Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Amazing Meal – Vanilla Chai

I decided to take my morning oat smoothie (smoatie?)  to work with me to try to keep me satisfied longer.  Usually I eat breakfast at home around 6:45 and I’m hungry again by 10:00.  Eating after I get to work makes it closer to 8 am… but I still had about a cup of canteloupe and coffee before leaving the house.

For an extra punch of nutrition I added the follow trial packet of Vanilla Chair Amazing Meal (thanks to my samples from Terri Jo) to my smoatie.

image

The following went into my bullet cup and were quickly blended before bed:
 
1/3 cup old fashioned oats
1 tsp chia seeds (they’re growing on me – no, not literally)
1/2 cup unsweetened Silk
1/2 scoop Designer Whey protein powder
image
Overnight oats – not the prettiest!
The Amazing Meal still had a slightly green color to it but smelled yummy.  After adding another 1/2 cup of Silk, it blended up together very well.
image

It's not called beautiful meal, it's AMAZING - more important that it tastes good, right?

Although I eventually ended half a frozen banana to the mix, I tasted it first to review the product. 

– The “meal” blended in well and was not gritty – but the overall texture was thick since there were oats in the mix.

– The flavor was light and not overly sweet at all – again, it was in addition to the 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder but it had a lightly spiced, sweet flavor.

– With the nutritional benefit of this mix in, I would definitely use it again! 

Of course I took caution to not repeat my oat shoe incident.

image

Spill-free!

image
Perfect for Smoaties on the go!

Since the sample was 10 ounces and they quote a serving as 23.5 g, it only added about 50 calories to my smoothie, giving it a total of around 325 calories – with the soy milk, oats, chia, and banana, the Amazing Meal definitely made it a balanced breakfast on the go.

Honestly the best part of reviewing this first product was the shaker cup they sent!  I put it in a baggie this morning, but now I know for the future that it will be perfectly safe to toss in  my bag without worrying about spills.

image

Cheers!

Want to try the Vanilla Chai?  You can order some here.

What’s your favorite Amazing Grass product?  I’m thinking of taking their 14 day challenge… anyone want to do it with me?  You can read about Jen’s experience (from Peas & Crayonshere.

PS – I hadn’t planned to be so captivated by the royal wedding, but found it addicting while getting ready this morning.  The ceremony itself wasn’t that exciting (I only saw after the vows, and they both looked so bored sitting there!), but once they were getting in the carriage Kate turned to William and said “I’m so happy” – I thought that was a beautiful moment.

Anyone wearing hats like THIS will not be allowed at my wedding.  Sorry, Eugenie and Beatrice.

And how lame was the balcony kiss???  My fiance’ (who I didn’t know was watching it all at home) texted me at work and said “Our kiss will be way better!”  Yeah, we’ll blow them out of the water.

But now he wants planes to fly over too.

Happy Friday!

xox

C

14 responses to “Amazing Meal – Vanilla Chai

  1. kristina@beancakes April 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    i enjoy the chocolate amazing grass, it’s really good! and as for this wedding, i almost forgot, i’ve got to go tune in!!

  2. janetha April 29, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    I haven’t liked the any of the Amazing Grass flavors I have tried–but I do looove vanilla and chai, so maybe it’s worth a shot. Thanks for the review. Have a fabulous weekend! xo

  3. Heather April 29, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    This flavor is awesome! I love it too.

  4. allieksmith April 29, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Yuuum! I have never had Amazing Meal but I have heard good about it. I like how you call an oat smoothie a smoatie HAHAH 🙂

  5. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I love Amazing Grass stuff, and this looks awesome! I’ll definitely give it a try.

    I’m so glad they did the balcony kiss over again — the first one was wayyy too short and kind of awkward!

  6. Jenny April 29, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I’ve never tried Amazing Grass before, gotta look into it! And yea I thought the kiss was a bit grandma ish too haha 😀

  7. rebecca April 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    thanks so much for visiting my blog great and super filling smoothie have a good weekend

    Rebecca

  8. pawsitivelife April 29, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    Good luck securing those planes to fly over your wedding 🙂 and I agree the kiss was lame but there were so many people staring..AKWARD

  9. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 30, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    I love your smoothy cup! I want one badly now 😉

    I didn’t tune into the royal wedding at all….That’s just not my thing…But I did youtube the balcony kiss once you wrote about it and that was very similar to my hubby’s and my kiss after we said I do…I’m SO not a PDA person and get embarrassed easily so it was just awkward for me…That’s what it looked like for them too….

Leave a Reply

