Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Speedy Delivery

Yesterday wasn’t my best day.  I finally understand the quote about working out because you can.  Two weeks ago I was struggling to get up the motivation to get the gym (even though I always enjoyed it once I got there), and now I feel like I’m becoming depressed from the absence of good cardio.

My day improved dramatically when I saw a box marked “Love Street Living Foods” waiting for me when I got home from work.  I ordered it less than a week ago!  The box had about 4 layers of tape on it and big warning labels reading, “DO NOT IRRADIATE – ORGANIC FOOD”.  I felt like I was getting some top secret package – but instead it contained samples of various Artisana nut butters and coconut oils that I had requested from Love Street Living (similar to the ones Clare got).  I felt bad only paying for shipping for these yummy samples, so I also purchased a bag of organic coconut flakes (since I have a hard time finding any that are unsweetened in my lame local grocery store).  The small jars are only about 2 inches tall – so cute!  I will review them as I sample them. 

image

Since stayed up late (read: fell asleep on the couch) watching the Penguins in double overtime last night, I didn’t make overnight oats or a breakfast cookie for this morning.  I gave myself some extra time and whipped up a new oat recipe – I’ll call it Cocoa-coconut Whipped Banana Oats.  There were so many ingredients involved: oats, Designer Whey protein powder, a banana, chocolate Green Superfood, coconut milk, organic coconut flakes, vanilla extract, and macadamia nut butter (and extra coconut on top).  Such a delicious combination! 

image

Backtracking… I had nothing in the house to make for dinner and really didn’t feel like going grocery shopping when my ankle was so sore.  Luckily I had some fresh herbs, crushed tomatoes, goat cheese, and half a jar of artichoke hearts.  Socca pizza to the rescue!

image

Socca pizza is definitely one of my go-to dinners these days.  It only took about 15 minutes to make, has a decent nutrient profile thanks to the garbanzo bean flour, and there are so many topping options!

I’m really excited to attend a “Water for Elephants” movie premiere tonight with my mom.  We got tickets for a pre-movie cocktail reception then we get to attend the screening.  The book was such a great read and the previews look really promising.  Happy Thursday!

xox

C

9 responses to “Speedy Delivery

  1. Katie April 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Awwwwwwww don’t beat yourself up over no gym, you will get the time to go , don’t stress girl!

    That package would of made me HAPPY too! Yum!

    And I still have not read that book but want to!!

  2. Jenny April 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I got the same package in the mail and I have no clue what to do with my coconut butter 😦 I’m guessing an oatmeal topper would be a good idea. Have fun tonight, hope the movie is good! 😀

  3. Shanna, like Banana April 21, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I wanted to like Water for Elephants, but I thought the book didn’t *sound* good so I never read it. But the movie *does* look quite good! Maybe this will be a rare time when I see a movie without reading the book first…

  4. kristina@beancakes April 21, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    nothing like a package delivery to cheer you right up! that pizza looks divine!

  5. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife April 21, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I really liked the Water for Elephants book too! You’ll have to let us know how the movie was. Have fun!

  6. char April 21, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    I totally want to receive some samples…those all look amazing. I can relate to feeling bad…I woulda bought something also haha

  7. Pingback: Generosity « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

