Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Refreshing Watermelon Smoothie

As I was making my go to meal of enchiladas for dinner the other night (and snapped a photo of the final product before serving them), my mother asked, “Are you blogging?”.  I mumbled yes, she asked a few other questions, and I changed the subject.  Later in the evening I told the fiance’ I had a blog; he laughed for a minute, made a few smart remarks, then dropped it.

Neither of them have mentioned it since.  So the cat’s out of the bag, but they haven’t seen it yet.  Let’s see how long it takes them to remember!

I haven’t ever been one to blog on the weekends, and my Google reader hates me for it.  198 unread items over 2 days.  Sheesh.  Maybe I need to pare down my subscriptions?  Nah.

Real quick recipe to share with you all – I finally got some xanthan gum and have tried it in a few smoothies.  I’m scared to add too much and have only tried up to 1/4 tsp, but they don’t seem any thicker to me.  How much are you supposed to use?

With picnics and parties this weekend, I try to keep my at-home meals light and healthy.  I was in the mood for a different variation of the green monster yesterday, and we had some watermelon that was starting to look pretty sketchy.  With a forecast of 95 and sunny in my part of the country, this called for a light, milk free smoothie.  Into the bullet went:

1.5 cups seedless watermelon

1/3 frozen banana

1 scoop vanilla protein

1 packet Splenda

2 handfuls spinach

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut oil (mine is now completely liquified – eek!)

a few ice cubes

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

image

image

image

Ugly as usual, but sweet and refreshing.  Sitting in the sunshine also called for a sparkly pink manicure.

image

Have you ever tried melon in a smoothie?  I may try cantaloupe today.  Happy Memorial day!

9 responses to “Refreshing Watermelon Smoothie

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 30, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I’m sure they will love the blog. 🙂

    Yayyy for 95 degrees in Pittsburgh – I love it!

    • Laura @ S2theT May 30, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      Congrats on “coming out” as a blogger. They’ll get used to it. 🙂

      Love the idea of a watermelon green smoothie! I have made just watermelon slushies before… it’s only natural to add greens.

      My favorite mix right now is mango, avocado, and spinach. So glad it’s summer and I can drink them without freezing myself to death!

  2. Beyond Bananas May 30, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Mmmm.. watermelon smoothie! I think watermelons are one of the MOST refreshing fruits of summer. Bet it also makes a WONDERFUL smoothie!!!

  3. kristina@beancakes May 30, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    with xanthan gum {sp?}, i think that you’re to use just a little. when i’ve used it in the past, my smoothies got way toooo thick for my liking 😉 your smoothie sounds great!, even though i don’t care for watermelon, i heart cantaloupe though, LOVE cantaloupe! love your pretty pink manicure too! happy memorial day 😉

  4. loftyappetite May 30, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    watermelons and smoothies have been 80% of my long weekend diet… but not together as one! love this, will try this today!

  5. Katie May 31, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Love the pretty nails and love the smoothie!! I actually add xanathan and guar gum , so I don’t know!

    I’m glad your fiancé and mom know of your blog now! Xoxo

  6. Allie May 31, 2011 at 1:43 am

    YUM! I have never tried a melon smoothie but I LOVE watermelon… I should try this!

  7. Pingback: Watermelon Love « Live and Love to Eat

  8. Pingback: Trying New Things (free yogurt coupon!) « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

