Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Overnight Oat Blueberry Muffins

Not just ANY overnight oat muffins… but overnight oat blueberry muffins WITH BUTTERMILK!  I’m down to 2 Tbsp left in the quart (I know you might not understand my issue with leftover dairy products and the race against the expiration date).  Phew!
 
Google came through again – with an incredible recipe from Claire @ Cooking Is Medicine.  It fit what I was looking for – a low-fat muffin that utilized my leftover buttermilk – and the bonus was that it uses overnight oats!  If that isn’t a sign that this recipe was meant for my blog, nothing is.  Oh, and I can tell just from her name that she’s obviously a genius.
 
The recipe calls for dried blueberries, which I actually had a bag of in my pantry.  My mother purchased them for me during my sugar-free Lent, without noticing on the package that they were sweetened.  This gave me the perfect reason to use them, but I’m sure fresh or unsweetened berries would work perfectly, too.
 
I combined the oats with buttermilk and left in the fridge overnight, although Claire said it wasn’t necessary.  Here is the complete recipe (with my changes):
 
Overnight Oat Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins
(original recipe courtesy of Cooking Light via Cooking Is Medicine)
1 cup regular oats
2 cups low-fat buttermilk
1 cup whole wheat flour
2/3 cup white flour
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup Splenda blend
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 Tbsp ground flax (used as an egg substitute)
6 Tbsp + water as needed
2/3 cup dried blueberries (mine were sweetened)
 
1) Combine oats and buttermilk in a medium bowl, cover and refrigerate overnight.
2) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
3) Make flax eggs by combining ground flax with 6 Tbsp HOT water
3) Add all remaining ingredients into a large bowl and stir in buttermilk/oats.  Stir WELL, not just until mixed – make sure it is a homogenous mixture.  This goes against everything I learned about muffin making, but I think the food science is different due to the oats.
4) Add water as needed to make the mixture scoop-able (I added about 1/4 cup of water).
5) Fold in blueberries or other mix in of your choice.
6) Spoon 1/2 cup into sprayed muffin tin or cupcake liners and bake for 15-18 minutes, until muffins spring back from the center.  Remove and cool on wire rack.
 
The Cooking Is Medicine recipe yielded 24 muffins, but mine gave an even dozen.  I’m a generous scooper.

image

image

image

image

Approximate nutrition: 160 calories, 2.5 g fat, 30g carbohydrates, 10g sugar, 5g protein

The last picture shows how moist and cake-like the texture is – can’t see any oats, can you?  Of course I had to eat the other half.  Just for the sake of the photo.  Just to help you understand.

What do you think of the bigger pictures?  I usually reduce them by 20%.  I can’t decide.

I was so pleased with the texture of these muffins.  They were not overly chewy, as some whole wheat recipes can be, but they had a nice moist texture and rich flavor.  The oats were undetectable (other than the flavor) which I wasn’t expecting.  I think adding a little lemon juice and zest to this recipe would have put them over the top!

Thanks to the gorgeous Janetha for the link lovin’ of my waffle recipe.  Check out her blog if you don’t already!

GOOD LUCK to all those participating in the Pittsburgh Marathon and Half Marathon this weekend (like Nikki @ Antos Does Life)!  It’s supposed to rain, but I’m sure they’ll still get a great crowd – it’s sold out this year!
Two of my very best friends (and bridesmaids!) are coming in to town this weekend; I’m so excited to see them!
 
Happy Friday!
xox
C
41 responses to “Overnight Oat Blueberry Muffins

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 13, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I’m the same way with expiration dates – I get it from my mom. She was always big on checking for the best date in the store! My husband will eat expired things, no problem…it grosses me out!

  2. beyondbananas May 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    So creative.. overnight oats into muffins. This is totally something I will have to try.

    I am not big on checking dates.. but the BF does it on everything. I mean.. I check eggs and milk.. but he checks bread. I never check bread.

  3. Andie @ CanYouStayForDinner.com May 13, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Awesome muffins, Claire! Love anything overnight 🙂

    Also, I love the bigger pictures. Bigger is always better!

    You are fabulous. FABULOUS

  4. Amanda May 13, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    These muffins look delicious! 🙂

  5. Tiff May 13, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I love muffins! They’re one of my ultimate weaknesses. In addition, I also love finding just the right way to utilize my leftovers. Simple pleasures. 🙂

  6. allieksmith May 13, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Great looking muffins! You go girl 🙂
    I love how you are using up that buttermilk!

  7. hungryhealthyhappy May 13, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    You know how I love me some muffins! These are going on my “to make” list!

  8. indecisiveathlete May 13, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    I’m always scared to buy buttermilk for that reason haha because I never need very much I always end up making it with milk and lemon juice. But I do really like the way this recipe sounds so creative!

  9. Mary @ Bites and Bliss May 13, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Yum!! I dont doubt they’re super moist swince they involve overnight oats. That’s so creative! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table May 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Overnight oat muffins… such a cool idea! You could toast the oats and add almond/vanilla extract to amp up the flavor too!

  11. gagagrapefruit May 13, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    anything overnight is GLORIOUS in my book! thanks for sharing this recipe! 🙂

  12. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices May 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I love the flax as a substitution- that is awesome- never heard of that one!!

  13. Andrea @ Vegvacious May 13, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I am lovin’ all the healthy muffin and cookie recipes I am finding today! I think I’m going to be on a carb overload, but who cares…it’s the weekend right?! These look delicious!

  14. pawsitivelife May 13, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Some things like yogurt, kefir etc Im ok if it expires because its bacteria anyways, but other things creep me out. My bf will pretty much eat anything that hasn’t grown its own legs to walk out of the kitchen with. I think I read on Lofty Appetites blog that you are marrying into a Polish family, as a Polish person I feel for you ;), your wedding is a guaranteed good time!

  15. sheree May 14, 2011 at 12:15 am

    I just found you site and these muffins look great. I am allergic to splenda so do you think the muffins would be ok without it or should I increase the brown sugar? I am vegan so I will sub plant milk and vinegar to make “vegan buttermilk”. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

  16. Jenny May 14, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Love the muffins!! Blueberry just goes with everything and gives it a perfect berry taste. I check the expiration dates on everything but if it it smells good and tastes good then I’d probably still eat it lol

  17. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 16, 2011 at 1:23 am

    These muffins look delicious!!! Super doughy and cakey!

  18. Ada May 16, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Yum, those look amazing! Thanks for the great recipe:)

  19. Caroline May 16, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Yum! I love blueberry muffins, and buttermilk always makes everything richer and better, right? Great post. 🙂

  20. Pingback: Five Food Friday « Live and Love to Eat

  21. Pingback: Return of the Green Smoothie (Custom Chobani Giveaway!) « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Lightened Up – Lemon Ricotta Muffins « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

