Eating-Made-Easy April 20, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    The breakfast sandwich looks sooo good! Glad I found a fellow fan of Munster cheese!

  5. Alexis @ There She Goes April 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    hmm, i just bought chia seeds and i can see myself having the same issues with the pudding haha

  6. Shanna, like Banana April 20, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I ate an awesome mix of chickpeas, zuchinni, carrots, and red onions simmered in marinara and topped with shredded Italian cheese. It’s for my lunch today too 😉

  7. Jenny April 20, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Happy WIAW! I’m not one for frozen meal but that bowl from Amy’s looks delicious! And I want that apple crisp 😀

  8. Heather April 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    So glad you liked the nachos! I have to say, the goat cheese is my favorite part 🙂

  9. Nicolette @ Momnivore's Dilemma April 21, 2011 at 1:25 am

    Try your chips in a food dehydrator…the “raw” component is healthier too!

    Saw you over at WIAW!

  10. simplynutritiouskate April 21, 2011 at 3:15 am

    I have been on a major sweet potato kick lately they are seriously amazing!

  11. Pingback: Lighten Up – Black Bean Goat Cheese Quesadillas « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

