Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Taste The Rainbow

The one upside to living in Pittsburgh, where we have nearly as many rainy days as Seattle?  Rainbows.

image

Yes, plural.  I snapped photos of both of them last night after leaving the grocery store.

image

I stocked up on fresh fruit and sliced it up last night before bed, so it will be easy to grab throughout the day.  While appreciating the bright colors and flavors, I thought about one of the easiest nutrition messages I try to leave with people.

I get questions from clients and friends about “How do I know if I’m getting enough Vitamin A?  B6?   What kind of multivitamin should I take?”  I’ll be a dietitian for a few minutes this morning. 😉

My favorite professor always preached “food first, supplements second”, and I like that message.  I don’t find it necessary for a healthy individual to take more than a multivitamin a day if you’re eating a well-balanced diet made up of varied colors.  Of course, based on your diet and your medical history, you might need to add iron, calcium, or B12 here and there, but for most healthy people, fresh fruits and veggies can do the job!

When you hear that something is a “good” source of a nutrient versus an “excellent” source, what does that mean?

Kiwis were on sale, 3/$1.  After 10 minutes of chopping yielded approximately 1 cup of fruit, I’ve decided they might be a once-in-a-while purchase rather than a summer staple.  Kiwis are an excellent source of Vitamin C and a good source of Vitamin E.  They are also a good source of fiber, potassium, magnesium, copper and phosphorus.

image

I also had a mango at home that was getting too ripe.  Mangoes are excellent sources of Vitamin A.  They are good sources of  potassium and Vitamins B6, C, and E.

image

When you think about a hamburger and french fries, how many bright colors do you typically see in that meal?  I find it easier to find fresh, colorful ingredients in ethnic foods, like Mexican or Chinese. 

image

Leftovers from a hibachi restaurant. 

My favorite colorful vegetables are bell peppers – especially the red and yellow.  They are sweet, crunchy, and make really filling snacks.  Red peppers are also a source of lycopene (also found in tomatoes), which has been linked to decreasing risk for prostate, cervix, and bladder cancers.

image

Another red food that I love?  Strawberries.  Some minerals found in strawberries include manganese, folate, and potassium.  Topped with some greek yogurt for protein and chocolate bare naked granola for crunch, this go-to snack is protein-packed and has healthy fats.

image

Enough fruit and veggie talk!  Let’s get to breakfast!

I made chocolate custard oats last night.  I cooked 1 egg white into my oat and water mixture, providing a thick base to stir in my protein powder, peanut butter (plain this time), and chocolate superfood. 

image

The stirring and overnight process makes the bowl look messy, but taste SO GOOD.  This morning I added some greek yogurt, cocoa nibs and cocoa powder for an amazing breakfast.

image

This one was DEFINITELY a keeper – does anyone else add eggs to their oatmeal?  What’s your method?

Have a wonderful weekend – catch ya Monday!

10 responses to “Taste The Rainbow

  1. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 27, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I had to laugh when I saw your mango photo, because it’s a running joke with me that for all my culinary “prowess” (or lack thereof) I NEVER cut mangoes correctly…

    Those oats sound intriguing…

  2. Tiff May 27, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I love kiwi! I just learned yesterday that I like mango. I had kiwi and mango in my Pinkberry yogurt with light granola. Major yum. Thanks for the info!

  3. Jenny May 27, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    What a pretty picture of that rainbow! 🙂 Your chocolate oat custard, looks so yummy. I’ve never added an egg but I use to add egg beaters when I first started eating oats 🙂

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD May 27, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    OMG I need to figure out how to cut a Mango like that lol! It looks so pretty. Have a great weekend!

  5. chrysta May 27, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    oooo! gorgeous pic! I had no idea you lived in Pitt. I used to live there too=) Well awhile ago, Im in Cali now, but cool to know! So loving kiwis and mangoes! I actually was at the farmers market and their was a kiwi farmer there. I felt nerdy but I had to ask how they grow. I never thought about it. He said they grow on vines. Weird! But they are ssso tasty!

  6. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 28, 2011 at 1:48 am

    This was really interesting – I like reading your RD knowledge. 🙂 I definitely think whole foods are the best way to get vitamins too, along with really good multi! I could really tell a difference before I started taking my most recent one.

  7. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 29, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I totally agree…food first, supplements second (if at all)…

    I cut mangoes like that sometimes too! Others I just hack into them…

    I don’t add eggs to oatmeal…Not because I’m against it….Just because I never think to do it 😉

  8. leeanne June 1, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    i just heard a broadcast on NPR about how Seattle actually gets more sunny days than Pittsburgh! however, we still get to keep the Steelers, so it’s more than a fair trade.

Leave a Reply

