Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Spaghetti Squash, Take 1

As I’ve said before, as a vegetarian I’ve been tired of pasta for quite some time.  I never really crave pasta and can only tolerate it a few times a month. 

I like CarbaNada noodles but don’t always have them on hand, and they are still pretty calorically dense (even though they have a decent amount of protein).  I’ve seen several recipes for spaghetti squash  but never tried it – until last night.

Here’s a nutrition comparison of 1 cup of cooked spaghetti squash (on the left) to 1 cup of enriched white spaghetti (on the right).

 

 It’s a no brainer, right?

My grocery store only had about 4 in stock, and I chose the longest one, hoping for long strands of squash after roasting.  It was about 4 pounds and cost over five dollars, so this might be a once a month kind of meal. So I googled the basics of roasting a spaghetti squash and popped this guy in the oven for about 40 minutes.  

image

This baby yeilded over 4 cups of “spaghetti” strands, which I kept warm in the oven while I prepared my sauce. 

image

I first prepared a simple cream sauce by sautéing mushrooms in some light butter (with garlic and onion powder) until they were browned, then added flour and skim milk.  I let the milk come to a simmer and stirred until thickened.

image

The next step could be considered cheating, but I consider it saving a ton of time.   I usually buy these to use as toppings on pizza, but I’ve found many more uses for them since I started keeping them in my freezer regularly.  You could definitely substitute any roasted or sautéed veggies, but I was aiming for the creaminess of a pink sauce for my squash, which I got from the combination of my homemade mushroom cream sauce and the sauce included with these frozen veggies.

image

image

After combining my sauces and the squash, I grated 1/4 cup of parmigiano reggiano and tossed it well. 

image

I ended up with a wonderfully creamy dish with lots of layers of flavor and minimal calories.  The following nutrition facts are for 1 serving (the recipe made approximately 5 cups).

1 cup Claire's Spaghetti Squash with Cream Sauce

 The roasted squash definitely has a distinct flavor on its own and could be served plain or with some grated cheese or herbs as a simple side dish.  The Vitamin A & C content are great, but it still isn’t very high in protein.  When eating the leftovers I plan to pair it with a crumbled veggie burger.

Don’t worry, I also made an incredibly high sugar, high calorie dessert.  You’ll have to wait for that. 😉

Have you ever made spaghetti squash?

21 responses to “Spaghetti Squash, Take 1

  1. kristina@beancakes May 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    never made spaghetti squash, but i’ve roasted squash before, in cubed form, and then tossed it in rigatoni. it was excellent.

  2. Tiff May 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Looks great! I love spaghetti squash, but I wish it were a wee bit cheaper.

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun May 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Spaghetti squash is so good. And those veggies added look really good actually.

  4. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 17, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Loooove spaghetti squash! I need to try those roasted veggies.

  5. Shanna, like Banana May 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Yes! I make it all the time, but I microwave it because I’m impatient. All you have to do is “stab” it several times (like you would a baked potato) and pop in the micro for 3-4 minutes. Then rotate it and do another 3-4 minutes. Continue to do this until your thumb can dent the skin (should be about 12 min total). Then it’s super easy to cut in half, scoop the seeds, and shred.

  6. Fun Simple Sweet May 17, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I’ve never had spaghetti squash but I’m dying to try it! It looks so good!

  7. Amanda May 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Spaghetti Squash is my FAVORITE! I roast it with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and a TON of garlic to give it a little extra flavor punch. So.Good.

  8. beyondbananas May 17, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I need to try spaghetti squash asap!

  9. allieksmith May 17, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Yum! Your spaghetti squash dinner looks great 😀

  10. chrysta May 17, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    spaghetti squash is one of my favorite foods ever. Just goes with everything. Love it!

  11. The Healthy Apple May 18, 2011 at 3:33 am

    I love spaghetti squash…such a great veggie and I love your blog! So happy to have found it…great recipes n’ tips.

  12. Lisa May 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    That looks really GOOD! I love spaghetti squash!

  13. Kim @ Imperfectly Perfect May 18, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I’m definitely going to have to give this a try. I love spaghetti squash! I haven’t had it in awhile, so I think that calls for grabbing one on my next shopping trip. 😉 Thank you for posting the recipe.

  14. TKArguijo September 30, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I love spaghetti squash!! It is good all on it’s own or in any mix of herbs or sauce that I’ve tried. One suggestion….everyone should try it on it’s own at least once! Just plain and olive oil, it has a kind of sweet nutty flavor. I actually know people who serve it as a substitute for sugar rice in the mornings. I plan on trying that with my kiddos…just butter sugar and serve. And as strange as it sounds….it really is good as spaghetti!! I have found not difference other than time in the roasting versus microwave. Happy cooking everyone!!

Leave a Reply

