Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Water For Elephants, Popcorn For Dinner

 Last night my mother and I attended the local premiere of “Water For Elephants” hosted by LivingSocial (a company similar to Groupon).  I got the e-mail offer last week and it included a pre-screening cocktail and appetizer party, the movie ticket, and a $10 Amazon gift certificate (to buy the book).  I quickly purchased two of the deals and told my mom we were going on a date!

She had read the book a few years ago and I just finished it last month, and we both found the story really captivating.  In short, it’s about a boy who finds himself working for a circus during the depression.  The author described the animals and characters in such great detail that I found it hard to put down.

We didn’t really know what to expect for the cocktail and appetizer party, but when we pulled into parking lot we saw that they had constructed a big top with a red carpet!  Actually, it was a modest little white tent, but still…

image

When we got inside they gave us wristbands and TWO drink tickets!  We headed over to the bar and got our drinks (red wine for me, beer for mom), then checked out the food.  I wasn’t expecting much, but they had four different hot appetizers (meatballs, quiche, stuffed mushrooms, and spicy chicken) and some cold flatbread.  I assumed that the mushrooms were stuffed with crab, but it turned out to be sausage, and the quiche had ham in it… leaving me pretty hungry!  But my mom enjoyed the food and the caterers did a nice job.

image
Wine in a plastic cup is still wine!

The pre-screening party started at 6:30 and the movie was supposed to start at 8.  The one glass of wine was about all I could tolerate on a nearly empty stomach so we used our second tickets for bottles of water.  After purchasing popcorn (which ended up being my dinner), we headed in around 7:15 and got the perfect seats – halfway up, in the middle of the aisle.  Eventually the entire theatre was full and the movie finally started.

Without giving away too much, we agreed that they made a great adaptation of the book.  The most important parts of the story were included, although not all exactly as they happened in the novel, and the cinematography was beautiful.  I wasn’t too excited about Robert Pattinson (I’m not a Twilight fan, don’t kill me), but he played the role of Jacob really well, and Reese was a surprisingly convincing Marlena.  Overall, I recommend reading the book, but the movie was definitely well done and worth seeing!

image
Mismash breakfast

After my lack of real food last night, I threw some oats in the fridge before going to bed: 1/4 cup quick oats, 1 Tbsp steel-cut oats, 1/2 scoop protein powder, 1 Tbsp chia seeds, and 3/4 cup of coconut milk.  This morning it didn’t look too appealing, so I threw the mix into my Magic Bullet with half a frozen banana, a handful of spinach, a bit of sugar-free vanilla syrup and some more milk.  It turned into something between oats and smoothie – similar to the smoothie bowls that Kath and Julie have been enjoying.  The texture was uneven (I don’t use xanthan gum to thicken them) with chewy bits of oats, but it was definitely satisfying.  I wanted something warm to go with my smoothie, so I popped a piece of my favorite bread into the toaster and smeared with some almond butter. 

image

Ugliest smoothie award, anyone?

Happy Earth day!  Take your reusable mug to Starbucks or Caribou today for free coffee!  Happy Easter to those who celebrate!

Check out Anne’s Stoneyfield giveaway!

See ya Monday!
xox

C

25 responses to “Water For Elephants, Popcorn For Dinner

  1. Sara April 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I am SO excited to see Water for Elephants!!! I thought the book was really good and I’m interested to see if Rob Pattinson can pull it off – I’m a fan of him as a person, but I want to know if he can really act or not! Also, Christoph Waltz should be AMAZING! I love the dough smoothies as well – thick and creamy 😀

  2. Katie April 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    I really need to download the book on my kindle, and I will probably just see the movie when it comes out on dvd ; )

    So fun though how they had a little party, very cool! I am glad to hear the movie was good! I love Reese!

    I was not loving Bebe’s stuff for a long time, but now they have cute stuff again!!

    happy Earth Day !

  3. Lisa (I'm an Okie) April 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    What a fun night out! I feel like I may be the only one who didnt really like that much that much.

  4. The Teenage Taste April 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    That looks like such a fun night! I’ve been dying to see Water For Elephants!

  5. movesnmunchies April 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    what a fun night! I never knew they came out with a movie for that boook!!… i must get on this!

  6. Jenny April 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    What a fun night! Apparently this movie seems to be really good, I gotta watch it or maybe read the book first lol 🙂

  7. allieksmith April 22, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Not a Twilight fan?! Ahhh mannnn 😦 Hahah, I am so excited to see the movie and glad you liked it! I REALLY want to read the book first 🙂

  8. Can You Stay for Dinner April 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Such a fun time! I’d like to see it because I did read the book, but something about Robert Pattinson rubs me the wrong way. I need to get over that 🙂

  9. Sheena@inbetweenruns.com April 22, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I’m super excited to see that movie! I had a hard time picturing Reese as Marlena as I was reading it. That always happens to me. I have to avoid seeing who’s in a movie so that I can picture my own character 🙂

  10. indecisiveathlete April 22, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I have heard so much about this book/movie it will def be the next book I read. And its so awesome you got to go to the premier showing for it!!

  11. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 22, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    That sounds like such a fun event! I haven’t read the book, but I keep hearing how good the movie was. I never read Twilight, but I hear really mixed reviews, so you’re probably not too far off! The movies are decent. 🙂

  12. rdexposed April 22, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Thanks for the movie review! I can’t resist a Reese movie!

  13. beyondbananas April 23, 2011 at 1:44 am

    What a fun event! I seriously have 4 books that I am halfway through right now.. and can’t seem to find the time to finish them. I definitely want to see this movie…but think it is soo necessary to read the book first.. so it looks like I will be waiting for the DVD like Katie.

    Love how you were able to turn your overnight oats into a yummy smoothie..way to think quick on your feet!!

  14. The Candid RD April 23, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Oh how fun! I have never been to a local movie premier. With a red carpet and all?! Very neat. And the apps sounded very “Foodie” ish 🙂
    I’m glad you enjoyed the movie! Reece (is that how she spells it??) Witherspoon was on Ellen yesterday and she made me want to go see the movie, although I’ve never read the book.

  15. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 23, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Rpatt is not my fave either — I couldn’t get into the twilight movies. The books were entertaining though. Until I got bored of them and stopped 1/2 through =) haha i’m awful!

    I also loved this book like cah-razy and wanted to see how they did with the movie!

    thanks for the lil recap girl! lucky you for getting hooked up AND attending a local premiere! so awesome!!!

  16. AntosDoesLife April 24, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Awesome! I can’t wait to see the movie! I finished the book a few months ago and loved it! What an awesome event!

    Happy Easter!

  17. Presley April 25, 2011 at 2:03 am

    That looks like such a neat event!!!

  18. Ellie April 25, 2011 at 7:14 am

    wow I keep hearing how good the story is! Great to know what it’s about through your review 🙂

Leave a Reply

