Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging Blahs

Let me start off by apologizing if this post comes off as negative.

My ankle injury and lack of ability to work out to the point of satisfaction (going on 3 weeks) are really taking a toll on my attitude.

As I took this terribly boring photo of my (half-eaten) overnight oats this morning, I decided there was no reason to share it with anyone.  And that I didn’t care that it was a terrible photo – I’m no photography student.  I don’t need to capture each individual oat grain 254 times for you to understand that it’s oats and milk and strawberries.

I didn’t even really want to take a picture.  I just wanted to eat my darn breakfast.

image

Snoozefest

It’s not very different from the overnight oats I’ve had before.  I didn’t add some new ingredient that I’ve never tried.  I didn’t prepare them in a novel way.  It’s just oatmeal, for heaven’s sake.

I’m not the type of blogger to show you the same breakfast everyday for the sake of having something to “publish”. 

I started out blogging because I wanted to share recipes – good ones, and those that didn’t turn out so well, hoping for input and suggestions.  I also intended to include nutrition facts whenever possible. 

I’m no chef but want to become a better cook.  I’m a dietitian but not the food police.  I struggle with making healthy decisions every day.  I want to become a better runner and learn from the more experienced athletes out there.

But I don’t share much about my personal life.  I don’t talk about wedding details or post pictures of my family.   Maybe some day I will want to, but right now, I don’t.

So I’m just re-evaluating.  I will post things that I would want to read – like my cupcake success or experiments making socca.  But no more “here’s the [boring] food I ate today”.  If I wouldn’t want to read it, I’m not going to write about it.  Fair?

I think so.

14 responses to “Blogging Blahs

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 26, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Awww, I feel so bad about your ankle. I know what it’s like to not be able to workout, and the effects on mood that follow. 😦

    I just wrote about blogging too. Sometimes I’m really unsure what to write, because like you, I don’t want to write “this is what I ate…” every single day, multiple times per day.

    Your blog is great though – I enjoy reading!

  2. Shanna, like Banana April 26, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Even after a year, I’m still finding my blogging voice. I don’t want to post the same eats every day or even closer variations of the same meal, but I do want to share something I think may be extra tasty. And lately I have been posting more “personal” stuff but there is much much more that I will never share 😉

  3. Alicia at AliGirl Cooks April 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I appreciate your honesty! I have at least 5 drafts sitting in my blogger account waiting to be published because I don’t think anyone cares about reading it.

    The blogs I stick with are the ones with great recipes or ideas, kitchen experiments, and meaningful posts. Not a meal by meal account of what the author ate!

    Keep up the good work!

  4. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife April 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I can relate to EVERYTHING on this post!! First off, my post today was sooooo negative so you should never worry about that. I like to see that bloggers are real people and have good and bad days (not always so upbeat and positive about everything). Second, I totally support not taking a picture of every single thing you eat. It gets repetitive and you should enjoy your food!!!!!!

  5. allieksmith April 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I’m sorry about your ankle girl :/
    This is your blog and you totally have the right to do what ever you want with it 🙂

  6. Jenny April 26, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    I’m sorry that your ankle isn’t feeling it’s best. When it comes to blogging you should post what you want and write about whatever you feel like, we aren’t here to judge you. I hope the kitchen experimentation goes well, I’m no chef either but I’m trying 🙂

  7. indecisiveathlete April 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    I hope your ankle starts getting better quick! It is quite sucky to not be able to get your endorphin fix.

    I totally agree with the idea that it is your blog and you can write about what ever you want! good luck!

  8. Alexa @ SimpleEats April 28, 2011 at 1:22 am

    I completely know what you mean about sharing information on the blog. I get blogging blahs a lot! I’d say definitely blog about whatever makes you happy and you feel comfortable with. Loving the blog so far!

  9. beyondbananas April 28, 2011 at 1:57 am

    I totally know how injuries can put a different spin on everything in your life! It is tough. I think it is awesome though -that even through your frustrations, you are able to identify what you want from your blog – or at least what direction you want it to go in. As a new blogger, I am totally struggling with that. For some reason, i feel pressured (by who.. I have no idea.. MYSELF I guess..) to get out all these posts.. and I am not always satisfied with what I put in them. Your post kind of put things into perspective for me!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat April 28, 2011 at 11:56 am

      I think it all has to go back to why you wanted to start a blog in the first place… I’m trying to focus on those reasons right now. But now that I’ve “met” so many other great blog writers it makes me want to continue to be a part of the community.

Leave a Reply

