Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Random Craving

Dear vegans: this post is not for you, sorry.

Dear clean eaters: this post is definitely not for you – please don’t be offended.

Dear everyone who thinks I’m a dietitian and eat all whole, organic,  healthy, nourishing foods: I’m sorry to let you down.

To everyone who can’t turn down a Cool Whip/Pudding dessert combo, welcome!  Enjoy!

Somehow I read a blog yesterday that referenced over ripe bananas.  And one that mentioned Magnolia Bakery in New York City.  No, I don’t think it was the same one.  I could be wrong though.  Once I saw another unrelated post about the recipe for their Banana Cream Pudding, I was a little distracted. 

image

image

image

image

Let’s not talk about the nutrition facts for this one.  I did try to make *some* “healthy” substitutions, but the fat-free Cool Whip can’t balance out the deadly sweetened condensed milk. 

I did buy reduced fat Nilla wafers – that helps, right?

Ingredients (adapted from recipe at Amateur Gourmet):

1 box sugar-free instant banana pudding mix (some recipes just call for Vanilla, but go big or go home, right?  PS – I used Royal brand)

1 can sweetened condensed milk (don’t EVEN read the nutrition label)

1 1/2 cups ice cold water

1 tub fat-free cool whip, thawed (which I used instead of heavy whipping cream – also a time saver; any kind of frozen whipped topping would work)

2 really ripe (but not mushy) bananas

about 25 reduced fat Nilla Wafer cookies

1) Combine ice-cold water and condensed milk.  Mix with hand mixer until well combined.

2) Add in pudding mix and mix until dissolved.  Refrigerate for 2+ hours (the original recipe recommended 4, but I was impatient – obviously).

3) Once pudding is set, fold in cool whip until no white streaks remain. 

4) In a wide bowl or casserole dish, layer Nilla wafers and sliced banana to cover the bottom (you’ll need more cookies & bananas overall if you choose a rectangular dish – I used a bowl).  Top with a layer of pudding mixture.

5) Repeat cookie/banana and pudding layers 2-3 times, then crumble a few extra cookies on top.

6) Refrigerate 4 hours but no longer than 8 hours (so says the recipe I based it from, but I couldn’t eat the whole thing last night – mine will be refrigerated until I can’t take anymore).

If you made it this far, thank you for allowing me this indulgence.  It was so sweet my teeth hurt.  The 4 hour waiting period after combining the layers is crucial because the cookies become soft and doughy rather than crunch – the result is almost like a banana cream pie blizzard. 

The fiance’ tried some and wasn’t blown away.  It really isn’t rocket science.  Sugar, pudding, sugar, cookies, sugar, and bananas.  My family isn’t into anything with Cool Whip.  Snobs.

More for me!

I might have brought some as my dessert after lunch at work.

  image

It may not have made it to lunch time.  It may have been added to my oatmeal instead.

image

Stirred around to enjoy the sickeningly sweet banana flavor in every.  single.  bite….

image

Are you judging me now?

Okay, it’s totally justified.

12 responses to “Random Craving

  1. beyondbananas May 17, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Ahh my dad made something VERy similar to this a couple of months ago.. it was SO good!

  2. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices May 17, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    HOLY YUM! banana pudding is one of my absolute FAVORITE desserts..but I only require one thing- that the nila wafers NOT be crunching, I only like it when they have sat in the pudding for a while- I’m weird! lol!

  3. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table May 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I LOVE banana pudding! It’s literally been years since I’ve had the real thing with t he Nilla wafers. Mmmmm! This makes me feel really lame for mushing a banana with some vanilla protein powder and almond milk and thinking it tasted like banana pudding. No comparison! LOL!

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Not judging at all…it looks SO good! I wish it was vegan. 😦

    I think I’m going to try adding desserts to oatmeal too; it’s genius!

  5. Jenny May 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I’ve never made banana bread pudding before and I’m not vegan or vegetarian so I need to get on this asap!! I love vanilla wafers, sometimes you just gotta make something you crave 😀

  6. allieksmith May 17, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Yum 🙂 I make a recipe kind of like that called icebox cake 🙂 and it is DELISH!
    It is nice to see a RD eat all types of food!

  7. indecisiveathlete May 18, 2011 at 1:14 am

    Banana pudding is awesome! That is a dish I randomly get cravings for too haha

  8. Kate May 18, 2011 at 3:10 am

    At least it has fruit! It can’t be all bad for you then. My mom used to make a very simplified version of this with just cut bananas, vanilla pudding a graham crackers, it was always a favorite.

  9. hungryhealthyhappy May 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I love the looks of that! I probably would have eaten it straight without the oatmeal, so at least you made it a little healthier! 😉

  10. cheerfulfeast May 21, 2011 at 2:13 am

    So glad to see this! You are so right about the waiting time being crucial for cool whip/cookie/pudding desserts, but it is torture! I am in school for dietetics and my absolute all time favorite dessert is Dirt Cake–another cool whip/pudding delicacy with lots of oreos and gummy worms! 🙂

Leave a Reply

