Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Recent Eats

I shared quite a few recipes last week, so today is more of a highlight post to capture other things I wanted to share but wasn’t able to.
 
image
Homemade latte
Milk “steamed” in the microwave and frothed in the Magic Bullet with very very VERY strong coffee from my french press.  Time consuming but so delicious.
image

Favorite salad - spinach, goat cheese, strawberries, toasted almonds, white balsamic vinegar

 
image

Leftover buttermilk waffles, topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips

image

GB pancakes with strawberries

 
image

Best green monster I've had - serious cake batter flavor but looks like all the rest though

Now I’ve tried lots of “cake batter” flavored blog recipes, but this went above and beyond tasting like vanilla to actually being batter-like.

1) Combine 1.5 teaspoons chia seeds with 1/4 cup soymilk overnight.

2) In the morning, add: 1/2 frozen banana, 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, and as much spinach as you can cram in there (I used about 1 cup, packed).

3) Add in 4-5 cashews and then another 1/2 cup soymilk and blend blend blend. 

You may need to add more milk/liquid to get the desired consistency.  The combination of the texture from the chia seeds, the saltiness of the nuts and the buttery flavor of the nutritional yeast REALLY made this one a winner in my book.  Somehow the whole nuts as opposed to adding nut butter seemed to add more flavor.  Let me know what you think if you try it!

I’m still weird about blogging and haven’t shared it with my family or friends yet – which is why I don’t talk about too much real life stuff here.  We did get our engagement photos taken this weekend and I absolutely adore them.  My favorite one of all:

Happy Monday, all!

 

31 responses to “Recent Eats

  1. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Oh you should not be ashamed to share your blog! I find that it is a GREAT conversation starter (I started to get introduced as “the blogger”) and when your friends and family get into it, it is even MORE fun. 🙂

    Of course, I was public about it from the get-go, so I’m not sure what keeping the secret is like…

  2. Jenny May 23, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Love the homemade latte, it looks delicious! The waffles and pancakes both look amazing 🙂
    And none of my friends know about my blog just because they think my eating habits are weird enough as it is lol

  3. beyondbananas May 23, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    LOVE ALL THE PICTURES! SO fun.. love the location too. My favorite is the black and white one where you are facing each other.. and the one right before it. But honestly.. i think they are ALL amazing!

  4. thehealthyapron May 23, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    My family think smy eating habits CAN be weird too…let them! You have to do what makes you feel good! 🙂

  5. Leslie Goldman May 23, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    I never thought I’d see ‘cake batter’ and ‘spinach’ in the same recipe…but it clearly works! It’s crazy how much spinach you can stuff into a smoothie without it affecting the taste…it just amps up the nutritional content!

  6. kristina@beancakes May 23, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    yum!! that salad looks similar to the one that i eat all the time! i will have to post it sometime soon.

  7. Jessica May 23, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    oh engagement photos 🙂 It snowed when we did ours but they ended up being so amazing! And that is pretty identical to my favorite salad except I made a honey dijon vinagerette to go with it. PS I’m kind of stoked to try this smoothie recipe…

  8. chrysta May 23, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    wow!! that smoothie sounds incredible!! Soooo booked marked this. Lattes are my favorite treat. Im such a huge fan of a super dark intense coffee. I love that you frothed it in the magic bullet. Great idea!

  9. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Oh my gosh, that picture is SO beautiful!!! Love, love it! I’m going to convince the husband to do a picture like that with me sometime, haha.

    I’ll definitely be trying your green monster recipe!

  10. Alyssa May 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Claire, I LOVE that engagement photo! so, so awesome. and thank you for reminding me I need to add a wafflemaker to my “gotta have” list. 😉

  11. Mary @ Bites and Bliss May 23, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    That’s a beautiful photo! Are you going to share some more? I’d love to see them!

  12. cheerfulfeast May 23, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I’m a little nervous to share my blog too. Your engagement photo is stunning!

    I need to try the cake batter smoothie–I would have never thought to add nutritional yeast!

  13. hungryhealthyhappy May 23, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Ah! So gorgeous, Claire! You must be getting so excited! 🙂

    Love the idea of a cake batter smoothie! Not sure if I’m a nutritional yeast fan or not . . . I had it when I was a kid and wasn’t a fan, but maybe I need to give it another go???

  14. Annette @EnjoyYourHealthyLife May 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Yes, goat cheese on a salad IS heavenly! Love the engagement shot 🙂

  15. allieksmith May 23, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    The engagement photo is soo cute ! LOVE it 🙂 I like anything cake batter flavored haha. YUM.

    Making delish coffee that takes forever is soo worth it!

  16. Amanda May 23, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    LOVE that picture! We just got ours back last week, and I am in loooove with them!!

    Ps – I can’t wait to make those pancakes. They look so good!

  17. Katie May 24, 2011 at 12:08 am

    That photo is so sweet!!! I love it!! Mike and I did not do engagement pics, just too much with moving and such, we never got to it!

    Love your mug!

    Ok so you live In the pa area? We should meet up one time when I’m home!!

    Excited for your wedding plans! When are u getting married?!

Leave a Reply

