Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Geometric Meals and Best Oats Yet

When I was looking at the photos I chose to share with you today, I noticed that the majority of my foods were round and triangular.
image

Semi-homemade gem

image

Easy stuffed mushrooms

 Topped with the tuscan vegetables, balsamic vinegar and olive oil, then grilled for 10 minutes and sprinkled with parmesan cheese.  Mmm.

Still on the hunt for a wedding cake, the fiance’ and I spiked our bloodsugar at 9:30 AM yesterday.  Again, something round with triangular pieces cut out!
image
5 flavors for tasting

We weren’t 100% sold on this cake, but it’s about half the price of the last one we were considering!  Since the cake will only be on display for a short time and most people will be stuffed after dinner, I’m thinking I might go with the more frugal choice.  Still deciding!

I worked the 12-8 shift last night and made a quick quesadilla before leaving the house.  My lunch was a circle cut into triangles.

image
Quick quesadilla
I sautéed 1/2 cup mushrooms, a few handfuls of spinach, and 1/4 cup chopped onion with cooking spray and fajita seasoning.  The only shredded cheese I had on hand was cheddar (which I wasn’t feeling), so I tore a low-fat string cheese and let in melt over the tortilla in another skillet while the veggies were cooking.  It didn’t get quite as gooey and melty as I had hoped, but the flavor was good and it did the job of holding everything together. 
 
My new peanut butter purchase (PB & Co Cinnamon Raisin Swirl) has been fantastic.  I have to be careful though, my fiance’ is addicted to it too!  His favorite method is dipping a frosted miniwheat right into the jar – and I have to tell you, it’s pretty darn good.
 
My favorite cinnamony application is of course my overnight oats.  Last night I did Katie’s voluminous oats trick halfway and added some more liquid.  From just 1/3 cup of dry oats I end up with more than a cup of goodness in the morning.
image
Addictive oats
My method: I add 1/3 cup oats and 1 cup water to microwave safe dish.  I nuked them until all the oats began to cook & get puffy, about 1 – 1 1/2 minutes.  At this point I added 1/3 mashed banana, 1/2 Tbsp CRPB, 1/3 scoop protein powder, 1 tsp chia seeds and 1 tsp cinnamon.  After combining all the mixins, I added another 1/4 cup of water and let them hang out overnight.  Topped with 1/4 cup of Fage 0% and a touch more CRPB, I was in heaven (but I think I’ll be adding some chopped nuts next time!).
 
I think this method works because it makes the oats permeable to the extra liquid, which helps them soak up more overnight in the fridge.  The addition of the chia seeds helps to gel up the extra liquid.  Cooking them with water (instead of milk) sounds like skimping out, but they still end up being creamy and the saved calories can be put toward more delicious toppings.  My oats this morning came out to be about 250 calories, which doesn’t mess up my budget at all!
 
I’ve been indulging recently with some amazing dark chocolate covered dried cranberries.
image

Sweet tooth satisfaction

Antioxidants at their best!  They are from Romolo, an amazing chocolate shop near Erie.  The store is remarkably beautiful, clean, and simple – complete with a coffee/ice cream parlor, gift shop, and chocolate store (of course).  You can actually watch them making all of their treats and they are worth every penny you’ll inevitably spend there.  If you live anywhere close, check them out!  I might have to quit my career and work/live there. 

Thankful Thursday: today I’m thankful for the fact that the Pittsburgh weatherman has been wrong all week – they’ve called for rain over and over but the weather has been warm, humid, and pleasant.  We might finally get hit with some storms today so I’m going to take an early lunch break and read outside.

What small things are you thankful for today?  Any local specialty shops in your area that you’d recommend?  How much do you care about the cake at a wedding?

I find that I’m caring less and less about the little details – I just want to marry this man!

23 responses to “Geometric Meals and Best Oats Yet

  1. Shanna, like Banana May 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Try dipping animal crackers in your PBCo cinn raisin. So good 😉

    I’d probably lean towards the less expensive cake too…

  2. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 26, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I love the stuffed mushrooms! What a great, easy idea… 🙂

  3. beyondbananas May 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    AhhH! I always cook my oats before sticking them i nthe fridge..leaving extra liquid to be absorbed. It is the BEST! 🙂

  4. Heather May 26, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I love the quesadilla ingredients, so good. Wedding details are so minor in the long run. I’m glad you have that non-stress mentality. The wedding lasts a day, the marriage is what really matters;)

  5. kristina@beancakes May 26, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    i was the same way about not caring about the details ~ we just went to city hall and did the thing! sounds unromantic, but it wasn’t 😉

  6. Amanda May 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I am so excited about our cake. It’s from The Lincoln Bakery in Bellvue. I’m not sure what their prices are like since our cake was included in our reception cost, but my goodness those cakes are to die for!
    Ours is a 3 tier with: White Almond and Raspberry filling;chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling/and then the standard yellow cake.
    If that cake is the only food I eat all night, I will be just fine 🙂

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat May 26, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      I’ve had their baked goods before but not their wedding cake. We tried to schedule a tasting there twice and the people were very unhelpful over the phone. I’m sure it will be delicious!

      • Amanda May 27, 2011 at 6:54 pm

        Yeah, the people there are very, very rude!

        I’ve only ever tried their wedding cake, and I can live with a few rude people as long as the cake tastes that good!
        Did you make any final decisions on the cake yet?

  7. healthycollegegirl May 26, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    aw I just stumbled upon your blog and I LOVE it!! isn’t wedding cake tasting the best?! I got to tag along for my sisters wedding and it was my favorite part 🙂 I hope your wedding turns out perfect!

  8. allieksmith May 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Mmm, the stuffed mushrooms look GREAT! WHat a simple, yet DELISH recipe! I find that I don’t eat the same shaped foods, I eat everything in bowls! It is weird haha.

  9. Alexa @ Simple Eats May 26, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Ok, you’ve convinced me to try the voluminous oats trick. I’m sold!

  10. Jenny May 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Love the little oatmeal trick. I did that today, it was weird at first but then I slowly warmed up to it. Still not sure how I feel about it lol It’s a different texture that I’m not use to. And yes cinnamon raisin is addicting! 😀

  11. Dana@TheSundaySweet May 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    The best part of that post was the last part. Don’t sweat the small stuff girl, it’s all about your love together!

  12. Katie May 27, 2011 at 1:37 am

    I love cinnamon raisn swirl too!! It’s prob my favorite!! Oh yay for wedding cake tastings!! So fun! I loved mine! We got our cake at bethel bakery, best frosting and cakes! I grew up on their cakes so they are very special to me!!

    Have a great night girl!! Xoxo

  13. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 27, 2011 at 2:11 am

    I cared about the cake, but I was with you…just ready to get married! That’s the most important part. 🙂 That cake does look delicious though!

  14. LizAshlee May 27, 2011 at 3:00 am

    I am really grateful for my health!! I wouldn’t care so much about the cake…I think everyone will end up enjoying whatever cake you choose!

    Don’t you love that 1/3 c. of oats turns into a BIGGER surprise by morning (oh, and without additional calories!:)!!

    Have a great night!!

  15. char May 27, 2011 at 4:15 am

    I love this oat idea…need to jump on board. I’d say to not worry about the cake; besides the tasting, I had one small wimpy bite after cutting the cake and that was it! Just do what’s right for your budget!

Leave a Reply

