Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

How do you read blogs?

I want to know…

I just started using Google Reader to organize the insane amount of blogs I now follow, but it’s not comment friendly… and I like to comment.

However, using the “Read My Subscriptions” feature on WordPress can take forever to load and isn’t the friendliest way to navigate.  My favorite blogs I check first thing by navigating straight to their pages, but I like to peruse my other subscriptions throughout the day.

So what’s your blog-reading strategy?

16 responses to “How do you read blogs?

  1. Lisa (I'm an Okie) April 21, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I definitely use Google Reader! It’s the only way! Also, the Next button is google reader is a LIFESAVER!

    Google it and it will help make google reader be so much easier!

  2. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I have google reader AND will just open up alllll the blogs i want to comment on in ‘a new tab’ so some I just read and some I get chatty with =) it works for me. I hope google reader adapts to commenting someday though!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    I use Google Reader, and right now it’s out of control! I’ve definitely added too many, and I’m sure it’s still less than lots of others’. I need to go through and only keep the ones I really love! I usually go through, and open the ones I want to comment on in a new tab or new window.

  4. Presley April 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Let me know when you figure it out! I spend half my time on the internet opening and closing tabs trying to figure out where I am and where I need to go to comment… :/

  5. indecisiveathlete April 21, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    I haven’t even figured our google reader yet. I just go thru my subscriptions or go straight to my favorite sites…I guess I should attempt to become more organized with this?

  6. char April 21, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    I literally read this as I was thinking it…I’ve just been opening the ones from google reader when I want to comment…like yours! I was actually wondering how the heck you keep up with so many blogs. I swear I’ve started following at least 10 new ones in the last week…is it only me, or is it really hard to find time to read all these different blogs?!

  7. Alexa @ SimpleEats April 22, 2011 at 1:43 am

    I’m probably the last person you should ask…I go through my blog roll page and my comments. I’m too lazy to get Google reader haha

  8. simplynutritiouskate April 22, 2011 at 2:47 am

    I need to learn how to use google reader I just check blogs whenever I have time throughout the day super time consuming!

  9. Heather April 22, 2011 at 3:02 am

    I understand the comment issue on Reader. I always end up clicking on the title to make comments, very annoying!

  10. The Teenage Taste April 22, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I tried Google Reader and wasn’t a fan. Now I just have a folder called “Blogs” and bookmark all my favorite blogs into the folder. That way, when I am reading, I just scroll down the line.

  11. Shanna, like Banana April 22, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I started Google Reader a few months ago…I agree that it’s not comment friendly but I’m making it work.

  12. loftyappetite April 22, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    I use google reader on my desktop, and open up blogs when I want to comment. But on my phone, I love the bloglovin app its so much convenient and faster than the google reader app. So I tend to use that more when i’m on the go and not at home all weekend or something. it does get overwhelming with catching up and using too many ways of tracking what you’ve read and haven’t read! But I def like the idea of having them all in one spot the way google reader does it, without jumping all over too many different websites.

  13. beyondbananas April 25, 2011 at 1:02 am

    I definitely have the same problem as you. I wish google reader would enable commenting right from the site. However, everything always looks different when you open the actual blog..which is pleasing to the eyes!

Leave a Reply

